LGBTQIA+ Pride Month
June celebrates LGBTQIA+ Pride Month. This month's reading list includes books, e-audiobooks, and e-books written by professionals and entrepreneurs from the LGBTQIA+ community. You will find books covering sexual orientation in the workplace, the "queering" of corporate America, LGBTQIA+ entrepreneurship, and industries such as finance, gaming, and weddings. You will find a video course from the LinkedIn Learning - Lynda database exposing LGBT issues in the workplace. Lastly, you will also find market/industry reports from the Statista database such as "Homosexuality in the US," "LGBTQ Worldwide," "LGBTQ Health in the US," and "LGBT homeownership in the United States" among others.
Highlights
Databases
Use the LinkedIn Learning - Lynda database to choose from thousands of online courses to learn in-demand skills from real-world industry experts. It is accessible remotely with your NYPL card and PIN.
Use the Statista database to access statistics and market research information about the LGBTQIA+ community. It is accessible remotely with your NYPL card and PIN.
Books, Eaudiobooks, & Ebooks
Lifehacker: 88 Tech Tricks to Turbocharge Your Day by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780470128398Publication Date: 2006-12-13
The Queering of Corporate America: How Big Business Went from LGBTQ Adversary to Ally by Call Number: 658.023 BISBN: 9780807026342Publication Date: 2019-11-12
Entrepreneurial Yo: Monetize Your Expertise, Create Multiple Income Streams, and Thriveu by Call Number: 650.1 CISBN: 9781633692275Publication Date: 2017-10-03
Seriously... I'm Kidding by Call Number: B DEGENERE DISBN: 9780446585026Publication Date: 2011-10-04
An Archive of Hope by Call Number: E-BOOK AVAILABLE FROM HOME WITH A VALID LIBRARY CARDISBN: 9780520275485Publication Date: 2013-02-15
Tim Cook: The Genius Who Took Apple to the Next Level by Call Number: B COOK KISBN: 9780525537601Publication Date: 2019-04-16
Women and Money (Revised and Updated) by Call Number: 332.024 OISBN: 9780812987614Publication Date: 2018-09-11
Zero to One: Notes on Startups, or How to Build the Future by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780804139298Publication Date: 2014-09-16
The G Quotient: Why Gay Executives Are Excelling as Leaders-- and What Every Manager Needs to Know by Call Number: Reference Book Available at SASB M2 - General Research Room 315 JBE 10-1550ISBN: 9780787982461Publication Date: 2006-06-05
Changing Corporate America from Inside Out: Lesbian and Gay Workplace Rights by Call Number: Reference Book Available OFFSITE -- Request in Advance JBE 05-589ISBN: 0816639981Publication Date: 2004-08-16
The Glass Closet: Why Coming Out Is Good Business by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780062316981Publication Date: 2014-06-17
Buying Gay: How Physique Entrepreneurs Sparked a Movement by Call Number: 306.7662 JISBN: 9780231189101Publication Date: 2019-03-12
Buying Gay: How Physique Entrepreneurs Sparked a Movement by Call Number: E-Book - AVAILABLE FROM HOME WITH LIBRARY CARDISBN: 9780231548175Publication Date: 2019-05-06
The Queer Games Avant-Garde: How LGBTQ Game Makers Are Reimagining the Medium of Video Games by Call Number: 794.8 RISBN: 9781478005919Publication Date: 2020-03-20
Queer Game Studies by Call Number: E-Book AVAILABLE FROM HOME WITH A LIBRARY CARDISBN: 9781517900373Publication Date: 2017-03-28
Modern Brides and Modern Grooms: A Guide to Planning Straight, Gay, and Other Nontraditional Twenty-First-Century Weddings by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781632200495Publication Date: 2014-11-18
It's about Damn Time: How to Turn Being Underestimated into Your Greatest Advantage by Call Number: 650.1 HISBN: 9780593136416Publication Date: 2020-05-05
It's About Damn Time: How to Turn Being Underestimated into Your Greatest Advantage by Call Number: E-AudiobookISBN: 9780593208250Publication Date: 2020
Did That Just Happen?!: Beyond “Diversity”―Creating Sustainable and Inclusive Organizations by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780807035894Publication Date: 2021
Books, Eaudiobooks, & Ebooks
The Queer Advantage: Conversations with LGBTQ+ Leaders on the Power of Identity by Call Number: 306.76 GISBN: 9780306874628Publication Date: 2020-10-13
The Queer Advantage: Conversations with LGBTQ+ Leaders on the Power of Identity by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780306874604Publication Date: 2020-10-13
The Queering of Corporate America: How Big Business Went from LGBTQ Adversary to Ally by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780807026359Publication Date: 2019- Entrepreneurial You: Monetize Your Expertise, Create Multiple Income Streams, and Thriveu by Call Number: E-AudiobookISBN: 9781633692275Publication Date: 2017-10-03
- An Archive of Hope by Call Number: Reference Book Available at SASB M2 - Milstein Division - Room 121ISBN: 9780520275485Publication Date: 2013-02-15
- Tim Cook: The Genius Who Took Apple to the Next Level by Call Number: E-Audiobook Available with Cloud LibraryISBN: 9780525537601Publication Date: 2019-04-16
- Zero to One: Notes on Startups, or How to Build the Future by Call Number: 658.11 TISBN: 9780804139298Publication Date: 2014-09-16
- Zero to One: Notes on Startups, or How to Build the Future by Call Number: E-AudiobookISBN: 9780804139298Publication Date: 2014-09-16
Business, Not Politics: The Making of the Gay Market by Call Number: Reference Book Available at OFFSITE - Request in Advance (JBE 05-365)ISBN: 0231127340Publication Date: 2005-01-05- Changing Corporate America from Inside Out: Lesbian and Gay Workplace Rights by Call Number: E-Book Available From Home With Library CardISBN: 0816639981Publication Date: 2004-08-16
Sexual Orientation at Work: Contemporary Issues and Perspectives by Call Number: Reference Book Available at SASB M2 - General Research Room 315 JBE 14-565ISBN: 9780415536493Publication Date: 2014-06-24- Buying Gay: How Physique Entrepreneurs Sparked a Movement by Call Number: E-Book - OverdriveISBN: 9780231548175Publication Date: 2019-05-06
4 Steps to Financial Security for Lesbian and Gay Couples Expert Advice for Reducing Your Tax Burden, Increasing Your Wealth, and Protecting Each Other by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780307776006Publication Date: 2010
Before I Do: A Legal Guide to Marriage, Gay and Otherwise by Call Number: 346.7301 SISBN: 9781620971543Publication Date: 2016-10-04
The New Gay Wedding: A Practical Primer for Brides and Grooms, Their Families and Guests by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780761169000Publication Date: 2011-08-26
It's About Damn Time: How to Turn Being Underestimated into Your Greatest Advantage by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780593136423Publication Date: 2020
2Brides2Be: A Same-Sex Guide for the Modern Bride by Call Number: 395.22 AISBN: 9781941729175Publication Date: 2017-04-04
Did That Just Happen?!: Beyond “Diversity”―Creating Sustainable and Inclusive Organizations by Call Number: E-AudiobookISBN: 9780807095065Publication Date: 2021
Book Formats & Availability
If the book has a Call Number such as 158.8 H, it means that it is a circulating (print) copy, and you can borrow it.
If the book has a Call Number such as B OBAMA O, it means that it is a circulating (print) copy of a biography, and you can borrow it.
If the book has a Call Number, such as Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library - Yoseloff Business Center Reference *R-SIBL TX911.3.M3 G63 2014 Small Business Central. In that case, it is a book to be used in the library only and not available to be checked out.
If the book has a Call Number as an E-Audiobook, you can borrow it digitally with your library card and PIN.
If the book has a Call Number as an E-Book, you can borrow it digitally with your library card and PIN.