On this page you can find info about clipping file collections held at both NYPL's Schwarzman Library, the main research library on 42nd St and 5th Avenue, and the Library for the Performing Arts located at Lincoln Center.
NYPL's Library for the Performing Arts, located on the Lincoln Center campus in midtown Manhattan, has a robust collection of over 400,000 clipping files that can be found across their research divisions specializing in dance, music, recorded sound, and theatre. To learn more about the Library for the Performing Arts clipping files, you may view their LibGuide Orientation to Clippings.
The Steven A. Schwarzman's Art & Architecture Collection has two unique resources that patrons may use to research artists, museums, galleries, and related arts organizations in their Artist and Pamphlet Files. The Artist Files contains ephemera on artists, designers, architects, etc. of various nationalities including people from the African diaspora. The Pamphlet Files contains ephemera on galleries, museums, foundations and other art organizations in the New York City and some resources on international venues. Learn more about the Artist and Pamphlet Files in the How to Research An Artist LibGuide.
The NYC Clippings File in the Schwarzman Library's Milstein Division is a resource that contains New York City related clipped articles from newspapers and magazines, and other ephemera such as menus, flyers, and pamphlets. The clippings are located in Room 121. More information about the NYC Clippings File can be found on the Local History page of the New York City Neighborhood Research LibGuide.
The Picture Collection in the Schwarzman Library contains over 1.5 million pictures arranged by subject and comes from various sources including books, magazine and other print materials. Black Americans and the African diaspora are represented in the Picture Collection. More info about the collection can be found in this LibGuide, and you may view the collection's full subject heading here.