Graphic Design Resources at The New York Public Library: Collection Highlights

Whether you are looking for inspiration for a design project or wish to study the history of design, the Picture Collection can serve as a great resource to help with your needs. Dating back to 1915, the collection has grown to over 12,000 subject headings thanks to donations by users and supporters. Images that we receive are categorized into subjects by our expert Librarians. Some of our top subjects for this category can include our folders on Design, Advertising, Billboards, Posters, Signs, Magazine Covers, etc... Within these subjects, the collection holds a number of commercially produced materials such as greeting cards, holidays cards, postcards, and posters.

                           The Pantone +Plus series 

Two Formula guides, two Color bridge guides, and two CMYK guides are included in each of these fan decks. Using fan decks allows fabric to be presented in a compact sample while still showcasing a multitude of colors. Providing designers the ability to select, specify, and match colors to their exact designs.

The Artists’ Books Collection (ABC) of the New York Public Library is one of the largest and most important collections in the country. To date, the collection holds more than 8,500 items. The majority of the Library’s holdings of artists’ books are concentrated in the Print Collection, which holds the best examples of this unique genre. Interested in learning more? Check out our research guide to the Artists' Books Collection (ABC) at NYPL.