Boundaries, Districts, and Zones in New York City: Political Districts

• New York City voting places, 1855 / Gertrude A. Barber. [1855?]
  • Map Div.+ (New York City. 1855) (New York City voting places, 1855)
• Maps of wards and district divisions of the City and County of new York : showing election districts. 1867
  • Map Div. (New York County, New York. 1867) (New York (County). Supervisors Board. Maps of wards and district divisions)
• Election maps of the City of New York. [1878?]
  • Map Div.+++ (New York City. 1878) (Election maps of the City of New York)
• Map of 20th ward of the City of Brooklyn, showing election districts for 1897. [1897]
  • Map Div. 22-1726

To find supplementary books and documents related to election districts, please conduct the searches listed on this page's "Catalog Tips" with "Cartographic" NOT checkmarked  in our Online Research Catalog. From these results, you can also checkmark any of the other listed formats. See below for a list of recommended materials when "Text" is checkmarked:

• Amended ordinance. Re-districting the city into election districts, with the election districts embraced within the seventeen aldermanic districts respectively. 1859
  • IRGN p.v. 23 no. 1-6
• List of inspectors of election[s] and district canvassers, of the City of New York, elected November 8th, 1859. 1859
  • IRGN p.v. 14 no. 1-21
• Elections, 1865, 1866, 1867. Official canvasses in detail, of all elections held in the city and county of New York, with state canvasses. Also, ward and district maps of the city and county of New York, as existing December 31, 1867. 1868
  • SEF (New York (county). County Canvassers Board. Elections) 1865-67
• Registry of voters in the city of New York, by wards, assembly and election districts ... [1874]
  • IRGN (Davenport, J. I. Registry of voters in the city)
• The urban electorate : behavior of selected New York City election districts, 1968-1974 / Marcus Dale Pohlmann. 1976
  • LD1237.5D 1976 .P535 or FC76- 30,164
  • Courtesy of Columbia University Libraries

• Census of the State of New York, 1855 : showing the new senatorial & assembly districts 1857. [1857]
  • Map Div. 16-5758
  • Available online via NYPL Digital Collections: Click here to access
• Map of the county of Kings, showing the Assembly districts, October 1869. [1869]
  • Map Div. 14-1369
  • Available online via NYPL Digital Collections: Click here to access
• Assembly districts: [N.Y State]. [1882]
  • Map Div. 16-5802
  • Gives the number of citizens, aliens and total vote (at the last general election) of each districts.
  • Available online via NYPL Digital Collections: Click here to access
• [Maps showing the Assembly districts of the City of New York. 1915].
  • SEH+ (New York City. Elections Board. [Maps showing the assembly districts of the City of New York] 1915)
• [Maps showing the assembly districts of New York City.] 1917
  • SEH+ (New York City. Elections Board. [Maps showing the Assembly districts of New York City.] 1917
• New York State 1992 Assembly districts. 1992
  • Map Div. 22-1267
• [Maps showing the Assembly districts of New York City].
  • SEH+++ (New York City. Elections Board. [Maps showing the Assembly districts of New York City])
  • Spans from 1913 - 2004

To find supplementary books and documents related to assembly districts, please conduct the searches listed on this page's "Catalog Tips" with "Cartographic" NOT checkmarked  in our Online Research Catalog. From these results, you can also checkmark any of the other listed formats. See below for a list of recommended materials when "Text" is checkmarked:

• Registry of voters in the city of New York, by wards, assembly and election districts ... [1874]
  • IRGN (Davenport, J. I. Registry of voters in the city)
• First sociological canvass : fifteenth assembly district / [supervised and tabulated by Walter Laidlaw].  [1896 or 1897]
  • NYGB N.Y. L M314.55 F44
• Reapportionment of 1906. (New York City, Nassau and Suffolk Counties) with senate and assembly district maps and boundaries. 1906
  • IRGN+ p.v. 28 No. 1-5
• Listing of Protestant and Orthodox congregations by assembly district for New York City [by] Leland E. Gartrell. 1968
  • IRI 73-2807
• Annual report / New York State Assembly Committee on Local Governments. 
  • JLM 81-356 
  • Spans 1980-2008
  • Note: 2000 edition is linked to the digitized version

• Census of the State of New York, 1855 : showing the new senatorial & assembly districts 1857. [1857]
  • Map Div. 16-5758
  • Notes:  Also shows county and town boundaries.
  • Insets: Schenectady -- Albany -- Utica -- Rochester -- City of Auburn -- City & County of New York.
  • Available online via NYPL Digital Collections: Click here to access
• Senatorial districts : [N.Y State]. [1882?]
  • Map Div. 16-5801
  • Available online via NYPL Digital Collections: Click here to access
• [New York City Senate districts]. [1884]
  • Map Div. 19-309
  • Contents: Portion of the 5th Senate district lying within the City of New York -- 6th Senate district -- 7th Senate district -- 8th Senate district -- 9th Senate district -- 10th Senate district -- Southern portion of 11th Senate district, Northern portion of 11th Senate district
• [Wards, Assembly and Senatorial districts of New York City]. [1885]
  • Map Div. 19-310
  • Contents: 4th Senatorial district -- 6th Senatorial district -- 5th Senatorial district -- 7th Senatorial district -- 8th Senatorial district -- Fifteenth Assembly district -- Fourteenth Assembly district -- Sixteenth Assembly dsitrict -- Seventeenth Assembly district -- Twentieth Assembly district --Twenty first Assembly district -- 24th ward -- 23rd ward.
• New York County 1992 Senate districts / graphics produced by The New York State Legislative Task Force on Demographic Research and Reapportionment ; digital map acquired from the Bureau of the Census, Tiger Line File. [1992]
  • Map Div. 94-9298
• 2002 atlas of New York State Congressional and legislative districts : State Senate and State Assembly / produced by the New York State Legislative Task Force on Demographic Research and Reapportionment. [2004]
  • Map Div.+ 05-1599

To find supplementary books and documents related to senatorial districts, please conduct the searches listed on this page's "Catalog Tips" with "Cartographic" NOT checkmarked  in our Online Research Catalog. From these results, you can also checkmark any of the other listed formats. See below for a list of recommended materials:

• Reapportionment of 1906. (New York City, Nassau and Suffolk Counties) with senate and assembly district maps and boundaries. 1906
  • IRGN+ p.v. 28 No. 1-5
• In the matter of Senate bill (int. no. 9; print no. 2067), in relation to the "west side trackage" situation and the proposed contract between the city of New York and the New York Central Railroad Company [microform] Memorandum submitted to the governor by the Public Service commission for the First District. [1917]
  • *ZV TPG p.v. 365-370 r. 112
• A Tale of five cities : a report of the New York State Senate Standing Committee on Cities and City of New York. 1978
  • HT123.5.N4 T35x
  • Courtesy of Harvard Library
• Interview with State Senator Israel Ruiz / interview conducted by Tony Batten. 1989
  • Sc Visual DVD-2125
  • Note: As part of a series of interviews with members of the New York State Assembly's Black and Puerto Rican caucus, Tony Batten interviews State Senator Israel Ruiz, who represents the 32nd Senatorial District in Bronx, New York.
• Latinos and the redistricting process in New York City : an assessment and profiles of the new Latino Assembly, State Senate and Congressional District / Christopher Hanson and Angelo Falcón. 1992
  • JK3468 .H36 1992g
  • Courtesy of Columbia University Libraries

• Map of the city of New York : the imperial city of the new world, embracing the entire city limits, based upon official surveys. 1898
  • Map Div. 15-766 
  • Note: Shows wards, council district boundary lines, trolley lines, elevated railroad stations, railroads, fresh meadows and swamps, tide marsh, and light houses.
  • Available online via NYPL Digital Collections: Click here to access
• Map of the boroughs of Manhattan and the Bronx, City of New York. 1899
  • Map Div. 08-1243
  • Note: Shows ward and council district boundaries and local transit routes.
• Map of the borough of Brooklyn, 1902. 1902
  • Map Div. 22-2805
  • Available online via NYPL Digital Collections: Click here to access
• Final plan, [month or date], 1991, New York City Districting Commission. [1991]
  • Map Div. 97-708
  • Note: Maps of New York City Council districts by borough for July 1991 and by district for June 3 or July 1991.
• Community gardens : [New York City, by name of borough and City Council district no.] / map by CMAP, NYPIRG's Community Mapping Assistance Project. [2001]
  • Map Div.+ 03-426
  • Note: Each City Council district covered on a single map ; "A project of: Council on the Environment of New York City."

• New York City Council Website
  • On this website, you can find information on your specific district, the city budget, the various committees that make up the council, land use-related information, and a portal related to search legislations.

• Map of City of New York : 1844. 1844
  • Map Div. 19-265
  • Note: Shows wards, fire districts, congressional districts, watch districts, and fire limits south of 42nd St.
  • Insets: The congressional districts of the city of N. York -- Part of New York from 40th St. to Harlem, shewing the location of the reservoirs and line of aqueduct.
• [4 plans of the City of New York showing the Wards of (1) Senate Districts, (2) Congressional Districts, (3) School Districts, and (4) Justices Districts.] August, 1869. 1869
  • Map Div. 14-1503
  • Available online via NYPL Digital Collections: Click here to access
• New map of the city of New York. 1850
  • Map Div. 00-343
  • Note: Shows ward and fire district boundaries, and ferry routes; covers Manhattan up to 52nd St.; includes tables of the assembly, senatorial and congressional election districts, information about fire alarms, and directory to places of interest.
  • Available online via NYPL Digital Collections: Click here to access
• Congressional districts in New York City. [1941]
  • Map Div. 21-235
  • Note: Includes list of senators and representatives.
• The historical atlas of United States Congressional districts, 1789-1983 / author and editor, Kenneth C. Martis ; cartographer and assistant editor, Ruth Anderson Rowles ; compilation draftsmen, David Durham, Brian Raber, Thomas Kokernak ; research assistants, Rowland Dent [and others]. ©1982 
  • Map Div.++ 83-161

To find supplementary books and documents related to congressional districts, please conduct the searches listed on this page's "Catalog Tips" with "Cartographic" NOT checkmarked  in our Online Research Catalog. From these results, you can also checkmark any of the other listed formats. See below for a list of recommended materials:

• Enrollment list [eighth congressional district New York] 18, 20, 21 wards ... [New York City] [186-?]
  • IKF+ (New York) (United States. Office of the Provost Marshal General. Enrollment list [eighth congressional district New York], 18, 20, 21 wards)
• Enrollment of the 7th. congressional district, embracing the 11th. and 17th. wards, of the city of New York. First and second class. [1863]
  • IKF (New York) (United States. Provost Marshal General's Office. Enrollment of the 7th. congressional district)
• The historical atlas of United States Congressional districts, 1789-1983 / author and editor, Kenneth C. Martis ; cartographer and assistant editor, Ruth Anderson Rowles ; [compilation draftsmen, David Durham, Brian Raber, Thomas Kokernak ; research assistants, Rowland Dent ... et al.]. c1982
  • G1201.F9M3 1982f
• The People in New York City congressional districts : 1980 census highlights. [1983]
  • HB3507 .P46 1983g
  • Courtesy of Columbia University Libraries
• Latinos and the redistricting process in New York City : an assessment and profiles of the new Latino Assembly, State Senate and Congressional District / Christopher Hanson and Angelo Falcón. 1992
  • JK3468 .H36 1992g

• Queens community districts / the New York Department of City Planning. 1977
  • Map Div. 90-5136
  • Note: Text describing community district boundaries on verso.
• Poverty areas of New York City : distribution of public assistance recipients by census tracts. 1980
  • Map Div. 22-1745
  • Note: Includes Community District boundaries.
• 1991 atlas of city property : maps of property that is owned & leased by the city of New York / Department of City Planning, Department of General Services.
  • Map Div. 91-3010 
  • Note: Each map includes "Listing of property with a current use (excluding residential)" and "Documentation;" Title sheet includes "Cross reference of community districts to maps" and 22 outline maps showing community districts covered by each map.
• New York, a city of neighborhoods / Department of City Planning, City of New York. [1994], ©1994.
  • Map Div. 96-6682
  • Notes: Shows neighborhood names and community districts; Includes city seal, text, and geographic, demographic and economic statistics for New York.
• New York City community districts / New York City Department of City Planning. [1985-1995]
  • Map Div. 97-7239
  • Note: Text describing community district boundaries on verso of separate borough maps.

To find supplementary books and documents related to community board districts, please conduct the following keyword search in our Online Research Catalog. Do NOT checkmark "Cartographic" for these searches - from these results, you can also checkmark any of the other listed formats.:

• New York City AND "Community Board"
• New York City AND "Community District"

See below for a list of recommended materials:

• Guides for community boards / Department of City Planning [and] Office of Management and Budget [and] Office of Service Coordination. [1977]
  • AA9127 N4L1 N486511
  • Courtesy of Columbia University Libraries
• Selected characteristics of public assistance recipients in New York City by community district.
  • Notes: Covers from 1977-1983
• Directory of community boards in New York City / prepared by Office of the Mayor, Community Assistance Unit. 1984
  • AA9127 N4G5 D621
  • Courtesy of Columbia University Libraries
• New York City address directory for community district, census tract, census block / City of New York, Department of City Planning. 1985
  • JBF 95-1024 
• New York City community district vital statistics data book, 1987 / city of New York, Dept. of Health, Bureau of Health Statistics and Analysis. [1987]
  • JBF 96-1188
  • Notes: Also includes some maps alongside tables. 
• Hospitals and ambulatory programs in New York City by community district. 1992
  • JFM 95-397

• Map of the borough of Brooklyn, City of New York : [showing assembly, aldermanic, and municipal court districts]. [1917]
  • Map Div. 22-2832
  • Available online via NYPL Digital Collections: Click here to access
• The Rand McNally map of the borough of Manhattan : [8 copies with superimposed lines showing the boundaries of various city divisions]. [1917]
  • Map Div. 22-1829
  • Contents: [Advisory commissions] -- [Congressional districts] -- [Fire districts] -- [Judicial districts] -- [Aldermanic districts] -- [Health districts] -- [Police districts] -- [Assembly districts]
  • Available online via NYPL Digital Collections: Click here to access
• Map of the borough of Manhattan. [1918]
  • Map Div. 22-1787
  • Note: Shows assembly, aldermanic, and municipal court districts.
• State of New York : political and judicial divisions. [1937]
  • Map Div.+++ (New York State Atlases) (Muirhead, J. H. H. State of New York: political and judicial divisions)
  • Found via the following keyword search, with "Cartographic" NOT checkmarked: "judicial divisions" AND "New York"

To find supplementary books and documents related to municipal courts, please conduct the searches listed on this page's "Catalog Tips" with "Cartographic" NOT checkmarked  in our Online Research Catalog. From these results, you can also checkmark any of the other listed formats. See below for a list of recommended materials:

• The law and practice of the Municipal Court of the City of New York under "The Greater New York charter," with the boundaries of boroughs, districts and wards. Also the law relating to city marshalls; latest amendments of statutes and decisions affecting this court. With forms and exhaustive index. By Langbein Bros. ... George F. Langbein. J.C. Julius Langbein. 1899
  • XMZ (Langbein, G. F. Law and practice of the district courts in the city of New York)
  • Available online via HathiTrust: Click here to access
• The law and practice of the municipal court of the city of New York under "the Greater New York charter," with the boundaries of boroughs, districts and wards. Also the law relating to city marshalls; latest amendments of statutes and decisions affecting this court. With forms and exhaustive index. By Langbein bros. ... George F. Langbein. J. C. Langbein. 1902
  • XMZ (Langbein, G. F. Law and practice of the Municipal court of the city of New York. 1902)
  • Available online via HathiTrust: Click here to access
• Parsons' practice manual of the state of New York, containing the Civil Practice Act and Surrogate's Court Act, with sections annotated with notes showing derivation thereof, with reference notes, and cases construing and applying such sections, containing also tables showing distribution of sections of the Code of civil procedure; the Justice Court Act; Court of Claims Act; New York City Municipal Court code; New York City Court Act; sections transferred from Code of civil procedure to the Consolidated laws; Arbitration Law; Condemnation Law; General Construction Law; rent laws; rules of the Court of Appeals; rules of civil practice; rules of the appellate division, all departments; special rules of the Supreme Court, first judicial district; rules of the City Court of the city of New York; rules of the Municipal Court of the city of New York; and rules of the appellate terms, first and second departments, as amended to the end of the legislative session of 1922, by Frank B. Gilbert ... Austin B. Griffin ... and John T. Fitzpatrick ... with complete indexes prepared by Alden I. Rosbrook. 1922
  • KFN5995 .N499 1922
  • Courtesy of Princeton University Library
• Goldstein's guide to civil, district, and city court procedure : Civil Court, New York City; District Courts, Nassau and Suffolk Counties; city and municipal courts, New York State. 1967
  • US 991NY GOL
  • Courtesy of Harvard Library
• James S. Watson papers, 1913-1991 (bulk 1913-1952).
  • Sc MG 464 
  • Finding aid available online: Click here to access
  • Note: "In 1930, Watson successfully campaigned for Municipal Court judge in 1930 and along with running mate Charles E. Toney became one of the first two justices of African descent elected to judicial office in New York City. In this capacity, Watson became the first justice of African descent in Brooklyn to sit in judgment over white litigants. Several of the decisions Watson made in Municipal Court have made history in the annals of law, chief among them his 1934 ruling in Perry v. Norddeutscher Llyod (North German Llyod Steamship). Securing re-election by majority vote in 1940, Watson resigned his position in the Municipal Court ten years later to accept the presidency of the Municipal Civil Service Commission."