February is Bake for Family Fun Month and National Weddings Month
February 2022 - February is Bake for Family Fun Month and National Weddings Month. This list includes books, e-books, and a database that will help you with the process of starting and running a catering business, a bed and breakfast business, a wedding planning and event planning business, a photography business, and a florist shop business.
Use the Gale Virtual Reference Library database to view samples of business plans for catering, baking, wedding planning, event planning, and photography businesses. It includes the Business Plans Handbook Series: A Compilation of Actual Business Plans Developed By Small Businesses Throughout North America. It is accessible remotely with your NYPL card and PIN.
Business Plans Handbook Series: A Compilation of Actual Business Plans Developed By Small Businesses Throughout North America
Books for Starting a Bakery/Catering and Bread and Breakfast Business
How to Open a Financially Successful Bed and Breakfast or Small Hotel by
Book & CD-ROM. This comprehensive handbook with companion CD-ROM will clearly demonstrate how to set up, operate and manage a financially successful bed-and-breakfast or small hotel. Whatever your reason for wanting to open a bed and breakfast, keep in mind that at it takes more than dreams and rooms to achieve success, it is a business that must show a profit. This book will separate the romantic notions of owning a B&B from the business end. While providing detailed instruction and examples, the author leads you through finding a location that will bring success, learn how to draw up a winning business plan (the companion CD-ROM has the actual business plan you can use in MS Word), how to buy and (sell) a B&B, basic cost control systems, profitable menu planning, Reservation Systems, sample floor plans & diagrams, successful kitchen management, equipment layout and planning, food safety & HACCP, housekeeping, successful beverage management, reservation networks, legal concerns, sales and marketing techniques, room rate formulas, arrival, billing, departure, learn how to set up computer systems to save time and money, learn how to hire & keep a qualified professional staff, brand new IRS tip reporting requirements, managing and training employees, generate high profile public relations and publicity, learn low cost internal marketing ideas, low and no cost ways to satisfy customers and build sales, learn how to keep bringing customers back, accounting & bookkeeping procedures, auditing, successful budgeting and profit planning development, as well as thousands of great tips and useful guidelines. There are literally hundreds of innovative ways demonstrated to streamline your business. Learn new ways to make the kitchen, bars, dining room, and front office run smoother and increase performance. Shut down waste, reduce costs, and increase profits. In addition operators will appreciate this valuable resource and reference in their daily activities and as a source of ready-to-use forms, web sites, operating and cost cutting ideas, and mathematical formulas that can be easily applied to their operations. The companion CD-ROM contains all the forms in the book as well as a sample business plan you can adapt for your own use.
Call Number: 647.9406 AISBN: 0910627304Publication Date: 2004-01-12
How to Open and Operate a Bed and Breakfast, 9th by
Thinking of opening your own B&B? Find out if it's really for you, then get advice on starting and maintaining your business. Advertising, promoting health and safety, managing finances, and creating an enjoyable environment for your guests are just some of the topics covered in this indispensable guide. - Start-up Expenses Worksheet Appendix of Web-based Resources - Bedroom Basics Checklist - Bathroom Basics Checklist - Marketing Plan - Self-Evaluation Quiz
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780762776511Publication Date: 2011-12-20
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Running a Bed & Breakfast by
You're no idiot, of course. You've had the pleasure of staying at a few bed and breakfasts, and you'd love to open a charming inn of your own. But when you think about what it takes to get a business up and running, you want to hang the Do Not Disturb sign.
This is your wake-up call! The Complete Idiot's Guide® to Running a Bed and Breakfast will show you it can be easy and fun—and a great way to meet new people and make money. In this Complete Idiot's Guide®, you get:
—Useful insights into the booming B&B industry.
—A simple test to help you decide if you have what it takes to succeed in the B&B business.
—Idiot-proof guidelines for converting a house into a B&B.
—Expert advice on accounting and business issues.
—An insider's look at the new trends in guest services.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781440650697Publication Date: 2001
How to Start a Home-based Catering Business by
Catering continues to be an expanding industry. The author is one of our top-selling home-based business authors and is an experienced chef with extensive knowledge of the hospitality industry. Spring of 2014 is a perfect time to do a seventh revision of
Call Number: Business Center Reference - *R-SIBL TX921 .V58 2014 Small Business CentralISBN: 9780762796410Publication Date: 2014-07-01
The Everything Guide to Starting and Running a Catering Business by
Do you enjoy cooking for others? Is your buffet table a work of art? Are your parties the best in the neighborhood? Then catering may be a great career for you! It's all here-from getting licenses and choosing the perfect name to developing menus and getting the word out. Seasoned food expert and caterer Joyce Weinberg covers all aspects of the catering business and shares her secrets to success with you, including how to: Choose a specialty-fancy fundraisers, company and family picnics, or romantic weddings; Learn the ropes before you start your business; Create a marketing plan that gets your company noticed by all the right people; Find clients and generate repeat customers. The Everything Guide to Starting and Running a Catering Business is all you need to make your passion your profession!
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781605502298Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Catering Management by
Catering Management, Third Edition gives detailed advice on all the crucial business aspects of on- and off-premise catering. The Third Edition features special new material on non-hotel catering operations-such as small business management and running your own catering operation. It presents fresh information on menu design and pricing, complete with illustrative menu examples and tips for using software tools to create enticing menus.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780470073612Publication Date: 2007-03-31
Becoming a Baker by
An illuminating guide to a career as a baker, written by acclaimed journalist Glynnis MacNicol and based on the real-life experiences of an expert in the field--essential reading for someone considering a path to this challenging, yet rewarding profession. Go behind the scenes and be mentored by the best to find out what it's really like, and what it really takes, to become a baker. Esteemed journalist Glynnis MacNicol takes readers to the front counters of bakeries and cafes to offer a candid portrait of modern baking. MacNicol shadows Mary Louise Clemens, the owner and head baker of Ladybird Bakery in Brooklyn, to reveal how bakers work and how they stand out in a neighborhood, community, and city. In Becoming a Baker, MacNicol reveals the path to becoming a baker, from education to the creation of new recipes, from negotiating with suppliers to the possibility of opening a small business. Prepare the legendary "Brooklyn Blackout" cupcakes in Ladybird's kitchen, shape croissants at the beloved Sea Wolf Bakery in Seattle, and learn why bakers think the Great British Bake-Off has captured our collective imagination. As the food industry changes to meet the 21st century, the role of a baker is becoming more and more central to our lives. For those passionate about nourishment, working with your hands, and the place of locally-owned businesses in communities, this is the most valuable informational interview you'll ever have--required reading for anyone considering this career.
Call Number: 641.815 MISBN: 9781982120276Publication Date: 2019-09-03
How to Land a Top-Paying Catering Manager's Job: Your Complete Guide to Opportunities, Resumes and Cover Letters, Interviews, Salaries, Promotions, What to Expect From Recruiters and More. by
For the first time, a book exists that compiles all the information candidates need to apply for their first Catering managers job, or to apply for a better job. What you'll find especially helpful are the worksheets. It is so much easier to write about a work experience using these outlines. It ensures that the narrative will follow a logical structure and reminds you not to leave out the most important points. With this book, you'll be able to revise your application into a much stronger document, be much better prepared and a step ahead for the next opportunity. The book comes filled with useful cheat sheets. It helps you get your career organized in a tidy, presentable fashion. It also will inspire you to produce some attention-grabbing cover letters that convey your skills persuasively and attractively in your application packets. After studying it, too, you'll be prepared for interviews, or you will be after you conducted the practice sessions where someone sits and asks you potential questions. It makes you think on your feet! This book makes a world of difference in helping you stay away from vague and long-winded answers and you will be finally able to connect with prospective employers, including the one that will actually hire you. This book successfully challenges conventional job search wisdom and doesn't load you with useful but obvious suggestions ('don't forget to wear a nice suit to your interview,' for example). Instead, it deliberately challenges conventional job search wisdom, and in so doing, offers radical but inspired suggestions for success. Think that 'companies approach hiring with common sense, logic, and good business acumen and consistency?' Think that 'the most qualified candidate gets the job?' Think again! Time and again it is proven that finding a job is a highly subjective business filled with innumerable variables. The triumphant jobseeker is the one who not only recognizes these inconsistencies and but also uses them to his advantage. Not sure how to do this? Don't worry-How to Land a Top-Paying Catering managers Job guides the way. Highly recommended to any harried Catering managers jobseeker, whether you want to work for the government or a company. You'll plan on using it again in your efforts to move up in the world for an even better position down the road. This book offers excellent, insightful advice for everyone from entry-level to senior professionals. None of the other such career guides compare with this one. It stands out because it: 1) explains how the people doing the hiring think, so that you can win them over on paper and then in your interview; 2) has an engaging, reader-friendly style; 3) explains every step of the job-hunting process - from little-known ways for finding openings to getting ahead on the job. This book covers everything. Whether you are trying to get your first Catering managers Job or move up in the system, get this book.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781486167029Publication Date: 2012
Books for Starting a Wedding Planning and Event Planning Business
Wedding Consultant Business by
Say I Do to Success From wedding bells to wedding bills, gain an inside look at the billion dollar wedding industry and learn how to earn your next pay check coordinating the big day of today’s brides and grooms. Discover the newest wedding trends, such as destination weddings, tapas-style catering, disposable video cameras, wedding logos and more. Plus, learn everything else you need to know to start and run a successful wedding consultant business, including: * How to market your services and find customers * Using social media to attract and communicate with clients * Tips from the pros for handling the unexpected * What licenses and permits you need * How to avoid common mistakes * How to negotiate with vendors and suppliers to get the best prices * The most important contacts to make * And more! You don’t need an office or a lot of startup money. With your creativity and help from our experts, you’ll be well on your way to success. The First Three Years In addition to industry specific information, you’ll also tap into Entrepreneur’s more than 30 years of small business expertise via the 2nd section of the guide - Start Your Own Business. SYOB offers critical startup essentials and a current, comprehensive view of what it takes to survive the crucial first three years, giving your exactly what you need to survive and succeed. Plus, you’ll get advice and insight from experts and practicing entrepreneurs, all offering common-sense approaches and solutions to a wide range of challenges. * Pin point your target market * Uncover creative financing for startup and growth * Use online resources to streamline your business plan * Learn the secrets of successful marketing * Discover digital and social media tools and how to use them * Take advantage of hundreds of resources * Receive vital forms, worksheets and checklists * From startup to retirement, millions of entrepreneurs and small business owners have trusted Entrepreneur to point them in the right direction. We’ll teach you the secrets of the winners, and give you exactly what you need to lay the groundwork for success. BONUS: Entrepreneur’s Startup Resource Kit! Every small business is unique. Therefore, it’s essential to have tools that are customizable depending on your business’s needs. That’s why with Entrepreneur is also offering you access to our Startup Resource Kit. Get instant access to thousands of business letters, sales letters, sample documents and more - all at your fingertips! You’ll find the following: The Small Business Legal Toolkit When your business dreams go from idea to reality, you’re suddenly faced with laws and regulations governing nearly every move you make. Learn how to stay in compliance and protect your business from legal action. In this essential toolkit, you’ll get answers to the "how do I get started?” questions every business owner faces along with a thorough understanding of the legal and tax requirements of your business. Sample Business Letters 1000+ customizable business letters covering each type of written business communication you’re likely to encounter as you communicate with customers, suppliers, employees, and others. Plus a complete guide to business communication that covers every question you may have about developing your own business communication style. Sample Sales Letters The experts at Entrepreneur have compiled more than 1000 of the most effective sales letters covering introductions, prospecting, setting up appointments, cover letters, proposal letters, the all-important follow-up letter and letters covering all aspects of sales operations to help you make the sale, generate new customers and huge profits.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781613082287Publication Date: 2012-07-15
How to Start a Home-Based Wedding Planning Business by
Planning weddings is a growing business area.The author is one of our top-selling home-based business authors and is herself a successful event and wedding planner."
Call Number: *R-SIBL HD9999.W372 .M67 2014 Small Business CentralISBN: 9780762795482Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Start Your Own Wedding Consultant Business by
Say, I Do, to Success From wedding bells to wedding bills, gain an inside look at the billion dollar wedding industry and learn how to earn your next pay check coordinating the big day of today's brides and grooms. Discover the newest wedding trends, such as destination weddings, tapas-style catering, disposable video cameras, wedding logos and more. Plus, learn everything else you need to know to start and run a successful wedding consultant business, including: How to market your services and find customers Using social media to attract and communicate with clients Tips from the pros for handling the unexpected What licenses and permits you need How to avoid common mistakes How to negotiate with vendors and suppliers to get the best prices The most important contacts to make You don't need an office or a lot of startup money. With your creativity and help from our experts, you'll be well on your way to success!
Call Number: 392.5068 SISBN: 9781599184272Publication Date: 2011-07-08
Start Your Own Wedding Consultant Business by
Say "I Do” to Success From wedding bells to wedding bills, gain an inside look at the billion dollar wedding industry and learn how to earn your next pay check coordinating the "big” day of today’s brides and grooms. Discover the newest wedding trends, such as destination weddings, tapas-style catering, disposable video cameras, wedding logos and more. Plus, learn everything else you need to know to start and run a successful wedding consultant business, including: How to market your services and find customers Using social media to attract and communicate with clients Tips from the pros for handling the unexpected What licenses and permits you need How to avoid common mistakes How to negotiate with vendors and suppliers to get the best prices The most important contacts to make And more! You don’t need an office or a lot of startup money. With your creativity and help from our experts, you’ll be well on your way to success!
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781613081679Publication Date: 2012-05-26
How to Start a Home-based Wedding Photography Business by
Everything you need to know to run a profitable and satisfying wedding photography business from your home.
Call Number: 778.9939 JISBN: 9780762773411Publication Date: 2011-12-20
Start Your Own Event Planning Business by
START YOUR OWN EVENT PLANNING BUSINESS AND CELEBRATE ALL THE WAY TO THE BANK! Weddings, graduations, birthday parties, anniversaries, and conferences; what do these all have in common? Everyone would rather hire someone else to plan and run them! That someone can be you. Take your passion for event planning to the next level with in-the-trenches advice and tools you need to start, run, and grow a successful business. From writing a solid contract to finding reliable vendors, our experts help you identify your niche, teach you how to scout potential clients, evaluate the competition, market your business, and more. Discover how to: Identify a niche and establish yourself within the industry Build a loyal customer base for large and small events Implement targeted strategies for planning commercial, political, civic, social events, and more Promote your business, events, and yourself with Pinterest, Instagram, and other social and online marketing tools Develop proposals, vendor agreements, contracts, and manage day-to-day operations and costs Keep within budget using money-saving tips and industry-tested ideas Plus, gain valuable insights from interviews with practicing event planners, and stay on track with checklists, worksheets, and other resources. Everything you need to make your event planning business a successful reality is right here--get the party started today!
Call Number: 394.2 SISBN: 9781599185620Publication Date: 2015-04-14
Start Your Own Event Planning Business by
START YOUR OWN EVENT PLANNING BUSINESS AND CELEBRATE ALL THE WAY TO THE BANK! Weddings, graduations, birthday parties, anniversaries, and conferences--what do these all have in common? Everyone would rather hire someone else to plan and run them! That someone can be you. Take your passion for event planning to the next level with in-the-trenches advice and tools you need to start, run, and grow a successful business. From writing a solid contract to finding reliable vendors, our experts help you identify your niche, teach you how to scout potential clients, evaluate the competition, market your business, and more. Discover how to: Identify a niche and establish yourself within the industry Build a loyal customer base for large and small events Implement targeted strategies for planning commercial, political, civic, social events, and more Promote your business, events, and yourself with Pinterest, Instagram, and other social and online marketing tools Develop proposals, vendor agreements, contracts, and manage day-to-day operations and costs Keep within budget using money-saving tips and industry-tested ideas Plus, gain valuable insights from interviews with practicing event planners, and stay on track with checklists, worksheets, and other resources. Everything you need to make your event planning business a successful reality is right here--get the party started today!
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781613083062Publication Date: 2015-04-20
How to Start a Home-Based Event Planning Business, 3rd by
Are you passionate about planning events? Have you ever wanted to be your own boss and set your own schedule while pursuing something you enjoy? Now you can make your dreams a reality. This comprehensive guide--now updated in its third edition--contains all the necessary tools and strategies you need to successfully launch and grow an event-planning business. Using plain language and easy-to-follow worksheets, Jill Moran takes you through every aspect of setting up and running a thriving home-based event planning business. She shares her professional experience and expert advice on everything from estimating start-up costs and finding clients to planning and executing weddings, parties, corporate events, fund-raisers, and more Whether you''re just starting to explore your options or are an event planning wizard looking to be your own boss, this guide can help you establish and build your own successful home-based business.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780762766239Publication Date: 2010-07-13
Becoming an Event Planner by
A revealing guide to a career as an event planner written by W Magazine executive editor Armand Limnander and based on the real-life experiences of powerhouse event planner Bronson van Wyck--necessary reading for anyone considering a path to this profession. Becoming an Event Planner takes you behind the scenes to find out what it's really like, and what it really takes, to become an event planner. Behind every great event is a visionary planner, and Bronson van Wyck, founder of the award-winning event firm Van Wyck & Van Wyck, treats his events as works of art. He has masterminded celebrations for Dior, Condé Nast, Rolex, Gwyneth Paltrow, Beyoncé, and the Obamas. W Magazine executive editor Armand Limnander shadows van Wyck as he and his team produce a marquee event: a gala for the New York arts organization Creative Time. Using design, food, and entertaining, van Wyck transports his guests to carefully conceived, often fantastical temporary spaces. He reveals how the best event planners are aesthetic gurus, skilled social connectors, talented collaboration artists, and, most important of all, makers of memories. Discover van Wyck's path to prominence as you gain wisdom and insight from an event planner operating at the highest level.
Call Number: 394.2023 LISBN: 9781982140427Publication Date: 2021-01-19
Confessions of an Event Planner by
For anyone planning events--student, novice, or experienced professional--Confessions of an Event Planner is an "apprenticeship in a book." This insider's guide takes you on a narrative journey, following a fictional event planning company that stages various types of events around the world for many different clients. While other books, college courses, and training programs give you the theory and how-to of the profession, Confessions of an Event Planner reveals the real world of event planning and what can happen--usually the unexpected--on an event program when actual participants are added to the event planning design and execution mix. In a climate of media scrutiny and corporate scandals, event planners must be masters of discretion, knowing how to avoid and deal with everything from sexual romps to financial shenanigans, to chainsaw wielding salesmen dead set on "re-landscaping" the grounds of the resort they're staying at. From an event planner who's seen it all and knows how to deal with it all, comes practical first-hand advice delivered in an entertaining and accessible format. Each chapter is set in a unique location, with a cast of characters, and a host of challenges and problems to overcome--from the boardroom to the resort guest bedrooms. Readers learn what they can come up against, how to problem solve creatively on the fly, get ideas for staging spectacular events, and see the principles of event planning in action. The scenario in each chapter is introduced by an outline of what will be covered in the chapter, and each chapter concludes with a series of review questions to explore key issues and stimulate reflection or discussion for individuals or groups. Ideal as a companion to Judy Allen's six other event planning books, as a textbook in event planning courses, or as a professional training tool Confessions of an Event Planner prepares planners for what they can expect once they start working in the world of corporate and social event planning, and will help decision-makers set company policies, procedures and protocol and promote discussion about codes of conduct in the office and offsite.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780470736890Publication Date: 2009-08-26
The Everything Guide to Being an Event Planner by
Do you love throwing parties? Are you the most organized person you know? Can you thrive in a fast-paced environment? If so, event planning could be your perfect career choice! Seasoned event planner Jennifer Mancuso helps you to get started and succeed in this exciting field. This book's insider tips and step-by-step guidance will teach you how to: Tailor events to each client - from a corporate dinner to an intimate wedding Market and network to keep business coming Hire vendors that your client will love Build a great reputation in your area and beyond Whether you've recently earned a hospitality degree or are simply looking for a fun career change, The Everything Guide to Being an Event Planner will help you break out of the routine and start a new, creative endeavor-one celebration at a time!
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781605502267Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Books for Starting a Photography Business and a Florist Shop
Photography Business: Step-by-Step Startup Guide, Third Edition by
Set up your business for success with the perfect shot.
The experts at Entrepreneur provide a two-part guide to success. First, learn how to turn your talent for snapping great pictures into a lucrative business. Then, master the fundamentals of business startup including defining your business structure, funding, staffing, and more.
This kit includes:
Essential industry and business-specific startup steps with worksheets, calculators, checklists, and more
Entrepreneur magazine's Start Your Own Business, a guide to starting any business and surviving the first three years and beyond
Interviews and advice from successful entrepreneurs in the industry
Worksheets, brainstorming sections, and checklists
Entrepreneur's Startup Resource Kit (downloadable)
MORE ABOUT ENTREPRENEUR'S STARTUP RESOURCE KIT
Every small business is unique. Therefore, it's essential to have tools that are customizable depending on your business's needs. That's why Entrepreneur is also offering you access to our Startup Resource Kit. Get instant access to thousands of business letters, sales letters, sample documents, and more—all at your fingertips!
You'll find the following:
The Small Business Legal Toolkit
When your business dreams go from idea to reality, you're suddenly faced with laws and regulations governing nearly every move you make. Learn how to stay in compliance and protect your business from legal action. In this essential toolkit, you'll get answers to the "how do I get started?" questions every business owner faces along with a thorough understanding of the legal and tax requirements of your business.
Sample Business Letters
1000+ customizable business letters covering each type of written business communication you're likely to encounter as you communicate with customers, suppliers, employees, and others. Plus a complete guide to business communication that covers every question you may have about developing your own business communication style.
Sample Sales Letters
The experts at Entrepreneur have compiled more than 1000 of the most effective sales letters covering introductions, prospecting, setting up appointments, cover letters, proposal letters, the all-important follow-up letter, and letters covering all aspects of sales operations to help you make the sale and generate new customers and huge profits.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781613084144Publication Date: 2020
Start Your Own Photography Business by
Picture Yourself a Success If you have a talent for snapping great pictures, why not turn your hobby into a lucrative business? You can take portraits in a studio or on location, submit photos as a freelancer to media companies or businesses, frame and display your favorite shots in a gallery, or record special events like weddings and sweet sixteen parties. No matter where your talents and interests lie, you can make a bundle from your work with this expert advice. Determine your specialty Set up a home office and/or functional studio Choose the right equipment for all types of photos--and find great deals on the cameras and accessories you need Build an attractive online or traditional portfolio Find paying jobs and market yourself professionally Setup a fee structure for your service Get great exposure for your work at art festivals, contests, galleries, local businesses and more Protect yourself from legal concerns such as copyright infringement and privacy issues Whether you want to earn a little extra money or set yourself up as a full-time, professional photographer, all the information you need to succeed is inside.
Call Number: 770.68 SISBN: 9781599186573Publication Date: 2019-10-22
Start Your Own Photography Business: Your Step-by-Step Guide to Success, Third Edition by
Picture Yourself a Success If you have a talent for snapping great pictures, why not turn your hobby into a lucrative business? You can take portraits in a studio or on location, submit photos as a freelancer to media companies or businesses, frame and display your favorite shots in a gallery, or record special events like weddings and sweet sixteen parties. No matter where your talents and interests lie, you can make a bundle from your work with this expert advice. Determine your specialty Set up a home office and/or functional studio Choose the right equipment for all types of photos—and find great deals on the cameras and accessories you need Build an attractive online or traditional portfolio Find paying jobs and market yourself professionally Setup a fee structure for your service Get great exposure for your work at art festivals, contests, galleries, local businesses and more Protect yourself from legal concerns such as copyright infringement and privacy issues Whether you want to earn a little extra money or set yourself up as a full-time, professional photographer, all the information you need to succeed is inside.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781613084137Publication Date: 2019
How to Start a Photography Business by
Ready to turn your passion for photography into a viable business and profit while doing what you love? In this book, award-winning portrait and wedding photographer Tracy Dorr (from Williamsville, NY) shows you how to visualize your perfect business and execute the necessary steps, one at a time, to reach your every goal. You'll learn how to choose a specialty that suits you and gain experience in your chosen field. You'll also discover the perks and drawbacks of small vs. large studios, learn how to choose the right studio location, and find tips for managing the business end of the profession -- from hiring employees, to creating contracts, to taking tax deductions, and more. Dorr also shows you how to grow your business via word-of-mouth referrals, social networking, and developing an attention-getting marketing and advertising plan. In addition to sharing her insights on every aspect of starting and operating a thriving photography business, Dorr includes tips from pros across the U.S. You'll get varied perspectives on many of the topics covered and, armed with this information, you'll be poised to chart a course, tackle obstacles, and achieve professional success.
Call Number: 770.68 DISBN: 9781682031285Publication Date: 2017-01-10
Running a Successful Photography Business by
Running a Successful Photography Business is the definitive business bible for every professional photographer a one-stop resource covering everything you need to know to make your business a success. This handy book contains guidance on the key areas of running your business- fine-tuning your brand, attracting new clients and keeping existing ones, costing and producing shoots, professional ethics and codes of practice, contracts, preparing a business plan, operating your business effectively, legal obligations, working with agents and agencies and how to evolve and prosper in this ever changing industry. Everything a working photographer needs to know in order for their business to flourish. Written from the unique point of view of a leading photographers' agent, the author knows from first-hand experience what it takes to survive and succeed as a professional photographer. This book builds on the author's popular first book, Setting up a Successful Photography Business, aimed at those starting out in freelance photography.
Call Number: 770.68 PISBN: 9781472532930Publication Date: 2017-04-06
Start Your Own Photography Business by
Photographers can turn a hobby into a lucrative business with these great tips on how to set up a studio, build a portfolio, take great pictures, purchase the best equipment, find paying jobs, set pricing and more. Davis also discusses the advantages of submitting work to contests, participating in art festivals and displaying work in art galleries and other locales. It covers both full-time and part-time options and discusses operating at home or in a commercial location. Detailed adviceis offered on legal issues such as copyright infringement, privacy laws, the difference between public and private property, handling conflict and seeking out available remedies to legal situations.
Call Number: 770.68 DISBN: 9781599184470Publication Date: 2012-11-13
Start Your Own Florist Shop and Other Floral Businesses by
Valentine's Day, Mother's Day, birthdays . . . with so many occasions appropriate for flowers, a florist shop is an enticing business to start. If you have a love for everything green and a desire to forge your own path, starting a floral business is ideal for you. Perfect your floral-arranging and customer service skills with a traditional florist shop; brighten others' days with an office plant-care service; or encourage creativity with a pick-your-own-flowers establishment. This guide gives you advice on everything you need to start out right, including: * Selecting the right type of floral business * Finding flower wholesalers and growers * Anticipating demand and stocking the most popular flowers * Caring for your flowers * Stocking profitable sidelines, like greeting cards and balloons * And more! With the essential information inside, you'll be turning greenery into greenbacks in no time.
Call Number: 745.9206 KISBN: 9781599180274Publication Date: 2006-08-01
Book Formats & Availability
If the book has a Call Number such as 158.8 H, it means that it is a circulating (print) copy, and you can borrow it.
If the book has a Call Number such as B OBAMA O, it means that it is a circulating (print) copy of a biography, and you can borrow it.
If the book has a Call Number, such as Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library - Yoseloff Business Center Reference *R-SIBL TX911.3.M3 G63 2014 Small Business Central. In that case, it is a book to be used in the library only and not available to be checked out.
If the book has a Call Number as an E-Audiobook, you can borrow it digitally with your library card and PIN.
If the book has a Call Number as an E-Book, you can borrow it digitally with your library card and PIN.