Currency Exchange/Trading
Currency exchange is a business that has the legal right to exchange one currency for another for its customers. This may be offered as part of the services provided by a bank, forex broker, or other financial institution. Currency exchange services are also offered online. These businesses profit from their services either through adjusting the exchange rate, charging fees, or both.
Books
The Little Book Currency Trading by
Once dominated by global banks, hedge funds, and multinational corporations, the foreign exchange market, or forex, is now easily accessible to traders and investors around the world. But in order to make the most of your time in this market, you need to have a firm understanding of how it works.Written by forex expert Kathy Lien, The Little Book of Currency Trading shows you how to effectively trade and invest in today's biggest market. Page by page, she describes the multitude of opportunities possible in the forex market, from short-term price swings to long-term trends, and details the practical products that can help you achieve success.Along the way, Lien skillfully explains the forces that drive currencies and provides strategies to profit from them; reveals how you can use various currencies to reduce risk and take advantage of global trends; and examines what you can do to make money without the stress of monitoring the market every day. Other issues addressed include:* Getting started in forex and finding the right approach for you* The most commonly made forex mistakes * Making the most of slow and steady investing as well as learning the fast and furious approach to forex * Avoiding popular forex scams * And much moreFilled with in-depth insights and practical advice, The Little Book of Currency Trading opens the world of currency trading and investing to anyone interested in entering his dynamic arena.
ISBN: 9781469001517Publication Date: 2011-02-09
Naked Forex by
A streamlined and highly effective approach to trading without indicators Most forex traders rely on technical analysis books written for stock, futures, and option traders. However, long before computers and calculators, traders were trading naked. Naked trading is the simplest (and oldest) trading method. It's simply trading without technical indicators, and that is exactly what this book is about. Traders who use standard technical indicators focus on the indicators. Traders using naked trading techniques focus on the price chart. Naked trading is a simple and superior way to trade and is suited to those traders looking to quickly achieve expertise with a trading method. Offers a simpler way for traders to make effective decisions using the price chart Based on coauthor Walter Peters method of trading and managing money almost exclusively without indicators Coauthor Alexander Nekritin is the CEO and President of TradersChoiceFX, one of the largest Forex introducing brokers in the world Naked Forex teaches traders how to profit the simple naked way!
ISBN: 9781118224359Publication Date: 2012-01-25
The 10 Essentials of Forex Trading by
Trading the Forex Market can be exciting, adventurous, and financially rewarding. It can also be disastrous for those who are unprepared for its rhythms and movements. Now, Jared F. Martinez, one of the foremost experts in currency trading, draws upon his vast knowledge and experience to deliver 10 key practices for trading in Forex. The 10 Essentials of Forex Trading shows you how to use charting methods to effectively relate market movements to trading patterns-and turn those patterns into profit. No matter your level of trading experience, you can develop the skills you need to become a consistently successful foreign currency trader-from using the right trading tools and balancing equity management to trading in buy and sell zones and identifying trends and trendlines. You'll discover what drives the Forex market and how to navigate the three stages of Forex trading: acquiring new trading rules, controlling disciplined thought, and implementing disciplined action. Martinez also prepares you to: Understand the financial game of support and resistance between Bulls & Bears Use Japanese Candlesticks to discern the sign language of the market Create an entry strategy and a consistent exit strategy Use Fibonacci as part of your trading approach Forecast sideways movement in the market-and trade it Martinez shows you how to put it all together to execute a successful trade by finding convergence and analyzing the market on multiple timeframes. You'll also learn how to gain control over your emotions-a vital part of trading on Forex-and eliminate bad habits that can prevent you from becoming a confident, competent, and profitable trader. To trade the Forex market, you must come to the trading table prepared. The 10 Essentials of Forex Trading arms you with the tools to develop a solid personal trading constitution and reap the financial outcome you desire.
ISBN: 9780071508735Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Currency Statecraft by
At any given time, a limited number of national currencies are used as instruments of international commerce, to settle foreign trade transactions or store value for investors and central banks. How countries whose currencies gain international appeal choose to use this status forms their strategy of currency statecraft. In different circumstances, issuing governments may welcome and promote the internationalization of their currency, tolerate it, or actively oppose it. Benjamin J. Cohen offers a provocative explanation of the strategic policy choices at play. In a comprehensive review that ranges from World War II to the present, Cohen convincingly argues that one goal stands out as the primary motivation for currency statecraft: the extent of a country's geopolitical ambition, or how driven it is to build or sustain a prominent place in the international community. When a currency becomes internationalized, it generally increases the power of the nation that produces it. In the persistent contestation that characterizes global politics, that extra edge can matter greatly, making monetary rivalry an integral component of geopolitics. Today, the major example of monetary rivalry is the emerging confrontation between the US dollar and the Chinese renminbi. Cohen describes how China has vigorously promoted the international standing of its currency in recent years, even at the risk of exacerbating relations with the United States, and explains how the outcome could play a major role in shaping the broader geopolitical engagement between the two superpowers.
Call Number: Access from Walter de Gruyter Database with your library cardISBN: 9780226587691Publication Date: 2018-11-15
Databases
- BloombergCovers current exchange rates of major world currencies. Find updated foreign currency values, a currency converter, and info for foreign currency trading. ... Currency data is 5 minutes delayed (times in ET) and based on the Bloomberg Generic...
- S&P Capital IQ (Standard and Poor's Capital IQ)
Provides in-depth financial information on companies, equities, fixed income, industry reports, SEC filings, interest rates, commodities, screening for stocks and mutual funds and more. Includes publications: S&P Analysts Handbook, S&P Bond Guide, S&P Corporation Records, S&P Stock Reports, Stovall Sectors. Provides sophisticated retrieval tools to create reports. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Factiva
Includes content from more than 20,000 news sources, including newspapers, TV transcripts, newswires, and business magazines.
**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.** - EconLit with Full Text
This database covers international literature on economics. It includes more than 700 full-text journals; 15 full-text books, including "The Handbook of World Trade"; and complete indexing. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Websites
Eurostat Exchange and Interest Rates - The website contains the exchange rates, interest rates, highlights with statistical articles, and visual graphics. This site also allows direct access to the complete database, information on data, glossary, methodology, and links for future information.
FXConverter: 164 Currency Converter Daily 1990- This gives daily exchange rates (high, medium, and low) for 164 currencies.
Forex exchanges allow for 24/7 trading in currency pairs, making it the world's largest and most liquid asset market.