Highlights
April is National Decorating Month and National Garden Month
April is National Decorating Month and National Garden Month. This month's list includes books, e-audiobooks, e-books, and databases that will provide new interior design ideas to decorate your home with style. You will also learn tips to grow vegetables, fruits, and herbs year-round and become an excellent gardener. Lastly, you will find library resources that will help you with the process of starting and running a home-based interior design business and a gardening/landscaping business.
Use the LinkedIn Learning - Lynda database to view video courses about running a design business and learn LinkedIn for designers. You can also use it to view video courses about starting and running a small business, an online business, marketing your small business, and many more. It is accessible remotely with your NYPL card and PIN.
Use the Gale Virtual Reference Library database to view samples of business plans for interior design/home decor and gardening/landscaping businesses. It includes the Business Plans Handbook Series: A Compilation of Actual Business Plans Developed By Small Businesses Throughout North America. It is accessible remotely with your NYPL card and PIN.
Business Plans Handbook Series: A Compilation of Actual Business Plans Developed By Small Businesses Throughout North America
Books about Interior Design and Home Decor
The New Design Rules: How to Decorate and Renovate, from Start to Finish: An Interior Design Book by Call Number: Book on order, place it on Hold, and you will get it when it is available.ISBN: 9781984826480Publication Date: 2022-05-10
Universal Principles of Interior Design: 100 Ways to Develop Innovative Ideas, Enhance Usability, and Design Effective Solutions by Call Number: 727 GISBN: 9780760372128Publication Date: 2022-01-25
150 Best New Interior Design Ideas by Call Number: 747 AISBN: 9780062995162Publication Date: 2021-05-04
The Interior Design Handbook: Furnish, Decorate, and Style Your Space by Call Number: 747.7 RISBN: 9780593139318Publication Date: 2020-10-27
Mad about the House: 101 Interior Design Answers by Call Number: 747 WISBN: 9781911624929Publication Date: 2020-03-03
Home Chic: Decorating with Style by Call Number: 747 MISBN: 9782080203298Publication Date: 2017-09-12
Permaculture: A Student's Guide to the Theory and Practice of Ecovillage Design by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781782501862Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Books for Starting an Interior Design Business
How to Start a Home- Based Interior Design Business by Call Number: SASB - Service Desk Rm 315 *R-SIBL NK2116.2 .D48 2015ISBN: 9781493007684Publication Date: 2015-05-15
The Interior Design Business Handbook: A Complete Guide to Profitability (5th Edition) by Call Number: Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library - Adult Ready Reference (729.068 K)ISBN: 9781118139875Publication Date: 2012-09-11
The Interior Design Business Handbook: A Complete Guide to Profitability (4th Edition) by Call Number: 747.068 KISBN: 9780471696988Publication Date: 2006-02-03
The Business of Design: Balancing Creativity and Profitability by Call Number: 745.2068 GISBN: 9781616890186Publication Date: 2011-08-24
Business of Design: Balancing Creativity and Profitability by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781616891275Publication Date: 2012-06-19
Start Your Own Graphic Design Business by Call Number: BIZ 741.6068 E Small Business CentralISBN: 9781599181639Publication Date: 2008-05-01
The Graphic Design Business Book by Call Number: 741.6068 CISBN: 9781581154306Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Starting Your Career As an Interior Designer by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781581157253Publication Date: 2010-02-23
Books about Gardening
Plant Style: How to Greenify Your Space by Call Number: 747.98 LISBN: 9780500501030Publication Date: 2018-05-15
No-Dig Gardening: Raised Beds, Layered Gardens, and Other No-Till Techniques by Call Number: 631.5814 LISBN: 9781510769045Publication Date: 2022-03-15
The Rooted Life: Cultivating Health and Wholeness Through Growing Your Own Food by Call Number: 631.58 RISBN: 9781546012597Publication Date: 2022-03-01
A Greener Life: Discover the Joy of Mindful and Sustainable Gardening by Call Number: 635.0484 WISBN: 9780857828934Publication Date: 2022-03-08
Four-Season Food Gardening: How to Grow Vegetables, Fruits, and Herbs Year-round by Call Number: 635 DISBN: 9780760372739Publication Date: 2022-03-15
Gardening for Everyone: Growing Vegetables, Herbs, and More at Home by Call Number: 635 WISBN: 9780358651901Publication Date: 2022-03-08
Gardening Hacks: 300+ Time and Money Saving Hacks by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781507215821Publication Date: 2021-04-06
Grow Bag Gardening: The Revolutionary Way to Grow Bountiful Vegetables, Herbs, Fruits, and Flowers in Lightweight, Eco-friendly Fabric Pots--Perfect For: Porches, Patios, Decks, Urban Gardens, Balconies & Rooftops. Grow Anywhere! by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780760368695Publication Date: 2021
How to Grow Your Own Food: An Illustrated Beginner's Guide to Container Gardening by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781507215739Publication Date: 2021-05-25
Books for Starting a Gardening/Landscape Business
The Market Gardener: A Successful Grower's Handbook for Small-Scale Organic Farming by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781550925555Publication Date: 2014-03-01
The Urban Farmer: Growing Food for Profit on Leased and Borrowed Land by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781550926019Publication Date: 2015-12-01
Growing Christmas Trees: Select the Right Species, Raise the Best Trees, Market for the Holidays by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781612123660Publication Date: 2015-02-27
So You Want to Be a Garden Designer by Call Number: Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library - Career Services JOBS 712.023 HISBN: 9780881929041Publication Date: 2010-03-25
A Landowner's Guide to Managing Your Woods: How to Maintain a Small Acreage for Long-Term Health, Biodiversity, and High-Quality Timber Production by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781603427302Publication Date: 2011-09-01
The Garden of Invention: Luther Burbank and the Business of Breeding Plants by Call Number: 631.52 SISBN: 9780143116899Publication Date: 2010-02-23
Start Your Own Lawn Care or Landscaping Business by Call Number: oseloff Business Center Reference (*R-SIBL SB433.27 .L56 2016 Small Business Central)ISBN: 9781599185927Publication Date: 2016-08-23
Green Careers in Building and Landscaping by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780768930610Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Book Formats & Availability
If the book has a Call Number such as 158.8 H, it means that it is a circulating (print) copy, and you can borrow it.
If the book has a Call Number such as B OBAMA O, it means that it is a circulating (print) copy of a biography, and you can borrow it.
If the book has a Call Number, such as Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library - Yoseloff Business Center Reference *R-SIBL TX911.3.M3 G63 2014 Small Business Central. In that case, it is a book to be used in the library only and not available to be checked out.
If the book has a Call Number as an E-Audiobook, you can borrow it digitally with your library card and PIN.
If the book has a Call Number as an E-Book, you can borrow it digitally with your library card and PIN.