United Nations (UN)
The United Nations (UN) is an intergovernmental organization that aims to maintain international peace and security, develop friendly relations among nations, achieve international cooperation, and be a centre for harmonizing the actions of nations.
Books
- Yearbook of United NationsA subject oriented annual that covers the activities of the United Nations. All resolutions, decisions, and major activities of the principal organs and subsidiary bodies are reproduced or summarized. Annual.
- Global governance [electronic resource] : a review of multilateralism and international organizations.Publication Date: CurrentGale Academic Onefile database is available from home with a valid library card.
The United Nations Global Compact by
The United Nations Global Compact is a strategic policy initiative that encourages businesses to support ten universal principles in the areas of human rights, labor standards, the environment, and anti-corruption. It is the world's largest voluntary corporate responsibility initiative with more than 7,500 business and non-business participants in over 130 countries. This book reviews the first ten years of the Compact's existence (2000-2010) by presenting exclusively commissioned chapters from well-known scholars, practitioners from the business world and civil society, and Global Compact staff. They reflect on what the Global Compact has achieved, what trends it may have to respond to, and what challenges are ahead. The book contains not only up-to-date reflections but also debates recent changes to the structure of the Compact, including the Communication on Progress policy, the role of Global Compact Local Networks, and the role of emerging specialized initiatives.
Call Number: JBE 10-28ISBN: 9780511762642Publication Date: 2012-02-05
Websites
UN Data - From the United Nations. Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators: population, environment, health, economics, technology, trade, refugees, and more.
Databases
- United Nations iLibrary
The United Nations iLibrary presents a large and growing number of publications across a broad range of UN programs. It comprises not only core sales publications including dozens of statistical compilations, but also more thematic treatments of drug problems, terrorism, climate change, human rights and gender issues, formal reports from its programs and funds as well as a growing archive of Official Records. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- United Nations Official Documents System
ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. The system does not contain press releases, UN sales publications, the United Nations Treaty Series or information brochures issued by the Department of Public Information. To find older documents back to 1946 or items not listed in the ODS, also consult the United Nations Index on CD-ROM. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- EconLit with Full Text
This database covers international literature on economics. It includes more than 700 full-text journals; 15 full-text books, including "The Handbook of World Trade"; and complete indexing. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Emerging Markets - Internet Securities
Full-text articles, news, company, industry and market information for emerging market countries around the world. Attention remote NYPL cardholders: Once you type in your library card and pin number, please click on CLIENT LOG IN on the top right portion of the screen, then select New York Public Library to fully access EMIS Intelligence. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Factiva
Includes content from more than 20,000 news sources, including newspapers, TV transcripts, newswires, and business magazines.
**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
