Articles
The resume and the cover letter writing process is always evolving. Keep up to date by researching databases for recent articles that may offer tips on improving your resume and cover letter. Below, you will find a list of NYPL databases that you can use to search for current articles.
Databases
List of databases that you can use to search for articles about writing cover letters and resumes. All databases are accessible remotely with your NYPL card and PIN.
- Academic OneFile This article database includes full-text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals covering topics in the areas of current events, general sciences and technology, social sciences, arts, and humanities. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Academic Search Premier A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Cambridge Core Access to the full text of over 500 books published by Cambridge University Press and covering the humanities, social and natural sciences, medicine, and English language teaching. Please note: NYPL has access to content published beginning in 2015. All other titles provide access to tables of contents and indices only. Formerly known as Cambridge Books Online (CBO). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- EBSCOHost Provides access to over 30 databases with citations, abstracts and selected full-text. Includes Academic Search Premier, Business Source Complete and other subject-specific resources. Specific databases available through EBSCOhost are listed at the EBSCOhost site and in this directory. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ERIC (EBSCO) U.S. Department of Education's Educational Resource Information Center database. Citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of JSTOR. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ProQuest Research Library Provides articles from periodicals covering arts, business, children, education, health, humanities, law, multicultural studies, sciences, social sciences, and general interest. Full text is available for nearly two-thirds of its titles. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Academic Search Premier
Search for articles that may help you write your resume and cover letter using the Academic Search Premier database. Doing a general search by typing "resume writing" in the Basic Search text box will bring up thousands of articles. However, if you want to be specific, do an Advanced Search to retrieve concrete results. After clicking Advanced Search, enter your query resume writing and click the Select A Field drop-down option to the right of the search box to choose TI Title. This will search for articles with the keywords resume writing in their title. Select the Boolean/Phrase search mode, limit your results to full-text articles by clicking on Linked Full Text, and choose a publication date range. Lastly, click on Search.
- Academic Search Premier A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
