Skip to main content

Electronic Resources at The New York Public Library: Recreational E-Resources

Databases, searchable newspapers, writing aids, and other resources at NYPL. Guide by Rhonda Evans.

Recreational E-Resources

The New York Public Library provides access to hundreds of electronic resources to assist with all types of research. However, NYPL also provides access to electronic resources that patrons can use just for fun!

Enjoy a Great Book

When you are on the go e-books can be great. You can download them on your phone, e-reader or tablet at anyplace and anytime where you have internet access and then read them offline. The New York Public Library provides multiple options to download the latest bestseller. Also, if you are an audiobook fan we have that too! For more information check out NYPL's E-Book Central.

Read A Magazine

Find the latest version e-version of your favorite magazine! In Flipster you can find everything from Sports Illustrated to People. In PressReader you can find hundreds of magazines from different countries and in multiple languages.

Create Something

Have you always dreamed of learning to play the guitar or taking vocal lessons? Perhaps you're interested in photography or maybe drawing lessons. Lynda.com provides classes on hundreds of different subjects from coding to jazz piano, including a Creative Bootcamp!

Find a Great Book

Whether you prefer to read your books in electronic format, audiobook, or print, the New York Public Library has a number of e-resources to help you find your next great read. These databases help with books recommendations, read alikes, and finding the latest from your favorite authors. Also check out NYPL Recommends and the blog post Top 5 Online Resources to Help You Find That Book from NYPL.

Watch a Play

If you find yourself relaxing at the library take in some theater with the DigitalTheatre+ database where you can watch entire plays and musicals.

Learn A Language

Whether you are taking that trip across the world you have always planned, or you just want to learn another language, the Mango Languages database is a great place to start. Mango Languages has courses for 71 different languages, including specialties such as Pirate. You can also take courses geared towards specific topics such as, "Wine and Cheese French" and "German for Oktoberfest."