Graphic Design Resources at The New York Public Library: Internet Resources

Besides a robust reference library, users can browse a variety of typefaces based on their Style, Family, or Language. The archive also contains books, periodicals, posters, sketches, and original art.

Eye, is an international magazine that reviews graphic design and visual culture.

Eye on Design is an editorial platform that explores what it means to be a designer today.

The Idea Magazine is a Japanese graphic design magazine that covers the design and visual culture of Asia. With numerous sections dedicated to type design, typography plays an important role in the design of the publication.

The blog covers typography and type history, font making, and all the things in between: from printmaking to book history, and sometimes even calligraphy.

PRINT (founded in 1940) aims to inspire and create design dialogue by bringing creative people together. Print curates and celebrates visual culture, its makers, and the expression of graphic design in all of its forms in addition to reporting on the industry.

Slanted's daily blog highlights news and events from the international design scene and shows inspiring portfolios from around the globe.

A vital journal that contributed to successfully disseminating Swiss typography throughout the world.

The Library of Congress' National Digital Library Program has compiled a rich collection of primary source material related to U.S. history and culture.

Discover over 30 centuries of design online, including ancient Roman marble, pre-Columbian textiles, Renaissance drawings, and contemporary 3D-printed chairs.

A large number of Flickr users choose to make their work available under Creative Commons licenses, and you can browse or search for content under each type of license on Flickr.

Over 150,000 images of public-domain art and archives have been made freely available on the Getty website since 2013. On a monthly basis, collections are being cataloged, digitized, copyrights are reviewed, and images published.

Over 2.6 million images from 500 years of public domain eBooks from the Internet Archive.

In addition to creating, organizing, and distributing digital images and data, the Metropolitan Museum also documents its collections, exhibitions, events, and people.

Take an incredible journey through 5000 years of human creativity with these online collections, featuring more than 1.25 million objects.

The AIGA brings design to the world, and the world to the designers. More than 15,000 members and 70 chapters make up the largest and oldest professional design association in the world, advancing design as a strategic advantage, a vital cultural force, and a valuable professional craft.

A nonprofit organization, the Asian American Arts Alliance, works to ensure greater representation, equity, and opportunities for Asian American artists and cultural organizations.

Association Typographique Internationale is the nonprofit global forum for type and typography.

The CAA includes among its members those whose vocation or avocation is art, teaching, or research in or about the visual arts and humanities. Visual-arts professionals can find a set of best practices about the fair use of copyrighted materials in it's Code of Best Practices for the Fair Use of Copyrighted Materials.

The Art Society inspires, empowers, and engages artists worldwide. In addition to providing information, resources, and knowledge, they also provide tools for the success of artists.

Graphic Artists Guild's primary objective is to help members succeed in a rapidly changing industry. They assist graphic artists and other design professionals in establishing and maintaining successful careers by providing skills and support. This includes providing advice on running a creative business as well as advocating for the creative community with government and business leaders.

An independent Council of Member organizations that form a global network to share common issues, commitments and standards. International Council of Designers is the world's largest association of professional designers.

The International Society of Typographic Designers is a professional organization run by and for typographers, designers, and educators. All over the world, members are dedicated to raising the bar and inspiring a love for typography.

LADI is an organization dedicated to increasing visibility and support for Latinx graphic designers and illustrators.

A diverse community of creative thinkers and doers who believe creativity is the most powerful element to business success, One Club for Creativity supports and celebrates the success of the global creative community.

As a professional organization for interior, industrial, architectural, fashion, and graphic designers, OBD promotes the visibility, empowerment, education, and interaction of its members as well as the value of diverse design perspectives to world culture and commerce.

An association of people who create content-rich, emotionally compelling, experiential spaces for a wide range of environments, from hospitals and transit hubs to museums and educational campuses.

Society of Typographic Aficionados (SOTA) is a not-for-profit international organization dedicated to promoting, studying, and supporting type, its history and development, its use in print and digital imagery, and its designers.

The Typography Design Center celebrates and amplifies typography's undeniable power. A global community dedicated to the belief that type drives culture and culture drives type.

ARC Electronica brings together artists, scientists, technologists, designers, developers, entrepreneurs and activists from around the world to address the emerging issues of the future.

Across all industries and locations, Brand New features new designs and redesigns of notable products, companies, and services.

The aim of designboom is to give professional and young creatives a platform for discussion on the latest news and key issues in architecture, design, technology, and other creative fields.

A variety of design topics are covered by Design Observer, including graphic design, social innovation, urbanism, popular culture, and criticism. Site content includes essays, articles, reviews, blog posts, and peer-reviewed scholarship.

Eyebeam provides both space and support for a community of diverse, justice-driven artists.

An independent directory of typefaces organized into categories.

Fonts In Use is a public archive of typography indexed by typeface, format, industry, and period.

With nearly 1,500 objects and 9,000 hi-fi images, Letterform Archive offers unparalleled virtual access to a curated collection of lettering, typography, calligraphy, and graphic design, from ancient to modern.

Symbols.com provides information about symbols, signs, flags, and glyphs categorized by culture, country, religion, and more.

Typedia is a community website to classify typefaces and educate people about them.

typo/graphic Posters is a platform on behalf of design through the poster medium. It focus on typographic and graphic posters that challenge type, colors, and shapes.

Typographica is a review of typefaces and type books, with occasional commentary on fonts and typographic design.

VADS is a national collection of over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections in the UK, freely accessible for educational purposes.

A list of African American graphic designers who have made an unforgettable impact on the industry.

A directory that celebrates and highlights Asian & Pacific Islander creatives.

A site dedicated to celebrating Black Graphic Designers and their contributions to graphic design history.

A Twitter directory of accomplished Black designers in the industry.

A site dedicated to recognizing the talents of Latin American and international graphic designers.

A blog about typography and type history, making fonts, and all the things in between.

Carefully selected articles about typography and type design featured in Smashing Magazine over the years.