Welcome
International finance is the branch of financial economics broadly concerned with monetary and macroeconomic interrelations between two or more countries. International finance examines the dynamics of the global financial system, international monetary systems, balance of payments, exchange rates, foreign direct investment, and how these topics relate to international trade. This guide will help you to navigate some of the resources available in the Business Center of New York Public Library.
Books
- A Concise History of International Finance byPublication Date: 2015Ever since the financial crisis of 2008, doubts have been raised about the future of capitalism. In this broad-ranging survey of financial capitalism from antiquity to the present, Larry Neal reveals the ways in which the financial innovations throughout history have increased trade and prosperity as well as improving standards of living. These innovations have, however, all too often led to financial crises as a result of the failure of effective coordination among banks, capital markets and governments. The book examines this key interrelationship between financial innovation, government regulation and financial crises across three thousand years, showing through past successes and failures the key factors that underpin any successful recovery and sustain economic growth. The result is both an essential introduction to financial capitalism and also a series of workable solutions that will help both to preserve the gains we have already achieved and to mitigate the dangers of future crises.
Websites
Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) - Regulates the commodity futures and options markets. The CFTC participates in a wide range of international initiatives and contributes to a number of international publications.
MarketWatch is a leading innovator in business news, personal finance information, real-time commentary, and investment tools and data, with dedicated journalists generating hundreds of headlines, stories, videos and market briefs a day from 10 bureaus in the U.S., Europe, and Asia.
Kiplinger is one of the top investing insights providers. The website features a wide range of topics from the world of finance.
Databases
- Cambridge Core
Access to the full text of over 500 books published by Cambridge University Press and covering the humanities, social and natural sciences, medicine, and English language teaching. Please note: NYPL has access to content published beginning in 2015. All other titles provide access to tables of contents and indices only. Formerly known as Cambridge Books Online (CBO). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Emerging Markets - Internet Securities
Full-text articles, news, company, industry and market information for emerging market countries around the world. Attention remote NYPL cardholders: Once you type in your library card and pin number, please click on CLIENT LOG IN on the top right portion of the screen, then select New York Public Library to fully access EMIS Intelligence. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Gale eBooksThrough Gale Virtual Reference Database
Investments & International Finance
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies
Worldmark Global Business and Economics issues
Cities of the World - EconLit with Full Text
This database covers international literature on economics. It includes more than 700 full-text journals; 15 full-text books, including "The Handbook of World Trade"; and complete indexing. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- BloombergEconomic data releases by country, international securities prices, worldwide currency prices, and more.
- Factiva
Includes content from more than 20,000 news sources, including newspapers, TV transcripts, newswires, and business magazines.
**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.** - EconLit with Full Text
This database covers international literature on economics. It includes more than 700 full-text journals; 15 full-text books, including "The Handbook of World Trade"; and complete indexing. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Reference Librarians
Fifth Floor
Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library
455 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10016