Research Catalog
Most NYPL research collections can be found in the Research Catalog. This catalog also contains offsite storage collections from Columbia University, Harvard University, and Princeton University. Through our Research Catalog, you can request these materials, and they will be delivered in 1-3 days to the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building. In the catalog, you can search by "Subject Heading" (sometimes called a descriptor), which describes the content of each item, or by "Keyword," which looks for words throughout the record.
How to Access our Collections
A Library card will provide you with access to our collections and our remote digital resources. New York residents or visitors to NYC (domestic or international), can apply online here. Please note, a photo ID and proof of address are needed to validate your card when you visit. Further information on Library cards can be found here. In-person, same-day requests and onsite deliveries may take up to two hours.
How to Find Material Outside of NYPL
WorldCat -- A catalog that links multiple libraries holdings in a one-stop search engine for easy searching across libraries worldwide.
Interlibrary Services and Document Delivery (ILL) -- Interlibrary Services provides access to materials held at libraries outside the NYPL system. To begin using ILL, please create an online account here.
How to Request Items from the Research Catalog
Items can be requested via the blue "Request for Onsite Use" button found in the catalog.
You can select the location where you would like the material delivered or if you would like a small portion of the item scanned after logging in with your Library card and pin number. Please note: Requests made through the catalog for onsite and offsite materials can take up to 2 days to arrive at the Rose Main Reading Room. Delivery of same-day requests and onsite items may take up to two hours.
Consultations with a Librarian
Questions???
Meet Virtually with a Librarian
Researchers of all levels are welcome to schedule an online consultation with our librarians. Consultations include: catalog navigation, demonstration of online services and database (articles, abstracts, etc...), as well as exploration of sources for a specific topic. To schedule a consultation, please click on the link above or email us at: generalresearch@nypl.org or artref@nypl.org for Art Librarians. A Librarian will review your query and get back to you as soon as possible.