About
The following lists of books provide historical, theoretical, and practical elements for understanding the history and evolution of typography. They include a variety of approaches and techniques.
Type
An A-Z of Type Designers by
This volume features a comprehensive listing of outstanding type designers from around the world, ranging from Johann Gutenberg (c. 1394–1468) to the present day. Arranged alphabetically by designer, the book features the work of more than 260 figures in type design, many of whom are among the field’s most renowned, as well as entries on lesser-known designers whose contributions to typography are substantial. Entries are illustrated by examples of the designers’ work taken from posters, private press editions, magazine covers, book designs, and rare archival specimens.
Call Number: JFF 06-1450ISBN: 9781856693950Publication Date: 2006
American Type Design and Designers by
The history of type in America is chronicled through the typefaces and biographies of 62 of the most influential type designers, and through the description and history of nine American type foundries working in metal, photo, serigraphic and digital formats.
Call Number: JFF 04-3550ISBN: 1581153201Publication Date: 2004-02-01
Complete Typographer: a manual for designing with type by
Type is presented here as the most important single element in the communications industry. It can make or break a design - it can be the design itself - adding mood, style and texture to the overall impact. It also has a visual fascination of its own. This is an illustrated survey of type from its beginnings to the present, and a practical guide to its users.
Call Number: JFF 93-1490ISBN: 1564960420Publication Date: 1992
Detail in Typography: Letters, Letterspacing, Words, Wordspacing... by
In Detail in Typography Jost Hochuli, book designer and author of the seminal Designing Books, addresses the finer points of setting text. Hochuli begins with a consideration of how human beings read, moving on incrementally to considerations of letter, word, and line as well as word-space and line-space. Hochuli concludes by examining whole paragraphs and how they carry meaning.
Call Number: JFD 08-3500ISBN: 9780907259343Publication Date: 2008-02-27
The Elements of Typographic Style by
Combining the practical, theoretical, and historical, this edition is completely updated, including a comprehensive revision and update of the longest chapter, "Prowling the Specimen Books," as well as many other important but small updates based on the ever-evolving field.
Call Number: Z246 .B74 2012gISBN: 9780881792119Publication Date: 2013-01-15
Emotional Digital by
A collection of hundreds of contemporary typefaces, introduced by the designers themselves. While countless books showcase the latest in typographical design, this one presents the best printed media from the 50 most influential foundries, revealing a wide spectrum of work - from brochures, flyers and postcards to type-specimens and posters - that shows just how expressive and personal type can be.
Call Number: JBF 16-69ISBN: 0500283109Publication Date: 2001-11-01
An Essay on Typography by
Born in 1882, Eric Gill was an artist, letter carver, polemicist, and social reformer. In 1925, he had started drawing alphabets and printing books, and in 1931, this plainspoken little book was a fustian and forceful argument for common sense in design, composed for anyone remotely interested in the subtle and evolving challenge of the typographic arts.
Call Number: Z116.A3 G54 1988ISBN: 9780879237622Publication Date: 1989-04-01
Essential Type by
Provides an essential lexicon that explains the history and functionality of 140 type terms and 20 unique typeface classifications. The book also features a timeline of typeface classification from the mid-15th century to the present day, and concludes with a chapter detailing over 40 important typeface families that reflect the history of typeface development and typographic style from the earliest days of movable type.
Call Number: *R-RMRR Z250 .S43 2016ISBN: 9780300222371Publication Date: 2016-08-16
Exploring Typography by
An in-depth guide to the art & techniques of designing with type.
Call Number: JFF 06-1624ISBN: 1401815057Publication Date: 2006-02-21
Historical Types: from Gutenberg to Ashendene by
The book explores every major development in the design of type and includes some lesser-known designers whose type designs made significant contributions to the craft. The material is divided into sections by historical period and assigned category numbers for easy reference.
Call Number: JFG 17-145ISBN: 9781584562986Publication Date: 2012
Just My Type by
Contents: Introduction: love letters -- We don't serve your type -- Capital offence -- Legibility vs readability -- Can a font make me popular? -- The hands of unlettered men -- The ampersand's final twist -- Baskerville is dead (long live baskerville) -- Tunnel visions -- What is it about the Swiss? -- Road akzidenz -- DIY -- What the font? -- Can a font be German, or Jewish? -- American Scottish -- Gotham is go -- Pirates and clones -- The clamour from the past -- Breaking the rules -- The serif of Liverpool -- Fox, gloves -- The worst fonts in the world -- Just my type.
Call Number: Z250.A2 G374 2010ISBN: 9781846683015Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The New Typography by
Since its initial publication in Berlin in 1928, Jan Tschichold's The New Typography has been recognized as the definitive treatise on book and graphic design in the machine age. Ranging from theoretical discussions of typography in the age of photography and mechanical standardization to practical considerations in the design of business forms, The New Typography remains essential reading for designers, art historians, and all those concerned with the evolution of visual communication in the twentieth century.
Call Number: Z116 .T7513 1995ISBN: 0520071468Publication Date: 1995-11-10
Stop Stealing Sheep and Find Out How Type Works, Third Edition by
In this third edition, type designer Erik Spiekermann brings his type classic fully up to date on mobile and web typography. He also includes scores of new visual examples on how to effectively communicate with type and a full selection of new typefaces that are used and referenced throughout the book. It will help you understand how to look at type, work with type, choose the best typeface for your message, and express yourself more effectively through design.
Call Number: Z250 .S738 2014ISBN: 9780321934284Publication Date: 2013-12-13
Thinking with Type: a Primer for Designers by
Thinking with Type is divided into three sections: letter, text, and grid. Each section begins with an easy-to-grasp essay that reviews historical, technological, and theoretical concepts, and is then followed by a set of practical exercises that bring the material covered to life. Sections conclude with examples of work by leading practitioners that demonstrate creative possibilities and some classic no-no's to avoid.
Call Number: JFE 04-14916ISBN: 1568984480Publication Date: 2004-09-09
Type Idea Index by
Type Idea Index provides new ways of employing type in your works of art and design (or new twists to apply to your current typographic techniques), with 650+ custom-created examples of typography and type-intensive design.
Call Number: JFB 07-52ISBN: 9781581808063Publication Date: 2006-12-22
A Type Primer by
Designed for beginning design and typography students, this text assists students in understanding and demonstrating the basic principles of typography. Filled with examples, exercises, and background information and designed itself to reflect good typographic design, it guides students systematically to the point where they can, not only understand but, demonstrate basic principles of typography, and thereby strengthen their own typographic instincts.
Call Number: Z246 .K36 2011ISBN: 9780205066445Publication Date: 2011-01-26
Type Tells Tales by
Steven Heller and Gail Anderson reveal how type can render a particular voice or multiple conversations, how letters in various shapes and sizes can guide the eye through dense information, and how type can become both content and illustration, as letters take the form of people, animals, cars, or planes.
Call Number: JQG 17-740ISBN: 9780300226799Publication Date: 2017-05-30
Typographers on Type by
Brought together in a single volume, the writing is drawn from an array of books and periodicals about typography. The essays provide a view of the development of modern typography, reflecting concerns of the time and timeless considerations: from William Morris's "Aims in Founding the Kelmscott Press" (1895) to Roderick Stinehour's "Computers and Printing" (1984). Arranged in chronological order, the essays chart the course of the profound technological advances that have taken place in the printing industry in the 20th century from a unique perspective: that of the typographer witnessing and experiencing these changes.
Call Number: JFF 95-3701ISBN: 9780393702019Publication Date: 1995-05-17
The Typographic Desk Reference by
Contents: Terms -- Glyphs -- Anatomy & form -- Classification & specimens.
Call Number: JFD 16-4068ISBN: 9781584563129Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Typography by
A landmark introduction to working with text. Although writing at the dawn of computerized typesetting, Lewis's basic principles and design advice still stand strong.
Call Number: *R-RMRR Z250 .L593 1978ISBN: 080087921XPublication Date: 1978-10-01
Typography by
This book is the legacy of Emil Ruder, one of the originator of Swiss Style, famous throughout the world for the use of asymmetric layouts, use of a grid, sans-serif typefaces and flush left, ragged right text.
Call Number: Z246 .R79 2001gISBN: 9783721200430Publication Date: 2001-03-01
Typography: Graphic Design Elements, Exploring the Limits by
Typography is the art and technique of designing and arranging type, to make texts readable and appealing and therefore a fundamental area of graphic design.Typography gathers a selection of the most creative design projects from all over the world ranging from branding, poster and packaging design to space design.
Call Number: JQF 17-243ISBN: 9788416504480Publication Date: 2016-09-13
Typography Sketchbooks by
Aimed at all those who use type, whether by hand or on screen, this survey gets into the minds of designers who create typefaces, word-images and logos through their private sketchbooks. Arranged by designer, this collection reveals how the world's top typographers and designers strive to find new and exciting ways of communicating through letters and words.
Call Number: JFF 16-260ISBN: 9781616890377Publication Date: 2011-09-28
U and lc by
U&Ic, the quarterly type and graphics publication distributed for 30 years by International Typeface Corporation, influenced several generations of graphic designers. It was a showcase for much of the best graphic design work being created in the United States during the time it was published. This book provides a retrospective look at U&Ic and the use of type within it.
Call Number: JFG 05-362ISBN: 0972424091Publication Date: 2005-02-01
Visual Coexistence: Information Design by
In Visual Coexistence, graphic designer Ruedi Baur leads a research team in investigating and analyzing visual graphics from different cultures, with a focus on Chinese and Latin writing systems, in order to identify their specific principles of depiction and the ways in which they visually communicate. From this interdisciplinary, intercultural investigation, the designers recommend appropriate, differentiated design solutions for global communication.
Call Number: JQE 21-542ISBN: 9783037786130Publication Date: 2020-08-18
Fonts and Typefaces
30 Essential Typefaces for a Lifetime by
This work defines 30 of the most useful and classic typefaces for all design needs and occasions.
Call Number: JQF 06-138ISBN: 1592532780Publication Date: 2006-03-01
Adrian Frutiger - Typefaces by
The Swiss type designer Adrian Frutiger decisively influenced the international creation of typefaces after 1950. His Univers typeface and the machine-readable font OCR-B are milestones, as is his type for the Paris airports, which evolved into the Frutiger typeface.
Call Number: (C.R.) MNF 22-855ISBN: 3035623627Publication Date: 2021-07-31
Arabic Typography by
This is a comprehensive study, and practical reference, of Arabic letterforms and styles beginning with a concise historical overview of the development of Arabic typography through to modern designs and technological advancements.
Call Number: *OEN 02-3241ISBN: 0863563473Publication Date: 2000-11-01
Bauhaus Typography At 100 by
An unprecedented, definitive look at the school's typography and print design, from its early expressive tendencies to the functional modernism for which it is famed today The Bauhaus looms large as one of the most influential legacies in 20th-century graphic design. Known for its bold sans-serif typefaces, crisp asymmetrical grids and clean use of negative space, the school emerged as the forebearer of a new look--one that seized the tools of mass production in the creation of a radical new art.
Call Number: JQE 22-93ISBN: 9780998318097Publication Date: 2022-02-15
Big Book of 5,000 Fonts by
The book shows 5,000 fonts and also gives the source for the type. Easy-to-use descriptive labels such as comic book, typewriter, handwriting, electronic, dimensional, etc. categorize the fonts.
Call Number: JFF 02-2323ISBN: 9780060938031Publication Date: 2001-11-01
Classic Typefaces by
Graphic designers will enrich their understanding of American type design and type designers with this unique and extensive reference. The fascinating history of type in America is chronicled through the typefaces and biographies of influential type designers and history of type foundries. Complete with samples of 334 different typefaces, and 700 black-and-white illustrations, this reference reveals the expansive contribution America has made to the world of type design.
Call Number: Z250.A2 C755 2011gISBN: 9781581158946Publication Date: 2011-10-10
Creative Type: a Sourcebook of Classic... by
This elegant and easy-to-use book provides a comprehensively illustrated record of developments in the field, clearly setting them in their historical context and forming an essential reference for graphic designers everywhere.
Call Number: JFF 05-1703ISBN: 0500512299Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Designing Type by
Discusses issues of structure, optical compensation, and legibility, with special emphasis given to the often overlooked relationships between letters and shapes in font design. The book is illustrated with numerous diagrams that demonstrate visual principles and letter construction, ranging from informal progress sketches to final type designs and diagrams. A wide range of classic and modern typefaces is analyzed, including those from many premier contemporary type foundries.
Call Number: JFF 06-2571ISBN: 9780300111507Publication Date: 2006-05-19
Designing with Type: the essential guide to typography by
The classic Designing with Type has been completely redesigned, with an updated format and full color throughout. New information and new images make this perennial best-seller an even more valuable tool for anyone interested in learning about typography.
Call Number: JFF 06-2738ISBN: 0823014134Publication Date: 2006-05-01
The Encyclopaedia of Type Faces by
International reference work for all those concerned with type faces, their designers and their sources.
Call Number: *R-RMRR Z250 .J36 1970ISBN: 9780713701913Publication Date: 1970
Futura: the Typeface by
This is a stunning examination of one of the most popular typefaces ever created, Futura. From its Bauhaus origins to its use as the first font on the moon in 1969, this book tells the story of how the typeface went from representing radicalism in design to dependability.
Call Number: Z250.5.F88 F8 2017ISBN: 9781786270931Publication Date: 2017-10-31
The Geometry of Type : the Anatomy of 100 Essential Typefaces. by
This book explores 100 traditional and modern typefaces in detail, with a full spread devoted to each entry. Characters from each typeface are enlarged and annotated to reveal key features, anatomical details, and the finer, often-overlooked elements of type design, which shows how these attributes affect mood and readability. Sidebar information lists the designer and foundry, the year of release and the different weights and styles available, while feature boxes explain the origins and best uses for each typeface, such as whether it is suitable for running text or as a display font for headlines.
Call Number: JFF 15-657ISBN: 9780500241424Publication Date: 2012
An introduction to the History of Printing Types... by
An introduction to the history of printing types. An illustrated summary of the main stages in the development of type design from 1440 up to the present day, an aid to type face identification.
Call Number: E-11 6971ISBN: 9780712345774
Applied Typeface : Japanese Style Typeface by
The expressiveness of type cannot be denied. By adjusting size or line weight, in bold or italics, with or without serifs and in fluid or straight lines, characters can be adapted to any need to evoke responses from the aesthetic to the emotional.
Call Number: Z246 .A66 2015ISBN: 9789881354266Publication Date: 2016-02-07
Letterform Variations by
Letterform Variations is the product of Nigel Cottier’s methodology for developing letterforms that are based partly on visual transformations generated by algorithmic functions, such as constraints, rules, grids, and modules, and partly on designerly judgements about composition, balance and visual dynamics.
Call Number: JQD 22-259ISBN: 9783948440350Publication Date: 2022
Modern Encyclopedia of Typefaces, 1960-1990 by
Some 1,200 type styles developed over the last 30 years. These are shown in variations (italic, bold...) with sources named.
Call Number: *R-RMRR Z250 .W238 1990bISBN: 9780442308094Publication Date: 1990-11-01
Nineteenth-Century Ornamented Type Faces by
Revised edition. History of the different firms followed by a bibliography describing both English and American type specimen books.
Call Number: *R-RMRR Z250.A2 G7 1976ISBN: 0520030745Publication Date: 1976-11-30
PostScript Typeface Library by
v. 1. Serif & Script -- v. 2. Sans Serif, Design, Outline & Ornaments.
Call Number: *R-RMRR Z250 .E84 1994ISBN: 0442014945Publication Date: 1994-03-01
Rookledge's International Type Finder.. by
Rookledge’s International Typefinder is a classic and essential reference.
Call Number: *R-RMRR Z250 .P42 1990Publication Date: 1990
Typefaces for Books by
This book serves the practical requirements of all those who are involved in specifying type for books.
Call Number: *R-RMRR Z250 .S936 1990ISBN: 9780712301909Publication Date: 1990
Type Graphics by
The choice of type and how it is used is the crucial element for effective design in any media, from print in award-winning magazines, to memorable book jackets and book design, to sensitive Web sites, to flashy snowboards. Type Graphics takes you into the studios, the minds and the range of work of more than 20 of the most influential designers of our time.
Call Number: 3-MNF 01-5768ISBN: 9781564967145Publication Date: 2000-11-15
Type Rules! by
Content: A brief history of type -- From metal to Mac: understanding font technology -- What makes a typeface look the way it does? -- Selecting the right type for the job -- Basic techniques for emphasis -- Advanced techniques for emphasis -- Basic fine-tuning and tweaking -- Advanced fine-tuning and tweaking -- Typographic typos and how to avoid them -- Signs, symbols, and dingbats -- Designing your own typeface.
Call Number: JBF 06-383ISBN: 9780471721147Publication Date: 2006-03-10
Typographic Specimens: the Great Typefaces by
Specimens of 38 of the finest type families in the world are brought together in Typographic Specimens: The Great Typefaces, making it an invaluable reference tool for graphic designers, editors, art directors, production managers, desktop publishers, and students. Each type family is shown in display and text specimens with complete fonts including italic and bold variations; extended families such as Futura and Univers include additional type weights and widths.
Call Number: *R-RMRR Z250 .T97 1993ISBN: 0442007582Publication Date: 1994-12-01
Typography: an encyclopedic survey of... by
A comprehensive survey and history of typography and alphabets, packed with 2,000 illustrations.
Call Number: *R-RMRR Z250.A2 F76 1998ISBN: 1579120237Publication Date: 1998-01-07
Why Fonts Matter by
Graphic designer Sarah Hyndman specializes in exploring how fonts influence us as type consumers; Why Fonts Matter synthesizes Hyndman's 20 years of experience as graphic designer with her typographic research and the findings of experimental psychologists and neuroscientists.
Call Number: Z250 .H96 2016ISBN: 9781584236313Publication Date: 2016-05-01
Type Design Specimens
American Specimen Book of Type Styles, Complete Catalogue of Printing Machinery and Printing Supplies. 1912. by
A magnificent look at the typefaces and equipment of the time.
Call Number: *IPX (American type founders, inc. American specimen book of type styles)Publication Date: 1912
The Handy Book of Artistic Printing by
The style was known as "artistic" and was quickly taken up by letterpress printers as the design idiom of choice for advertisements, packaging, and all of the other ephemera occasioned by the rapid expansion of America's economy. But just as quickly as this exuberant style was embraced, it fell abruptly out of favor. By century's end, the ornate bits of artistic printing were tossed into the gutter, and the style itself relegated to the dustbin of history.
Call Number: JQF 16-593ISBN: 9781568987057Publication Date: 2009-05-20
The Color Printer. A Treatise on the Use of Colors in Typographic Printing by
Standard work on the methodology of color printing, illustrated with 90 pages of plates showing examples of hundreds of applied color combinations, with corresponding text that provide helpful hints on successful application. A true manual, Earhart’s book offers information on colored inks, process of mixing colors, tints, half tones, composition, best presses, rollers, and papers to use in the color process, methods of embossing and a dictionary of terms.
Call Number: *IPR (Earhart, J. F. Color printer)Publication Date: 1892
Hand Job: a Catalog of Type by
Hand Job collects groundbreaking work from fifty of today's most talented typographers who draw by hand and includes photographs of found type, artists studios, and the tools that help make typography come to life.
Call Number: JQE 08-106ISBN: 9781568986265Publication Date: 2007-08-30
Letterpress Printing: a Manual for Modern Fine Press Printers by
Letterpress Printing is a comprehensive sourcebook for beginning and intermediate letterpress printers. Using clear explanations of technical terms and more than 80 illustrations, the manual describes presses, ink, paper, press operation, type, and photopolymer plates.
Call Number: JFF 06-990ISBN: 158456167XPublication Date: 2005-07-01
One Hundred Books Famous in Typography by
One Hundred Books Famous in Typography is the story of art and technology working in harmony with each other, all the way from Johannes Gutenberg's ingenious development of a system for reproducing texts through the introduction of newer technologies like hot-metal line casting, phototype, and digital type.
Call Number: JFF 21-916ISBN: 9781605830940Publication Date: 2022-03-14
Printing Types, Their History, Forms, and Use; a Study in Survivals by
A comprehensive study of types from the earliest times to the twentieth century, it traces the sequence of development in typography and discusses the relative importance of each period and the lesson that it holds for the modern printer. The 367 illustrations reproduce carefully selected pages from rare and beautiful books.
Call Number: *R-RMRR Z250.A2 U6 1962Publication Date: 1962
Specimens of Book, Job and Wood Type and Other Printing Material by
Preface signed: Harry G. Collins. Issued by the Collins Press, Boston.
Call Number: *IPX (Collins Press, Boston. Specimens of book, job and wood type)Publication Date: n.d.
Specimens of Chromatic Wood Type, Borders, and C. by
A reprint of the 1874 type specimen book, Specimens of Chromatic Wood Type and Borders. Considered one of the most beautiful books in the world, this new volume will have immediate appeal to graphic designers, artists, and artisans. With its beautiful antique typography, playful design, and masterful multi-colored printing.
Call Number: JQG 19-486ISBN: 9780847858682Publication Date: 2017-05-30
Specimens of Wood Type by
Specimens of wood type manufactured by the Wm. H. Page Wood Type Co.
Call Number: *IPX+ (Page (Wm. H.) & Company. Specimens of wood type)Publication Date: 1870-78
Type for Books by
Displays over 100 pages of type specimens shown in different sizes and leadings.
Call Number: *R-RMRR Z250 .M147 1976ISBN: 0370113098Publication Date: 1976-10-01
Typographic Design - Form and Communication by
Full-color throughout, Typographic Design is a source on the ins and outs of working with type. The new Fifth Edition is updated throughout, including many new images and case studies. It also contains new information on visual metaphor, analogy, metonymy, multi-modal typography, and new cultural developments in type.
Call Number: JFF 02-4522ISBN: 9780470648216Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Web Typography
Advertising Design and Typography by
This comprehensive overview of advertising design strategies helps students and professionals understand how to create ads that cut through the clutter. Design principles such as unity, contrast, hierarchy, dominance, scale, abstraction, and type-image relationships are thoroughly discussed.
Call Number: NC997 .W493 2007ISBN: 1621534812Publication Date: 2015-09-01
The Age of Data by
This book focuses on the esthetics and creativity of a new generation of designers who are using algorithm-supported tools along the vertical, from graphic design to 3D animation, kinetic objects and real-time visuals, to robotics and spatial installations, as well as hybrid approaches between digital and analog.
Call Number: JQF 22-1407ISBN: 9783721210156Publication Date: 2022-01-25
Arcade Game Typography by
Video game designers of the '70s, '80s, and '90s faced color and resolution limitations that stimulated incredible creativity. With each letter having to exist in a small pixel grid, artists began to use clever techniques to create elegant character sets within a tiny canvas. Arcade Game Typography features pixel typefaces carefully selected from the first decades of arcade video games.
Call Number: JQE 20-149ISBN: 0500021740Publication Date: 2019-10-29
Designer's Guide to Webtype by
The Designer's Guide to Web Type: Your Connection to the Best Fonts Online is a must-have reference guide for digital designers, graphic artists, new media artisans and typographers who use type as an aesthetic adjunct of their creativity.
Call Number: JBE 16-544ISBN: 9780060933739Publication Date: 2001-04-01
Electronic Publishing, Artistic Imaging, and Digital ... by
This book presents the refereed proceedings of the EP'98 and RIDT'98 conferences, held jointly during the Second International Week on Electronic Publishing and Typography in St. Malo, France, in March/April 1998.
Call Number: Z250.7 .I58 1998ISBN: 9783540642985Publication Date: 1998-03-18
Fonts and Encodings by
This reference is a complete guide to using fonts and typography on the Web and across a variety of operating systems and application software. Fonts & Encodings shows you how to take full advantage of the incredible number of typographic options available, with advanced material that covers everything from designing glyphs to developing software that creates and processes fonts.
Call Number: JQE 07-950ISBN: 9780596102425Publication Date: 2007-10-06
Indie Fonts 2 by
Indie Fonts 2 includes more than 1,600 diverse fonts from 19 of todays digital type foundries and features the best work of these designers.
Call Number: Z250.7 .I532 2003ISBN: 1592531245Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Revival Type: Digital Typefaces... by
Revival Type' is a collection of contemporary digital fonts with origins in the past. Examples include direct revivals of metal and wood typefaces, while others are looser interpretations of older typefaces.
Call Number: JFF 17-1282ISBN: 9780500241516Publication Date: 2017
Type in Use: Effective Typography... by
Organized by type application - text, headlines, subheadings, breakouts, captions and five more categories - this work provides information for designers and editors that can be applied to all print and non-print media.
Call Number: JFF 92-3702ISBN: 9780393730340Publication Date: 1999-06-01
Type on Screen: a Guide for Designers by
Type on Screen is a guide to using classic typographic concepts of form and structure to make dynamic compositions for screen-based applications. Covering a broad range of technologies--from electronic publications and websites to videos and mobile devices--this hands-on primer presents the latest information available to help designers make critical creative decisions, including how to choose typefaces for the screen, how to style beautiful, functional text and navigation, how to apply principles of animation to text, and how to generate new forms and experiences with code-based operations.
Call Number: Z246 .T87 2014ISBN: 9781616891701Publication Date: 2014-05-13
Typographic Design by
Thoroughly updated to maintain its relevancy in today's digital world, Typographic Design: Form and Communication, Fourth Edition continues to provide a comprehensive overview of every aspect of designing with type. Text in the field offers detailed coverage of such essential topics as the anatomy of letters and type families, visual communications and design aesthetics, and designing for legibility.
Call Number: JFF 07-337ISBN: 9780471783909Publication Date: 2006-11-03
