Latin American Art History Surveys
The Americas art directory = Directorio de arte de las AméricasCall Number: JQK 03-12Publication Date: 2002-
A bibliography of contemporary art in Latin America : books, articles, and exhibition catalogs in the Tulane University Library, 1950-1980 by Call Number: 3-MAC 86-3459ISBN: 096032125XPublication Date: 1983
Contemporary Art in Latin America by
This book is the most significant art being created by Latin American's today. Emerging from complex cultural roots, Latin American art is extraordinarily diverse and original. This book covers a variety of contemporary art methods, looking at photography, installation art, sculpture, painting, textiles, and examines the styles, current perceptions and culture of this region. Contemporary Art in Latin America is an engaging, challenging and inspiring comprehensive survey of the most important art being made in the region today.
Call Number: JQF 10-1208ISBN: 9781906155643Publication Date: 2010
Enciclopedia del arte en América.
Primera edición. Tomos I y II Historia. Tomos I - II y III Biografías. Ilustrados con innumerables reproducciones artísticas, retratos, fotografías y facsimilares. Excelentes encuadernaciones de lomos en cuerina roja y cartoné de editor. Lomos y platos con títulos y decoraciones doradas. Una obra clásica de consulta bibliográfica, artística y biográfica muy completa y una de las más importantes de las editadas en Argentina hasta el presente. Estado excelente. Folio menor.
Call Number: JQF 12-522Publication Date: 1968-1969
The Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art by
The nearly 1,400 articles in this volume cover all the major artistic developments in Central and South America and the Caribbean from the colonial period to the present. From 16th-century Spanish colonial architects such as Fray Andres San Miguel to European explorers such as Alexander vonHumboldt to contemporary artists such as Debora Arango, the entries chart the adaptations of European artistic traditions and the evolution of individual national cultures.
Call Number: Sc *709-E (Encyclopedia of Latin American & Caribbean art)ISBN: 1884446043Publication Date: 2002A guide to the art of Latin America (Online) by
Call Number: Sc 016.709-S (Smith, R. Guide to the art of Latin America)Publication Date: 1948
Art in Latin America by
Discusses Latin American art of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, detailing the indigenous, colonial, post-colonial, and political influences.
Call Number: *R-ART N6502.4 .A3 1989ISBN: 0300045565Publication Date: 1990
Art of Latin America, 1900-1980 by Call Number: *R-ART N6502.5 .T713 1994ISBN: 0940602733Publication Date: 1994-05-01Marta Traba offers new insights into the work of Latin America's most significant 20th-century artists.
The Art of Mesoamerica by
This essential guide to the art and architecture of ancient Mesoamerica succinctly and evocatively summarizes the artistic achievements of the high pre-Columbian civilizations -- Olmec, Maya, Teotihuacan, Tolec, Aztec -- as well as those of their less well-known contemporaries.
Call Number: 709.7209 MISBN: 0500203458Publication Date: 2001-10-01
Art of the Andes by
Established as the best single-volume introduction to Andean art and architecture, this wide-ranging survey describes, among others, the strikingly varied artistic achievements of the Chavín, Paracas, Moche, Nasca, Chimú and Inca cultures. Their impressive cities, tall pyramids, intriguing earthworks, shining goldwork and intricate textiles constitute one of the greatest artistic traditions in history. For this fully revised third edition, Professor Stone has rewritten and expanded the text throughout, touching on many of the recent discoveries and advances in the field. These include new work on the huge stone pyramids and other structures at Caral; continued excavations of Inca child sacrifices perched on mountaintops throughout the empire, with their perfectly preserved clothing and miniature offerings of metal, ceramics and shell; spectacular murals and the remarkable burial of a tattooed female warrior-leader at the Moche site of Huaca Cao Viejo; and many new finds of high-status textiles, along with fresh analyses of weaving technology and new interpretations of designs and motifs.
Call Number: JQD 12-999ISBN: 9780500204153Publication Date: 2012
Buen Gusto and Classicism in the Visual Cultures of Latin America, 1780-1910 by
The promotion of classicism in the visual arts in late eighteenth and nineteenth-century Latin America and the need to "revive" buen gusto (good taste) are the themes of this collection of essays. The contributors provide new insights into neoclassicism and buen gusto as cultural, not just visual, phenomena in the late colonial and early national periods and promote new approaches to the study of Latin American art history and visual culture. The essays examine neoclassical visual culture from assorted perspectives. They consider how classicism was imposed, promoted, adapted, negotiated, and contested in myriad social, political, economic, cultural, and temporal situations. Case studies show such motivations as the desire to impose imperial authority, to fashion the nationalist self, and to form and maintain new social and cultural ideologies. The adaptation of classicism and buen gusto in the Americas was further shaped by local factors, including the realities of place and the influence of established visual and material traditions.
Call Number: JQE 14-229ISBN: 9780826353764Publication Date: 2013
Caribbean Art by
A collection of examples of the work of over 100 Caribbean artists with text explaining the history of Caribbean art, the 20th century art schools which helped to define an indigenous aesthetic, and art's relationship to the political and racial ideologies.
Call Number: Sc D 98-3162ISBN: 0500203067Publication Date: 1998
Caribbean Art by
A new, updated and expanded edition of this classic survey on the history of Caribbean art, featuring the work of over 100 artists from the period of colonialism to the present day. Caribbean Art presents and discusses the diverse, fascinating and highly accomplished work of Caribbean artists, whether indigenous or from the diaspora, popular or 'high' culture, rural or urban based, politically radical or religious. This expanded edition has a new preface, and has been updated to reflect on recent challenges to the ideological premises and institutions of conventional art-historical practice and their connections to histories of colonialism, Eurocentricity and race. Two new chapters focus on public monuments linked to the history of the Caribbean, and the intersections between art and tourism, raising important questions about cultural representation. Featuring the work of internationally recognized artists such as Sonia Boyce, Christopher Cozier, Wifredo Lam, Ana Mendieta, Ebony G. Patterson, Hervé Télémaque, and more than 100 others working across a variety of media, this new edition makes an important contribution to the understanding of Caribbean art and its context, in ways that invite and encourage further explorations on the subject.
ISBN: 9780500204788Publication Date: 2022-04-19
Defining Latin American Art (Hacia una Definición del Arte Latinamericano) by
This bilingual book describes the numerous elements that have shaped the modernist art of Latin America. Beginning with the pre-Columbian cultures of Mexico, Central America, South America, and the Caribbean Islands, the values and symbols of these early civilizations have remained a constant in much of modernist art. The work gives a brief history of Latin American art, defines the modernist movements and trends that surfaced in Paris in the early twentieth century, and traces the way Latin American artists adapted the forms to express their own national culture. The main section is a list of significant artworks, each accompanied by biographical details from the artist's life, an explanation of the work's subject matter, and a discussion of the inspiration and meaning behind it. The work boasts a wide selection of illustrations, including a large color insert, and concludes with a bibliography.
Call Number: JQZ 12-2159ISBN: 0786417285Publication Date: 2005
Historia del Arte Iberoamericano by
Historia del arte iberoamericano.
Call Number: *R-ART N6502 .H573 2000ISBN: 8477827516Publication Date: 2007
Latin American Art by
In this history of the art of Latin America, the author traces the development of art in the region from pre-Columbian times to the present. Illustrated with colour and black-and-white photographs, ""Latin American Art"" spans all geographical areas and time periods to provide a picture of artistic culture in the entire area. Linking pre-Columbian and Hispanic cultures, the book encompasses art forms ranging from sculpture, pottery and painting to architecture, and cultures from the Ice Age to Classic civilizations, Native empires, and the colonial period of American viceroyalties, to independence and the 20th century. Relating the arts to the life and politics of each age, Scott addresses the major media, styles and artists that defined each period, placing special emphasis on the areas that were the centre of high cultures and analyzing a few distinctive works from each, such as the Inca architecture at Cuzco and the great murals of Mexico.
Call Number: *R-ART N6502 .S367 1999ISBN: 0813016452Publication Date: 1999
Latin American Art Since 1900 by
In this classic survey, now updated and with full-colour images throughout, Edward Lucie-Smith introduces the art of Latin America from 1900 to the present day. He discusses in detail major figures such as Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo, as well as dozens of less well-known artists. Those who spent their lives in exile, and artists from Europe and the US who lived in South America, such as Leonora Carrington, are all included in this broad, comprehensive view. The artists featured here have sought for indigenous roots and a local tradition; explored abstraction, expressionism and new media (video, installation, performance); entered dialogue with European and North American movements, while insisting on reaching a wide popular audience for their work; and created an energetic, innovative and very varied art scene across the continent today. A new chapter extends the discussion into the twenty-first century, summarizing key trends and most notable figures of the last two decades. A constant theme is the embrace of the experimental and the new by artists across Latin America.
Call Number: JQD 21-149ISBN: 9780500204580Publication Date: 2020
Retratos by
The tradition of portraiture in Latin America is astonishingly long and rich. For over 2,000 years, portraits have been used to preserve the memory of the deceased, bolster the social standing of the aristocracy, mark the deeds of the mighty, advance the careers of politicians, record rites of passage, and mock symbols of the status quo. This beautiful and wide-ranging book-the first to explore the tradition of portraiture in Latin America from pre-Columbian times to the present day-features some 200 works from fifteen countries. Retratos (Portraits) presents an engaging variety of works by such well-known figures as Diego Rivera, Frida Kahlo, Fernando Botero, and José Campeche as well as stunning examples by anonymous and obscure artists. Distinguished contributors discuss the significance of portraits in ancient Mayan civilizations, in the world of colonial Iberians, in the political struggles of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, and in a remarkable range of other times and locations. With a wealth of informative details and exquisite color illustrations, Retratos invites readers to appreciate Latin American portraits and their many meanings as never before.
Call Number: JQG 05-236ISBN: 0300106270Publication Date: 2004-10-11
Twentieth-Century Art of Latin America by
The 20th century art of Latin America is art in the western tradition, and its leading figures -- Wilfredo Lam, Roberto Matta, Diego Rivera, Joaquin Torres-Garcia, to name only a few -- have achieved international stature. Yet much of the writing about this art has offered either a victimised view of what Latin American art should be. This pathfinding book, by contrast, seeks not to invent Latin American art but to look at it from the points of view of its own artists and critics.
Call Number: 709.809 BISBN: 0292708580Publication Date: 2001-03-15
Woman and Art in Early Modern Latin America by
This anthology centers on the visual representation of woman in early modern Latin America, that is, the social and cultural construction and definition of female identity as evidenced by the art document. Artists in this period were collectively aware of a vocabulary of gender that could be tailored to deliver varying messages about the position of women in vice regal culture and society. This volume is organized not in the predictable linear framework, by periods and centuries, but rather by the realization that throughout much of this period, Spanish authorities and others envisaged the Spanish colonies of the Americas in gendered terms. Proffered as the female body, the "New" (virginal by implication) World was at differing times adored, pursued, courted, seduced, defiled, exploited, reviled, and denounced by those (males) who encountered "her." This mentality is born out in the various forms of female representation that are discussed in this fully illustrated book. Contributors include: C. Cody Barteet, Mar a Elena Bernal-Garc a, Magali M. Carrera, Carol E. Damian, Carolyn Dean, Catherine R. DiCesare, Lori Boornazian Diel, Kelly Donahue-Wallace, Ray Hernandez-Duran, Andrea Lepage, Kellen Kee McIntyre, Penny Morrill, Elizabeth Q. Perry, Richard E. Phillips, Michael J. Schreffler, and Christopher C. Wilson. ERRATUM TO CHAPTER 7 Ray Hern ndez-Dur n, "El Encuentro de Cort s y Moctezuma: The Betrothal of Two Worlds in Eighteenth-Century New Spain" (pp. 181-206). On page 194, second paragraph, third sentence, should read: "Marina's absence in the encounter painting, where she normally mediates contact between the men, emphasizes the phallogocentric aspect of the historic meeting." The original phrasing, using the pivotal term, 'phallogocentric' (a reference to a gendered form of exchange or communication) was changed to 'phallus-centered, ' which not only alters a central idea in the argument, but actually has nothing to do with the image in question.
Call Number: JQE 08-1245ISBN: 9789004153929Publication Date: 2006
- Art of Latin America, 1900-1980 by
Marta Traba offers new insights into the work of Latin America's most significant 20th-century artists.
Call Number: *R-ART N6502.5 .T713 1994ISBN: 0940602733Publication Date: 1994-05-01
Beyond the Fantastic by
Copublished with the Institute of International Visual Arts, London, this anthology, edited by Cuban art historian and critic Gerardo Mosquera, offers a wide selection of writings by some of the most important cultural theoreticians of contemporary Latin America.
Call Number: 709.809 BISBN: 0262631725Publication Date: 1996-03-13
Dangerous Moves by
Examining performance and politics in post-revolutionary Cuba, Dangerous Moves challenges the understanding of performance art and political engagement through a sustained analysis of the contemporary experience in Cuba.
Call Number: 709.7291 FISBN: 9781849763264Publication Date: 2015-11-17
Drawing the Line by
Recent international interest in the painters of the Mexican mural movement, such as Rivera and Orozco, has brought Latin American art to a wider audience than ever before but has often failed to confront its continuing marginalization within art criticism. Drawing the Line is an exploration of the areas occupied by Latin American art and culture between the ongoing traditions of its indigenous inhabitants, its colonial heritage and its contemporary relationship to the cultural politics of North America and Europe. It looks at the way cultural identity has been constructed by artists from the 1940s to the present day and challenges the way art criticism has hitherto dealt with Latin American art. Established stereotypes of Latin American culture are discussed in terms of their relevance to contemporary artists. The book looks at the frequent subversion of dominant images and conventions of European art--such as the political significance of landscape painted as an attempt to define a specifically Latin American reality, or the constant reworking of familiar icons of European art--and explores the importance of Latin America to the European surrealist movement. The authors examine the significance of popular art--such as the Chilean arpilleras which commemorate the "disappeared" of Pinochet's regime--and relate it to the traditional "high art/low art" dichotomy. Including new perspectives on race and gender, Drawing the Line is the most comprehensive account of contemporary Latin American art ever to appear in English.
Call Number: JQE 15-800ISBN: 9780860919537Publication Date: 1989
Encajes ético, étnico y estético : arte y literatura de negros by
Pensar un arte propio de las personas negras requirió de un enfoque diferencial, dado que artistas visuales y escritores comparten, en lo que se ha llamado diáspora, la imposición de una cultura hegemónica, nacional y la experiencia de segregación, la cual no se genera únicamente a partir de su lengua, religión o costumbres, sino también por su color de piel. En su lucha contra el racismo, muchos líderes de organizaciones negras, intelectuales orgánicos y artistas negros se han propuesto fortalecer una tradición cultural diferenciada. De esto se trata este libro: de comprender y dar a conocer las formas buscadas por el arte visual y la literatura producida por importantes artistas y escritores negros que han configurado una estética negra. También la particularidad de la autoría femenina es considerada factor diferencial de esta estética y tiene un acercamiento propio entre los capítulos de esta obra.
Call Number: ReCAP 19-8410ISBN: 9789587741902Publication Date: 2018
ICAA Versions and Inversions by
In 2004, the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, presented Inverted Utopias, a critically acclaimed exhibition focusing on the development of avant-garde art in Latin America from 1920 to 1970. At the time of the exhibition, a major symposium was held at the museum. This handsome book brings together texts and commentary by leading art historians and critics who participated in the event. A wide range of topics is covered, including the avant-garde in America and Europe, Argentine art in the 1960s, Latin American Conceptualism, and Brazilian art trends of the 1950s. Beautiful and important works by such various artists as Gego, Lygia Clark, Mia Schendel, and Eva Hesse are featured, and a CD-Rom of the exhibition accompanies the book. As an outgrowth of and complement to Inverted Utopias, this book expands the framework for understanding the complex contributions of Latin American artists to 20th-century art.]]>
Call Number: JQD 07-151 [Book]ISBN: 9780300116526Publication Date: 2006
Latin American Art in the Twentieth Century by
This is the first comprehensive survey of an important and increasingly popular field. Because each of the contributors is an expert on his or her own national art, it is also the first to present a genuinely Latin American viewpoint. 17 scholars, critics and curators provide an exciting and challenging new assessment of twentieth-century Latin American art. The wider public and scholars alike will welcome the full and authoritative treatment of the different histories and cultural traditions that have given each country its own character. Major artists such as Wifredo Lam, Frida Kahlo, Diego Rivera and Fernando Botero are seen in a wider context, and the exploration of the rich and important heritage of previously overlooked countries such as Ecuador, Peru, the Dominican Republic, Paraguay and Bolivia will be a revelation to many. Springing from complex cultural roots, Latin American art is fresh, varied and often startling in its originality. Its range and quality are here represented in over 300 outstanding images.
Call Number: *R-ART N6502.5 .L374 1996ISBN: 0714832103Publication Date: 1996
Readings in Latin American Modern Art by
This important and welcome volume is the first English-language anthology of writings on Latin American modern art of the twentieth century. The book includes some fifty seminal essays and documents--including statements, interviews, and manifestoes by artists--that encompass the broad diversity of this emerging field. Many of these materials are difficult to access and some are translated here for the first time. Together the selections explore the breadth and depth of Latin American modern art as well as its distinctive evolution apart from American and European art history. Included in this collection are fascinating ideas and insights on the impact of the avant-garde in the 1920s, the Mexican mural movement, Surrealism and other fantasy-based styles, modern architecture, geometric and optical art, concrete and neo-concrete art, and political conceptualism. For students and scholars of Latin American art, the volume offers an invaluable collection of primary and secondary sources.
Call Number: JQZ 12-1101ISBN: 0300102550Publication Date: 2004
Resisting Categories: Latin American and/or Latino? by
This first volume of the Critical Documents of 20th-Century Latin American and Latino Art series published by the International Center for the Arts of the Americas at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, presents 168 crucial texts written by influential artists, critics, curators, journalists, and intellectuals whose writings shed light on questions relating to what it means to be "Latin American" and/or "Latino." Reinforced within a critical framework, the documents address converging issues, including: the construct of "Latin-ness" itself; the persistent longing for a continental identity; notions of Pan–Latin Americanism; the emergence of collections and exhibitions devoted specifically to "Latin American” or "Latino" art; and multicultural critiques of Latin American and Latino essentialism. The selected documents, many of which have never before been published in English, span from the late fifteenth century to the present day. They encompass key protagonists of this comprehensive history as well as unfamiliar figures, revealing previously unknown facets of the questions and issues at play. The book series complements the thousands of seminal documents now available through the ICAA Documents of 20th-Century Latin American and Latino Art digital archive, http://icaadocs.mfah.org. Together they establish a much-needed intellectual foundation for the exhibition, collection, and interpretation of art produced in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.
Call Number: *R-ART N6502 .R47 2012ISBN: 9780300146974Publication Date: 2012
Thirteen Ways of Looking at Latino Art by
The essayist and cultural commentator Ilan Stavans and the analytic philosopher Jorge J. E. Gracia share long-standing interests in the intersection of art and ideas. Here they take thirteen pieces of Latino art, each reproduced in color, as occasions for thematic discussions.
Call Number: 709.809 SISBN: 0822356341Publication Date: 2014-02-07
Tropical Aesthetics of Black Modernism by
In Tropical Aesthetics of Black Modernism, Samantha A. Noël investigates how Black Caribbean and American artists of the early twentieth century responded to and challenged colonial and other white-dominant regimes through tropicalist representation. With depictions of tropical scenery and landscapes situated throughout the African diaspora, performances staged in tropical settings, and bodily expressions of tropicality during Carnival, artists such as Aaron Douglas, Wifredo Lam, Josephine Baker, and Maya Angelou developed what Noël calls "tropical aesthetics"--using art to name and reclaim spaces of Black sovereignty. As a unifying element in the Caribbean modern art movement and the Harlem Renaissance, tropical aesthetics became a way for visual artists and performers to express their sense of belonging to and rootedness in a place. Tropical aesthetics, Noël contends, became central to these artists' identities and creative processes while enabling them to craft alternative Black diasporic histories. In outlining the centrality of tropical aesthetics in the artistic and cultural practices of Black modernist art, Noël recasts understandings of African diasporic art.
Call Number: 704.0396 NISBN: 9781478011408Publication Date: 2021-02-26
