Skip to Main Content

Boundaries, Districts, and Zones in New York City: Census Boundaries

This guide covers how to find cartographic materials related to the internal boundaries, districts, and zones of New York City.

Census Boundaries

Many types of research topics - such as genealogy, demographic studies, city planning, policy analysis, and urban planning - will require you to decipher or locate historical census boundaries that are referred to on census records. These boundaries include wards, assembly districts, election districts, or enumeration districts.

When using maps to get a better understanding of these referred boundaries on census records, some questions you can answer include:

  • Where was this person living, in the context of New York City and their neighborhood?
  • How was the city separated into various districts, and why? Does it change over time?
  • What does the census data tell us about a specific neighborhood? 

Before we can find maps that answer these types of questions, please see below for a brief explanation of the census numbering system(s).  

Quick Links to Each Section on Page:

Defining ED, AD/ED, and Wards in the Context of the Census | Wards | Election Districts | Enumeration Districts | Assembly Districts

Defining ED, AD/ED, and Wards in the Context of the Census

ED in the Photograph of a Census taker Federal Census:

You will be interested in an ED number, which is also also known as an Enumeration District. According to the National Archives, an enumeration district "was an area that an enumerator (census taker) could completely cover within two weeks in cities and within four weeks in rural areas."

On these census records, the ward that was covered is also denoted. 

AD & ED in the NYS Census:

The New York State census utilized an AD/ED pair. In these cases:

  • AD = Assembly District 
    • Assembly Districts are further subdivided into Election Districts.
  • ED = Election District
    • Not to be confused with the federal census' ED (Enumeration District).

These AD/ED pairs are the equivalent of the federal census' enumeration districts.

These pairs were used for: 

  • 1890 Police Census
  • 1892 New York State Census (the AD number in this AD/ED pair refers to Ward) 
  • 1905 New York State Censuses
  • 1915 New York State Censuses
  • 1925 State Censuses

Please see below for ways to find enumeration district maps, assembly district maps, ward maps, and election district maps.

And, if you are interested in seeing how data collected from the census is incorporated into maps today, check out the following United States Census Bureau pages:

Lastly, if you are interested in conducting census-related research, we do recommend contacting the Irma and Paul Milstein Division of United States History, Local History and Genealogy at history@nypl.org for any questions you might have. 

 

Source: Stephen Morses' Obtaining AD/ED for the 1890-1925 New York State Census in One Step: Frequently Asked Questions.  

Image Source: Occupations - Census takers. 1930. NYPL Digital Collections Image ID 732277F

Wards

When using the Online Research Catalog:

In some insurance atlases, the index plate and/or plates will indicate the locations of ward and ward boundaries. For example, when looking at Atlas of the borough of Brooklyn, City of New York : the first twenty eight wards complete in four volumes from 1903-1909:

  • In the key of the Index Plate that the ward numbers are indicated in each plate by triangles and red lines for each ward's boundaries.
  • Using Plate 1 as an example, you can see (based on the plate's title) that Wards 1, 2, & 4 are represented on this plate. In turn, you can see the triangles and red lines that depict the ward numbers and boundaries on this plate. 

To learn more on how to search for these types of insurances atlases, please go to the Insurance Atlases: Blocks, Lots, and Property Boundaries section of Buildings page.

Brooklyn Sanborn Ward ExampleImage Source: Atlas of the borough of Brooklyn, City of New York : the first twenty eight wards complete in four volumes.1903-1909. NYPL Digital Collections Image ID 1695478 and 1695479

To find supplementary books and documents related to wards, please conduct the searches listed on this page's "Catalog Tips" with "Cartographic" NOT checkmarked  in our Online Research Catalog. From these results, you can also checkmark any of the other listed formats. See below for a list of recommended materials when "Text" is checkmarked:

Election Districts

When using the Online Research Catalog:

For maps of current election districts in New York City, please refer to the following resources:

  • Maps on the Maps & Geography page of NYC's Planning Website:
    • Can be used to determine which district number is relevant to your region of interest, in relation to State Assembly, City Council, and State Senate.
  • "Current NYC District Maps" on the Board of Elections in the City of New York. 
    • Maps are organized by borough and then by election type/district number.
    • Please note that "New York City" is referring to districts in Manhattan.
    • Said maps also include locations of polls.

Mid-Manhattan from New York City voting places, 1855

Image Source: Map from New York City voting places, 1855 / Gertrude A. Barber. [1855?] Map Div.+ (New York City. 1855) (New York City voting places, 1855)

To find supplementary books and documents related to election districts, please conduct the searches listed on this page's "Catalog Tips" with "Cartographic" NOT checkmarked  in our Online Research Catalog. From these results, you can also checkmark any of the other listed formats. See below for a list of recommended materials when "Text" is checkmarked:

 

Enumeration Districts

When using the Online Research Catalog:

  • In the Advanced Search function, checkmark "Cartographic" under Format.
  • We recommend the following keyword searches:

Additional resources that have digitized enumeration district maps can be found at the National Archives' collection Enumeration District and Related Maps, 1880–1990: 

  • To see the records, click "Search Within Set"
  • You can type in the region of interest in the search bar.
  • On the results page, using the filter panel on the left, you can choose:
    • to see all the records, including those that have not been digitized.
    • only include the records that have been digitized.

1900 census enumeration districts, Manhattan and Bronx

Image Source: Excerpt from [Map of 1900 census enumeration districts for Manhattan and the Bronx / prepared by Barbara Hillman]. NYPL Digital Collections Image ID 56738463

To find supplementary books and documents related to enumeration districts, please conduct the searches listed on this page's "Catalog Tips" with "Cartographic" NOT checkmarked  in our Online Research Catalog. From these results, you can also checkmark any of the other listed formats. See below for a list of recommended materials when "Text" is checkmarked:

https://www.archives.gov/research/census/1950/ed-maps 

NYPL also has a variety of census tract maps. To find these maps, when using the Online Research Catalog:

To find supplementary documents and materials, please perform the above search with "Cartographic" NOT checkmarked.

Please see below for selections from both of these searches related to census tracts:

 

Assembly Districts

Map of the county of Kings, showing the Assembly districts, October 1869When using the Online Research Catalog:

For maps of current assembly districts in New York City, please refer to the following resources:

Image Source: Map of the county of Kings, showing the Assembly districts, October 1869. [1869]. NYPL Digital Collections Image ID 4056204

 

To find supplementary books and documents related to assembly districts, please conduct the searches listed on this page's "Catalog Tips" with "Cartographic" NOT checkmarked  in our Online Research Catalog. From these results, you can also checkmark any of the other listed formats. See below for a list of recommended materials when "Text" is checkmarked: