What is the European Union?
According to the European Union's official website the union's purpose is to: promote peace, establish a unified economic and monetary system, promote inclusion, combat discrimination, break down barriers to trade and borders, encourage technological and scientific developments, and champion environmental protection. It's a coalition of 28 European countries, designed to tear down trade, economic and social barriers. As of August 2020, the United Kingdom is still negotiating an exit from the European Union.
Books
Financial Markets and Institutions: A European Perspective by
Written for undergraduate and graduate students of finance, economics and business, the fourth edition of Financial Markets and Institutions provides a fresh analysis of the European financial system. Combining theory, data and policy, this successful textbook examines and explains financial markets, financial infrastructures, financial institutions, and the challenges of financial supervision and competition policy. The fourth edition features not only greater discussion of the financial and euro crises and post-crisis reforms, but also new market developments like FinTech, blockchain, cryptocurrencies and shadow banking. On the policy side, new material covers unconventional monetary policies, the Banking Union, the Capital Markets Union, Brexit, the Basel III capital adequacy framework for banking supervision and macroprudential policies. The new edition also features wider international coverage, with greater emphasis on comparisons with countries outside the European Union, including the United States, China and Japan.
Publication Date: 2020- Europa World Year BookCall Number: *R-SIBL JN1 .E85Publication Date: CurrentProvides detailed country information on political, economic, and commercial institutions. Includes statistical surveys and directory information.
- Oxford Handbooks Online The full collection of Oxford Handbook series, which provides peer-reviewed research articles from scholars in the field of archaeology, business & management, classical studies, criminology & criminal justice, economics & finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political science, psychology, and religion. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Cambridge Core Access to the full text of over 500 books published by Cambridge University Press and covering the humanities, social and natural sciences, medicine, and English language teaching. Please note: NYPL has access to content published beginning in 2015. All other titles provide access to tables of contents and indices only. Formerly known as Cambridge Books Online (CBO). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- EBSCO eBook Academic Collection eBook Academic Collection offers more than 170,000 eBooks, this collection includes titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, MIT Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, McGill-Queen’s University Press, Harvard University Press and many others.
- Walter de Gruyter University Press E-Book Collections The Walter de Gruyter University Press E-Book Collections offers full text access to over 1,000 academic monographs published in 2019, from eight university presses: Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press, Harvard University Press, Princeton University Press, Rutgers University Press, University of Toronto Press, University of California Press, University of Pennsylvania Press.
Databases
- Europa World of Learning
Details and contact information for libraries, museums, higher education centers, and other research institutions worldwide. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Statista - Statistics and Studies from more than 18,000 Sources. Aggregates statistics and data sets from various international free and proprietary sources, including industry and marketing. Data sets can be displayed in multiple graphical formats.
- EconLit with Full Text
This database covers international literature on economics. It includes more than 700 full-text journals; 15 full-text books, including "The Handbook of World Trade"; and complete indexing. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Factiva
Includes content from more than 20,000 news sources, including newspapers, TV transcripts, newswires, and business magazines.
**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Websites
Europa: Gateway to the European Union - Current information on the member countries of the European Union, including statistical data, policies, news, official documents, legal texts, and other publications.
World Factbook - provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. The website allows you to browse statistics by theme, statistics A - Z, and experimental statistics.