About
On this page you can find additional resources on other resources such as clipping files, scrapbooks and artist files that are held at the Schomburg Center.
Other Clipping Files and Scrapbooks
The Hampton University Newspaper Clipping File (1900-1925) is a collection of more than 55,000 newspaper clippings from Black newspapers from 1900 to 1925, and it "illuminates the complexities of racial oppression and resistance, of urban migrant and industrial change, of war-time nationalism and internationalism." The clipping file is available on microfiche in the Schomburg Center's Research and Reference Division. To view the a PDF version of the Index to the Hampton University Newspaper Clipping File, click here.
The Tuskegee Institute News Clipping File (1899-1966) is a collection of news clippings and other materials about or relating to Black people in the U.S., African and other parts of the world. The period covered by the collection is from 1899 to 1966, however there are limited clippings prior to 1910. The microfilm version of this collection is dived into three categories: I. Main File, II. Miscellaneous Files, and III. Negro Yearbooks and Finding Aids. A print guide to The Tuskegee Institute News Clipping Files is available at the Reference Desk
Schomburg Center Scrapbooks
Similar to the clipping file collection, the Schomburg Scrapbooks are a collection of 296 volumes of scrapbooks that consisted of newspaper clippings assembled by the 135th St. Library staff between 1920s and 1960s to supplement the collection of Black history resources available to researchers. The Schomburg Scrapbooks were microfilmed and are accessible to researchers in this format. To view the full list of scrapbooks by subject in alphabetical order click here.
Scrapbooks in Schomburg Archival Collections
Some scrapbooks may be found in archival collections that are housed in the Schomburg Center's Manuscripts, Archives & Rare Books Division (MARB). You may search the catalog to find scrapbooks that are held in the MARB as shown:
MARB is accessibly by appointment only and you may email schomburgarchives@nypl.org for assistance. Please note that some archival collections from MARB have been microfilmed are available in the Jean Blackwell Hutson Research & Reference Division. To view the list of archival collections on microfilm click you may view the Schomburg Archival Collections on Microfilm LibGuide.
Artists Files
The Schomburg Center's Art & Artifacts Division has compiled the artists files of hundreds of Black visual artists. The files may include clippings, brochures, press releases, invitations, exhibition catalog and other ephemera. To view the full list of artists files you may search the catalog. In the pull down menu to the right of the search field, select "Genre" and in the search field enter "Artist Files." In the "Collection" pull down menu, select "Schomburg Art & Artifacts" as shown.
You will see a list of Artist Files and you may click on the "View Additional Copies..." to view an alphabetical list.
The Art & Artifacts Division is open to researchers by appointment. To consult the artist files please email schomburgart@nypl.org