Exhibition Catalogs
The Arts in Latin America, 1492-1820 by
A magnificent survey of the rich and varied arts in Latin America from 1492 to the end of the colonial era. Essays by Gauvin Alexander Bailey, Clara Bargellini, Dilys E. Blum, Elizabeth Hill Boone, Marcus Burke, Mitchell A. Codding, Thomas B. F. Cummins, Cristina Esteras Martín, M. Concepción García Sáiz, Ilona Katzew, Adrian Locke, Gridley McKim-Smith, Alfonso Ortiz Crespo, Jorge F. Rivas P., Nuno Senos, Edward J. Sullivan, and Marjorie Trusted. By the end of the 16th century, Europe, Africa, and Asia were connected to North and South America via a vast network of complex trade routes. This led, in turn, to dynamic cultural exchanges between these continents and a proliferation of diverse art forms in Latin America. This monumental book transcends geographic boundaries and explores the history of the confluence of styles, materials, and techniques among Europe, Africa, Asia, and the Americas through the end of the colonial era--a period marked by the independence movements, the formation of national states, and the rise of academic art. Written by distinguished international scholars, essays cover a full range of topics, including city planning, iconography in painting and sculpture, East-West connections, the power of images, and the role of the artist. Beautifully illustrated with over 450 works--many published for the first time--this book presents a spectacular selection of decorative arts, textiles, silver, sculpture, painting, and furniture. Scholarly entries on some three hundred works highlight the various cultural influences and differences throughout this vast region. This groundbreaking book also includes an illustrated chronology, informative maps, and an exhaustive bibliography and is sure to set a new standard in the field of Latin American studies.
Call Number: JQZ 13-1051ISBN: 9780300120035Publication Date: 2006
Caribbean : art at the crossroads of the world by
Unprecedented in scope, this beautiful book offers an authoritative examination of the modern history of the Caribbean through its artistic culture. Featuring 500 color illustrations of artworks from the late 18th through the 21st century, the book explores modern and contemporary art, ranging from the Haitian revolution to the present. Acknowledging both the individuality of each island, the richness of the coastal regions, and the reach of the Diaspora, Caribbean looks at the vital visual and cultural links that exist among these diverse constituencies. The authors examine how the Caribbean has been imagined and pictured, and the role of art in the development of national identity. Essays by leading scholars cover such topics as the interconnections between Caribbean artistic production to its colonial contexts; between various generations of artists; and between the so-called high and low arts and religion, music, and carnival celebrations. Primary source documents crucial to understanding the region provide an important complement. -- Publisher description.
Call Number: 709.729 CISBN: 9780300178548Publication Date: 2012-11-20
Infinite Island by
Infinite Island: Contemporary Caribbean Art presents a selection of recent work in painting, installation, photography, prints, drawings, video, and sculpture by forty-five emerging and established Caribbean artists who live and work in the region as well as abroad. The title Infinite Island, alluding to Columbus' voyages and the beginnings of colonialism, evokes the contradictions, complexities, and multiple perspectives that characterize the contemporary Caribbean and its presentation in art.
Call Number: 709.729 IISBN: 9780872731585Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Inverted Utopias by
In the twentieth century, avant-garde artists from Mexico, Central and South America, and the Caribbean created extraordinary and highly innovative paintings, sculptures, assemblages, mixed-media works, and installations. This innovative book presents more than 250 works by some seventy of these artists (including Gego, Joaquin Torres-Garcia, Xul Solar, and Jose Clemente Orozco) and artists' groups, along with interpretive essays by leading authorities and newly translated manifestoes and other theoretical documents written by the artists. Together the images and texts showcase the astonishing artistic achievements of the Latin American avant-garde. The book focuses on two decisive periods: the return from Europe in the 1920s of Latin American avant-garde pioneers; and the expansion of avant-garde activities throughout Latin America after World War II as artists expressed their independence from developments in Europe and the United States. As the authors explain, during these periods Latin American art was fueled by the belief that artistic creations could present a form of utopia - an inversion of the original premise that drove the European avant-garde - and serve as a model for
Call Number: *R-ART N6502.5 .R3613 2004ISBN: 0300102690Publication Date: 2004
Latin America in Construction by
In 1955 The Museum of Modern Art staged Latin American Architecture since 1945, a landmark survey of modern architecture in Latin America. Published in conjunction with a new exhibition that revisits the region on the 60th anniversary of that important show, Latin America in Construction: Architecture 1955-1980 offers a complex overview of the positions, debates, and architectural creativity from Mexico and Cuba to the Southern Cone between 1955 and the early 1980s. The publication features a wealth of original materials that have never before been brought together to illustrate a period of self-questioning, exploration and complex political shifts that saw the emergence of the notion of Latin America as a landscape of development. Richly illustrated with architectural drawings, vintage photographs, sketches and newly commissioned photographs, the catalogue presents the work of architects who met the challenges of modernization with innovative formal, urbanistic and programmatic solutions. Today, when Latin America is again providing exciting and challenging architecture and urban responses, Latin America in Construction brings this vital post-war period to light.
Call Number: JQG 15-336ISBN: 9780870709630Publication Date: 2015
Latin American and Caribbean Art by
MoMA at El Museo: Latin American and Caribbean Art from the Collection of The Museum of Modern Art is, as the title suggests, an exhibition highlighting artworks selected from this major collection. But it is so much more: A collaborative effort between the two New York museums, this exhibition and accompanying catalogue present over 100 paintings, drawings, sculptures, prints, and illustrated books produced by artists from Latin America and the Caribbean, selected from MoMA. Notably, it is this very collection that has created the paradigm of "Latin American Art" and has helped shape the ever-burgeoning art historical and cultural studies in this area, both in the United States and abroad. The curators' introductory texts provide analyses of the collection within the broader context of modern art in Latin America; a history of the development of the collection focusing on major acquisitions, groundbreaking exhibitions, and influential curators and staff involved in the formation and study of the collection; and discuss the curatorial premises for MoMA at El Museo. Short essays follow on key works added in each phase of the collection's growth, examples of which include work by Diego Rivera, Jos Clemente Orozco, Antonio Berni, and David Alfaro Siqueiros in the 1930s; Joaquin Torres-Garcia, Matta, Roberto Berdecio, and Wifredo Lam in the 1940s; Rafael Montanez Ortiz, Jesus Raphael Soto, Marisol, and Fernando Botero in the 1960s; and Jean-Michel Basquiat, Los Carpinteros, and Vik Muniz today.
Call Number: 709.8074 LISBN: 9780870704604Publication Date: 2004-03-02
The Latin American Spirit by
An account of what the Latin American presence has meant to the art of the USA. Many Latin American artists, such as the Mexican muralist Diego Rivera and his wife, the Surrealist Frida Kahlo, have influenced US artists directly, while others have absorbed American developments into their work.
Call Number: 704.0368 LISBN: 0810912716Publication Date: 1988-10-01- Mexico : splendors of thirty centuries by
To accompany an exhibition, in October 1990 in New York City, the Metropolitan Museum of Art has put together a volume that celebrates the significant achievements of Mexico's cultural heritage. More than 400 sculptures, paintings and objects illustrate this survey on the arts of Mexico.
Call Number: 709.7207 MISBN: 0821217976Publication Date: 1990-11-01
Radical Women by
This stunning reappraisal offers long overdue recognition to the enormous contribution to the field of contemporary art of women artists in Latin America and those of Latino and Chicano heritage working during a pivotal time in history. Amidst the tumult and revolution that characterized the latter half of the 20th century in Latin America and the US, women artists were staking their claim in nearly every field. This wide ranging volume examines the work of more than 100 female artists with nearly 300 works in the fields of painting, sculpture, photography, video, performance art, and other experimental media. A series of thematic essays, arranged by country, address the cultural and political contexts in which these radical artists worked, while other essays address key issues such as feminism, art history, and the political body. Drawing its design and feel from the radical underground pamphlets, catalogs, and posters of the era, this is the first examination of a highly influential period in 20th-century art history. Published in association with the Hammer Museum.
Call Number: JQF 17-2589ISBN: 9783791356808Publication Date: 2017
Vida Americana - Mexican Muralists Remake American Art, 1925-1945 by
An in-depth look at the transformative influence of Mexican artists on their U.S. counterparts during a period of social change The first half of the 20th century saw prolific cultural exchange between the United States and Mexico, as artists and intellectuals traversed the countries' shared border in both directions. For U.S. artists, Mexico's monumental public murals portraying social and political subject matter offered an alternative aesthetic at a time when artists were seeking to connect with a public deeply affected by the Great Depression. The Mexican influence grew as the artists José Clemente Orozco, Diego Rivera, and David Alfaro Siqueiros traveled to the United States to exhibit, sell their work, and make large-scale murals, working side-by-side with local artists, who often served as their assistants, and teaching them the fresco technique. Vida Americana examines the impact of their work on more than 70 artists, including Marion Greenwood, Philip Guston, Isamu Noguchi, Jackson Pollock, and Charles White. It provides a new understanding of art history, one that acknowledges the wide-ranging and profound influence the Mexican muralists had on the style, subject matter, and ideology of art in the United States between 1925 and 1945.
Call Number: JQG 20-449ISBN: 9780300246698Publication Date: 2020-03-10
The World That Wasn't There by
The World That Wasn't There tells the story of what became known to the West only after the voyages of Columbus and other European explorers: the beautiful and superbly crafted art of North and South America. From the best-known and most ancient civilizations-- such as the Olmec, Maya, and Aztec--to the spectacular vestiges of Teotihuacan, Veracruz, and Nayarit, from the ceramic Venuses of Valdivia, Ecuador, to the gold objects of Tairona, the ceramics of the Incas, and the fabrics and pots of the Nazca region, it is all here, in a stunning book presenting one of the most important private collections of pre-Columbian art in the world. This publication of treasures from the Ligabue Collection, assembled by the Italian palaeontologist and archaeological and anthropological scholar Giancarlo Ligabue (1931-2015), provides an unprecedented opportunity for collectors, scholars, and all those interested in pre-Columbian art.
Call Number: JQG 16-52ISBN: 9788874397013Publication Date: 2016
