Find a Database
- NYPL has a robust list of over 800 databases that we subscribe to.
- Our list is updated periodically so please check the Articles and Databases page for updates.
PDF Articles
Below are links to PDF files of relevant articles available via JSTOR to NYPL cardholders.
Art databases...
can be found under Articles & Databases on the Library’s website. Please keep in mind that not all will be available outside the Library.
- Interested in what resources you can access from home?
- View our guide: Art Resources from Home.
- Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon (AKL)
Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon Online (Artists of the World Online) is biographical reference guide to artists. It contains up-to-date, authoritative information on over one million artists.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Dates of Coverage: 1974-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles from an international selection of periodicals including French, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish, and English-language journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Art Index Retrospective
Indexes articles in periodicals, yearbooks, and museum publications, 1929-1984.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ARTstor
ARTstor is a nonprofit resource that provides access to more than one million images in the arts, architecture, and other fields in the humanities and sciences.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- AskART
AskArt covers American artists providing biography, images, citations, museums owning their work and galleries representing the artist's work. AskART also provides access to auction results.
Available only in Room 300, the Art & Architecture Collection. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.** - HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
Indexes books, articles, reviews, bibliographies, and literary works appearing in scholarly journals covering Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanic America. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
This collection represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of Readex/Newsbank. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of JSTOR. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online offers users the ability to access the vast content of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms all in one interface. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Sabin Americana Digital Archive (1500-1926)Digital library of works written or published in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas from 1492 to the mid-1800s. Based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes articles on architecture in its broadest sense, including archaeology, decorative arts, interior design, furniture, landscape architecture, and city planning from 1930s to present. Includes a large number of architects' obituaries, a rich source of biographical information. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Ethnic NewsWatch (1959-present)
Collection of ethnic, minority, and native newspapers, magazines, and journals published in America. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Wondering if the library has a particular journal or magazine?
- If you know the title, use the catalog's Journal Title search function. (Examples of scholarly and popular titles are found below.)
Archives of American Art Journal
First published in 1960 as the Archives of American Art Bulletin, the Archives of American Art Journal is the longest-running scholarly periodical devoted to the history of art in the United States. This peer-reviewed publication showcases new approaches to and out-of-the-box thinking about primary sources. All contributions must be appropriate for the journal's broad audience and engage in a substantial, meaningful way with the holdings of the Archives of American Art.
Call Number: JQM 06-58ISBN: 0003-9853Publication Date: 1964-
Arte al día internacional by
Arte al Día is a medium specialized in Latin American art with a trajectory of more than forty years. Founded in 1980 in the city of Buenos Aires, Argentina, it has positioned itself as one of the most relevant sources of documentation in relation to the artistic diffusion of Latin America in the world. Since then, Arte al Día has played a fundamental role in promoting the work of artists, curators, gallerists and institutions in the region, driven mainly by its bilingual nature, which has allowed it to build bridges within the global art ecosystem.
Call Number: JQM 08-56ISBN: 0326-4807Publication Date: 1988-2016Artecubano : revista de artes visuales. La revista Artecubano es una publicación especializada perteneciente al Consejo Nacional de las Artes Plásticas. Se fundó en el año 1995 por el Sello Artecubano Ediciones. Desde sus primeros números el objetivo principal consistió en promover el desarrollo del arte cubano y sus más destacados... (Ver más...)
Call Number: JQM 11-17ISBN: 1024-8439Publication Date: 1995-
Arte en Colombia.
Revista periódica de carácter trimestal (publicación irregular) / El primer número de la revista, fundada por Celia Sredni de Birbragher, apareció en junio de 1976, hasta el número 46, enero de 1991, se llamó Arte en Colombia; a partir de mayo de 1991 pasó a denominarse Art Nexus
Call Number: JQN 07-28Publication Date: 1976-
Bulletin of Latin American Research [electronic resource].Call Number: JFL 95-20ISBN: 0261-3050Publication Date: 1981-
Klaxon (magazine)Call Number: JQM 09-32Publication Date: 1922/1923A Brazilian visual art and literary magazine, which ran from 15 May 1922 to January 1923.
Latin American Perspectives [electronic resource].
Latin American Perspectives also offers a vital multidisciplinary view of the powerful forces impacting the lives of people across the Americas.
Call Number: JFM 94-542ISBN: 0094-582X (Online)Publication Date: 2013
Latin American Research Review [electronic resource].Call Number: HCA (Latin American research review.)ISBN: 1542-4278Publication Date: 1965-
Third text [electronic resource].
"Third World perspectives on contemporary art & culture."
Call Number: JFL 92-348ISBN: 0361-2112Publication Date: 1987-
