Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Thomas Yoseloff Business Center - Monthly Reading List: May 2022

Monthly reading list of business, entrepreneurship, and leadership books.

Highlights

National Small Business Week #SmallBusinessWeek (May 3 - May 9)

May celebrates National Small Business Week #SmallBusinessWeek (May 3 - May 9), National Barbecue Month, and National Salad Month. This month's list includes books, e-audiobooks, e-books, and databases to help you start a Small Business. You will also find databases that you can access remotely with your NYPL card and PIN to conduct industry and market research about barbecue dressings, salads, and salad dressings.

 

Use the Small Business Reference Center database to access industry information to start a small business and to view Small Business Startup ebooks published by NOLO. It is accessible remotely with your NYPL card and PIN.

Use the LinkedIn Learning - Lynda database to view video courses to start and run a small business, an online business, marketing your small business, etcIt is accessible remotely with your NYPL card and PIN.

 

The Become a Small Business Owner Learning Path includes various video courses to start your own business and get it right the first time. Learn everything you need to become a small business owner, from understanding the responsibilities of entrepreneurship to figuring out your future business's legal, financial, and operational aspects.

 

Business Plans Handbook Series: A Compilation of Actual Business Plans Developed By Small Businesses Throughout North America

 

Use the Gale Virtual Reference Library database to view samples of business plans for diners, restaurants, and salad chain businesses. It is accessible remotely with your NYPL card and PIN. It includes the Business Plans Handbook Series: A Compilation of Actual Business Plans Developed By Small Businesses Throughout North America.

Diner Business Plan sample citation:

"Diner." Business Plans Handbook, edited by Kristin B. Mallegg, vol. 34, Gale, 2015, pp. 33-40. Gale eBooks.

 

Use the Statista database to access statistics and market research information about barbecue and salad dressings. It is accessible remotely with your NYPL card and PIN.

 

 

Book a virtual consultation with the Thomas Yoseloff Business Center Librarians to request the Salad Dressing Production in the US - IBISWorld report. This database is for onsite use only at the Thomas Yoseloff Business Center.