Latin American Art & Latine Art: A Guide to Resources: External Resources

The Visual Arts program boasts the longest-standing space in the United States dedicated to exhibiting and promoting art from Latin America, the Caribbean, and Canada. Since the mid-1960s, Americas Society has been producing both historical and contemporary exhibitions, publications, as well as public and educational programs, featuring outstanding artists, curators, critics, and scholars. Promoting a plural view of culture from the continent, Americas Society has achieved a unique and renowned leadership position in the field.
Members play a fundamental role in Americas Society's cultural activities.

​The Archives of American Art is the world’s preeminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.

The Bronx Documentary Center is an accessible, community-oriented gallery and educational space located in Melrose, one of New York City’s fastest growing neighborhoods. Melrose is the proud home to immigrants from around the globe, including many from the Caribbean, West Africa, Mexico, and South and Central America. To serve the Melrose community, the BDC opens up local discussions through film and photography and provides access to world-class exhibitions and screenings, all the while being fully rooted in the concerns and needs of Bronx residents. Additionally, the BDC not only employs Bronx residents, but also promotes educational programming that empowers our neighbors to tell their own stories. By carving out a unique arts space, the BDC seeks to encourage Bronx residents to participate in the vibrant culture of Melrose and beyond.

Today an internationally-recognized cultural destination, The Bronx Museum of the Arts is committed to presenting new ideas and voices in a global context and making contemporary art a vital, relevant experience. For the past four decades, the Bronx Museum has presented hundreds of changing exhibitions featuring works by culturally diverse and under-represented artists from a spectrum of levels. Exhibitions have investigated themes of special interest to the Bronx community while exploring the interplay between contemporary art and popular culture. A permanent collection of over 2,000 artworks in all visual media preserves and documents artists who are not typically represented within traditional museum collections by showcasing work by artists of African, Asian, and Latin American ancestry, as well as artists for whom the Bronx has been critical to their development. The Museum provides direct support to artists through Artist in the Marketplace, which nurtures the work of 36 emerging artists each year and provides professional development seminars culminating in a multi-site biennial exhibition and catalogue.

In the Brooklyn Museum's online collection you’ll find a wealth of information about many of the objects in our rich holdings. We hope these pages will inspire you to explore further—both here and in our galleries.

Founded by Dr. Marta Moreno Vega in 1976, the Caribbean Cultural Center African Diaspora Institute (CCCADI) is a vibrant home for global afro-descendent cultural programming. A multi-disciplinary center based in East Harlem, New York City, CCCADI integrates art, education, activism, and conscious cultural tourism to foster social transformation. We document and present the creative genius of African Diaspora cultures; prepare the next generation of cultural leaders; and unite Diaspora communities.

Founded in 1973 by a coalition of students, faculty, and activists, the Center for Puerto Rican Studies at Hunter College (CENTRO) is the largest university-based research institute, library, and archive dedicated to the Puerto Rican experience in the United States. We provide support to students, scholars, artists, and members of the community at large across and beyond New York. We produce original research, films, books, and educational tools and are the home of The Centro Journal—the premiere academic journal of Puerto Rican Studies. Our aim is to create actionable and accessible scholarship to strengthen, broaden, and reimagine the field of Puerto Rican studies.

The Dominican Studies Institute of the City University of New York (CUNY DSI) came into being through the agency of the Council of Dominican Educators, community activists, and other academics from CUNY, to address the lack of reliable academic information about Dominicans available to students, scholars, and the community at large in the United States. CUNY DSI is the first and only university-based research institution in the United States focused on the study of the Dominican experience.

New York’s leading Latino cultural institution, welcomes visitors of all backgrounds to discover the artistic landscape of Latino, Caribbean, and Latin American cultures. Their richness is represented in El Museo’s wide-ranging collections and exhibitions, complemented by film, literary, visual and performing arts series, cultural celebrations, and educational programs.

The Handbook of Latin American Studies is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose between 2,000-3,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.

The Hemispheric Institute gathers artists, scholars, writers, learners, and activists from across the Americas. We focus on social justice and research politically engaged culture and performance. We share this work in digital archives and amplify it through dialogues and public scholarship, residencies, publications, and gatherings. Our dynamic, multilingual network crosses disciplines and borders, and is grounded in the fundamental belief that artistic practice and critical reflection can spark lasting cultural change.

Art Gallery specialized in Latin American Art since 2001.

Ariel Aisiks founded the Institute for Studies on Latin American Art (ISLAA) in 2011 to raise the international visibility of art from Latin America. The institute advances scholarship and public engagement with art from Latin America through its program of exhibitions, publications, lectures, and partnerships with universities and art institutions. The pursuit of this goal has led to ISLAA’s involvement in more than 470 lectures and conferences, 30 books, and 20 large-scale exhibitions. In addition to these activities, ISLAA is home to the Jaime Davidovich Foundation, which honors the life, work, and inimitable spirit of artistic experimentation carried forth by the late artist.

In 2001, the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston (MFAH), established the Latin American Art Department and its research arm, the International Center for the Arts of the Americas (ICAA). Since its founding, the mission of the ICAA has been to collect, exhibit, research, and educate audiences about the diverse artistic production of Latin American and Latinx communities, including artists from Mexico, Central and South America, the Caribbean, and artists of Latin American descent living and working in the United States. By establishing the center, the museum sought to bring about a long-term transformation in the appreciation and understanding of Latin American and Latinx visual arts in the United States and abroad.

LACMA’s mission is to serve the public through the collection, conservation, exhibition, and interpretation of significant works of art from a broad range of cultures and historical periods, and through the translation of these collections into meaningful educational, aesthetic, intellectual, and cultural experiences for the widest array of audiences.

The Latinx Project at NYU explores the generative power of U.S. Latinxs in history, scholarship, and media. Conceiving Latinx as a broad social project, we develop and promote research, curricular collaborations, public engagement, and programming that fosters critical thinking about US Latinxs and an ongoing engagement with the politics and economies of contemporary culture.
The Latinx Project establishes partnerships and collaborations among cultural workers, artists, scholars, and communities in order to better understand the larger contexts affecting Latinx arts, media, and creative work in contemporary cities. We are dedicated to promoting Latinx arts, scholarship, and history while improving access and cultural equity.
Our use of Latinx indicates an openness to gender, sexual and racial inclusivity, while also paying attention to the multiple ways in which Latinx organize and forge community around nationality, race, ethnicity, gender, and other designations. We seek to expand understandings of equity, justice, and inclusion throughout original projects that connect culture, scholarship, and activism.

The Met presents over 5,000 years of art from around the world for everyone to experience and enjoy. The Museum lives in three iconic sites in New York City—The Met Fifth Avenue, The Met Breuer, and The Met Cloisters. Millions of people also take part in The Met experience online.
Since it was founded in 1870, The Met has always aspired to be more than a treasury of rare and beautiful objects. Every day, art comes alive in the Museum's galleries and through its exhibitions and events, revealing both new ideas and unexpected connections across time and across cultures.

At The Museum of Modern Art and MoMA PS1, we celebrate creativity,openness, tolerance, and generosity. We aim to be inclusive places—both onsite anonlinewhere diverse cultural, artistic, social, andpolitical positions are welcome. We’re committed to sharing themost thought-provoking modern and contemporary art, and hope you will join us in exploring the art, ideas, and issues of our time.

The Patricia Phelps de Cisneros Research Institute for the Study of Art from Latin America is a platform dedicated to stimulating, supporting, and disseminating new understandings of Latin American modern and contemporary art in relationship to broader cultural issues within a global context.

In July 2003 the Metropolitan New York Library Council (METRO) sub-contracted The Museum of Modern Art Library to survey archives documenting Latino art in greater New York as part of METRO’s Documentary Heritage Project.
Conducted from September 2003 to June 2006 by The Museum of Modern Art Library, this project aimed to identify and inventory the archives of New York institutions that have supported and showcased Latino and Latin American artists, and to establish a network of repositories. This website provides researchers with an overview of each archival collection surveyed and highlights their particular assets in order to facilitate access to materials and promote research on Latino art. An Archival Collections Guide has also been published, and is available at the institutions surveyed.
We extend our gratitude to the numerous partners and individuals who contributed to the success of this project. Please take a moment to explore our Web site and to familiarize yourself with this invaluable tool to research some of the most outstanding archives of Latino and Latin American Art in New York.

The Museum of Latin American Art expands knowledge and appreciation of modern and contemporary Latin American and Latino art through its Collection, ground-breaking Exhibitions, stimulating Educational Programs, and engaging Cultural Events.

Pacific Standard Time: LA/LA is a far-reaching and ambitious exploration of Latin American and Latino art in dialogue with Los Angeles. Led by the Getty, Pacific Standard Time: LA/LA is the latest collaborative effort from arts institutions across Southern California.

For centuries, diverse Latino communities have played foundational roles in building the United States and shaping its national culture. Their rich histories and legacies predate the nation's establishment. They are deeply rooted in this country's pursuit of democracy, freedom, multiculturalism, and economic opportunity. Their stories and perspectives deepen our understanding of the United States and what it means to be American. 
On December 27, 2020, legislation passed calling for the Smithsonian to establish the National Museum of the American Latino. The new museum will be the cornerstone for visitors to learn how Latinos have contributed and continue to contribute to U.S. art, history, culture, and science. Additionally, it will serve as a gateway to exhibitions, collections, and programming at other Smithsonian museums, research centers, and traveling exhibition services.

As the preeminent institution devoted to the art of the United States, the Whitney Museum of American Art presents the full range of twentieth-century and contemporary American art, with a special focus on works by living artists. The Whitney is dedicated to collecting, preserving, interpreting, and exhibiting American art, and its collection—arguably the finest holdings of twentieth-century American art in the world—is the Museum’s key resource. The Museum’s flagship exhibition, the Biennial, is the country’s leading survey of the most recent developments in American art.
Explore the Whitney's collection of over 23,000 works, created by more than 3,500 American artists during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.