Boundaries, Districts, and Zones in New York City: About

New York City has a large number of internal boundaries that create districts and zones. Based on the type of boundary that has been created, these districts and zones either:

• Are subject to specific policies or regulations, or
• Share the same municipal services, or
• Share similar characteristics (most prominent for environmental and health concerns).

When researching about boundaries, districts, and zones in New York City, some questions you might be asking yourself include: 

• How can I geographically visualize these districts, zones, and boundaries?
• What are some characteristics of these districts, zones, and boundaries?
• Have these districts, zones, and boundaries changed over time?

This guide is designed to help you answer these questions as they pertain to boundaries and districts that are present in New York City. In this guide, you will learn how to:

• Utilize NYPL's catalogs to locate maps related to specific districts and boundaries.
• Locate supplementary resources to provide context for these maps.
• Utilize digital resources from NYPL and other reputable institutions.

Please use the above tabs to learn more about the different types of boundaries and districts that can be found in New York City, how to find maps that showcase these specific boundaries in NYPL's catalogs, and examples of these maps from NYPL's Map Division.

Image Source: Borough of Manhattan: 23rd Assembly District and 24th & 25th Aldermanic District. 1904. NYPL Digital Collections Image ID 5073576

The recommended items in this research guide are only a selection of the vast amount of materials we have at NYPL. Make sure to utilize the catalog tips listed on each page to ensure that you are searching our entire collection. 

When a selection of material is presented, please note that each boundary type that is mentioned in this research guide is arranged in chronological order by publication date. 

Under each title are bullet points. These bullet points will include, in the following order:

• A call number. Certain items might have more than one call number- if so, additional call numbers will be listed.
• If any information might prove useful to understanding the context of the item, that information will be listed as an additional bullet point. 
• If the item is available digitally, the associated link will be included as an additional bullet point.

If you have any questions about our collection or inquiries related to your research, please email us at maps@nypl.org

You can request either a virtual or in-person consultation with our reference staff to talk about your research and formulate next steps. 

For requesting materials to view in-person at the Map Division's reading room, please review Requesting Maps to View at the Map Division's Reading Room.

Apply for a NYPL Library Card by clicking here.

With your card, you can:

• Request materials to view in-person at a NYPL Research Center.
• Use NYPL's online databases.

Please note that you do not need to live in New York City to receive a card. Click here to learn more about NYPL Library Card policies and eligibility.

For researchers with print disabilities, the Library has resources and services available upon request. The following services are available:

Digitization of Select Research Materials

Researchers who are homebound or have a print disability or visual impairment can explore many of our research collections online and request digitization of specific items of interest. To request the digitization service, email accessibility@nypl.org. Please note that you must be a patron of the Andrew Heiskell Library. This digitization service only includes material belonging to the research collections and does not apply to branch/circulating collections. 

Screen Readers and Enlargers 

Every public PC at all New York Public Library locations is equipped with JAWS screen reading software and MAGic software for enlarging the screen, changing colors and contrast, and screenreading. 

Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library

The Andrew Heiskell Library offers popular reading materials in accessible audio and braille formats, as well as free membership to the Bookshare database of over one million accessible texts. It also offers individual coaching and a large variety of group workshops on topics related to accessible technology. Check the listings on our website, call 212-206-5400, or email talkingbooks@nypl.org for details. It also hosts many networking groups, resource fairs, writing workshops, accessible art workshops, book clubs, and other events. All are listed in the quarterly newsletter, available by email, website (text or audio), or over the phone.