What is the World Bank
The World Bank is an international organization dedicated to providing financing, advice, and research to developing nations to aid their economic advancement. The bank predominantly acts to fight poverty through economic development.
Books
The World Economy by
The balance of the world economy is shifting away from the established economies of Europe, Japan, and the USA, towards the emerging economies of Asia, especially India and China. With contributions from some of the world's leading growth theorists, this book analyses the long-term process of structural change and productivity growth across the world from a unique comparative perspective. Ongoing research from the World KLEMS Initiative is used to comparatively study new sources of growth - including the role of investment in intangible assets, human capital, technology catch-up, and trade in global value chains. This book provides comparisons of industries and economies that are key to analysing the impacts of international trade and investment. This makes it an ideal read for academics and students interested in understanding current patterns of economic growth. It will also be of value to professionals with an interest in the drivers of economic growth and crisis.
ISBN: 9781316534502Publication Date: 2017-01-07
- Cambridge Core Access to the full text of over 500 books published by Cambridge University Press and covering the humanities, social and natural sciences, medicine, and English language teaching. Please note: NYPL has access to content published beginning in 2015. All other titles provide access to tables of contents and indices only. Formerly known as Cambridge Books Online (CBO). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- EBSCO eBook Academic Collection eBook Academic Collection offers more than 170,000 eBooks, this collection includes titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, MIT Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, McGill-Queen’s University Press, Harvard University Press and many others.
- Oxford Handbooks Online The full collection of Oxford Handbook series, which provides peer-reviewed research articles from scholars in the field of archaeology, business & management, classical studies, criminology & criminal justice, economics & finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political science, psychology, and religion. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Walter de Gruyter University Press E-Book Collections The Walter de Gruyter University Press E-Book Collections offers full text access to over 1,000 academic monographs published in 2019, from eight university presses: Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press, Harvard University Press, Princeton University Press, Rutgers University Press, University of Toronto Press, University of California Press, University of Pennsylvania Press.
Databases
- Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010
Searchable full-text and page images of the worlds most authoritative daily business newspaper. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
Full text of the Wall Street Journal, 1984-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- EconLit with Full Text
This database covers international literature on economics. It includes more than 700 full-text journals; 15 full-text books, including "The Handbook of World Trade"; and complete indexing. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Factiva
Includes content from more than 20,000 news sources, including newspapers, TV transcripts, newswires, and business magazines.
**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Websites
World Bank Data - World Development Indicators (WDI), Africa Development Indicators (ADI), Gender Statistics, Worldwide Governance Indicators, Global Economic Monitor (GEM), Education Statistics, and more. Most data is available in Arabic, French, Spanish, and Chinese in addition to English.