About
This selection of logo books aims to help one refine their skills, learn new techniques, or simply get inspired. They help simplify the subject matter and illustrate the process from sketchbook to final design. Branding books can enhance your skills and expand your creativity. They may help you brand yourself or your business.
Logo Design
The Big Book of Logos by
This incredible treasury of more than 2,500 logos were selected from over 10,000 submissions from the 500 best design firms in America. No wonder The Big Book of Logos has become a must-have for everyone interested in design. This classic reference source provides a huge variety of styles and techniques designers can flip through for inspiration.
Call Number: *R-SIBL NC 1002.L63 .B54 1999ISBN: 9780060558086Publication Date: 2003-04-29
The Big Book of Logos 3 by
A major resource book for logo designers, and inspiring showcase of effective logo design from all over the world. The variety of styles and techniques covered the complete creative spectrum. The Big Book of Logos became one of the best-selling graphics books of all time, the first best resource to consult when devising a new logo.
Call Number: *R-SIBL NC 1002.L63 .B54 2003ISBN: 9780060596880Publication Date: 2004-03-30
The Big Book of Logos 4 by
The fourth book in David E. Carter's perennially bestselling Big Book of Logos series. The Big Book of Logos 4 shows what's new and compelling in the world of logo design, providing endless inspiration for graphic designers in the critical idea-generating' phase. This collection showcases effective logo design from around the world; the variety of styles and techniques on display cover the complete creative spectrum.
Call Number: *R-SIBL NC1002 .L63 .B545 2006ISBN: 9780060891947Publication Date: 2006-05-23
The Big Book of Logos 5 by
The latest in the Big Book of Logos series is an indispensable tool for every logo designer, branding officer, and marketing manager working in today's high-stakes marketplace for effective creative design.
Call Number: *R-SIBL NC1002.L63 B54 2007ISBN: 9780061255748Publication Date: 2008-02-05
Logo, Revised Edition by
The book contains a vast visual collection of over 1,600 symbols and logotypes, including 300 brand new logos. All the logos are grouped into visual categories such as crosses, stars, crowns, animals and people, and are shown in black and white to further emphasize the visual form. The logos are from a diverse range of companies and includes design masters such as Paul Rand and Saul Bass alongside some of the most exciting work from contemporary designers. All logos are active and include household names like Disney, Apple, and Starbucks next to lesser known designs giving a comprehensive snapshot of the full scope of logo design.
Call Number: *R-ART NC1002.L63 E86 2020ISBN: 9781786275813Publication Date: 2021-02-16
The Logo Design Idea Book by
Arrows, swashes, swooshes, globes, sunbursts, and parallel, vertical and horizontal lines, words, letters, shapes and pictures. Logos are the most ubiquitous and essential of all graphic design devices, representing ideas, beliefs and, of course, things. They primarily identify products, businesses and institutions, but they are also associated, hopefully in a positive way, with the ethos or philosophy of those entities. The 50 logos in this book are examples of good ideas in the service of representation, reputation and identification.
Call Number: JQD 20-120ISBN: 9781786274120Publication Date: 2019-08-06
Logo Design That Works: secrets for successful logo design by
This hard-working title examines 100 logo designs by illustrating how and why the design works. Sidebars compare and contrast rough drafts of popular logos with their final versions, and short tips address issues such as testing designs, sourcing inspiration, and typography. As well, the evolution of well-known logos are traced by examining why design changes were made and how those changes benefited the client and were successful on the market.
Call Number: JQF 01-316ISBN: 9781564967596Publication Date: 2001-07-01
The Logo Design Toolbox: Time-Saving Templates by
With this toolbox of practical logo templates à la Neubau Welt, Alexander Tibelius provides designers with useful groundwork for implementing their own ideas.
Call Number: JQF 14-403ISBN: 9783899554823Publication Date: 2013-07-09
Logo Life by
In Logo Life, you can read the short history of the logo for Apple, Coca-Cola, Nike, and ninety-seven other logos for world-famous brands, seeing all the little steps and great leaps in the visual evolution of these logos as well as some of their most iconic uses in brand advertising.
Call Number: JQD 13-493ISBN: 9789063692605Publication Date: 2012-10-26
LogoLounge 6 by
Logos define, distinguish, and disseminate a company’s core message. It is no wonder that creating successful marks takes a well conceived strategy and a skilled hand. This book, the sixth in the series, once again celebrates the brilliant work top designers around the world have created for clients both large and small. This diverse collection offers a wealth of inspiration and insights for graphic designers and their clients.
Call Number: JBF 13-5ISBN: 9781592538249Publication Date: 2012-10-01
LogoLounge 7 by
This celebratory book, the seventh in the series, once again pays tribute to the brilliant work top designers around the world have created for a diverse clientele. This inspiring collection provides a wealth of insight for graphic designers and their clients.
Call Number: *R-SIBL NC1002.L63 G377 2012ISBN: 9781592537273Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Logo Modernism by
This publication brings together approximately 6,000 trademarks, focused on the period 1940-1980, to examine how modernist attitudes and imperatives gave birth to corporate identity. Ranging from media outfits to retail giants, airlines to art galleries, the sweeping survey is organized into three design-orientated chapters: Geometric, Effect, and Typographic. Each chapter is then sub-divided into form and style led sections such as alphabet, overlay, dots and squares.
Call Number: JQG 15-579ISBN: 9783836545303Publication Date: 2015-11-01
Logo savvy: top brand-design firms share their naming and identity strategies by
Logo Savvy will help readers understand how to define the right approach and achieve an innovative and unique solution for both the name and the logo design. Chapters showcase companies whose identities have evolved visually through the introduction of a great name, as well as companies which have developed a visual identity in tandem with a name. Case studies, corresponding side bars, and tips provide designers with the inspiration and tools they need to find the right approach for their own clients.
Call Number: *R-SIBL NC1002.L63 L657 2007ISBN: 9781592533046Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Logotype by
Logotype is the definitive modern collection of logotypes, monograms and other text-based corporate marks. Featuring more than 1,300 international typographic identities, by around 250 design studios, this is an indispensable handbook for every design studio, providing a valuable resource to draw on in branding and corporate identity projects.
Call Number: JQF 13-361ISBN: 9781856698948Publication Date: 2012-10-17
Los Logos:... by
A lavishly illustrated compilation of the works of a variety of international designers provides a definitive overview of contemporary logo design from around the world, demonstrating how a good logo distills an image or message into a simple, easily recognizable icon.
Call Number: JBF 03-354ISBN: 3931126927Publication Date: 2002-10-01
New Big Book of Logos by
This reliable, one-stop resource shows the best work of top graphics designers from more than five hundred firms across the United States. A treasure trove of inspiring ideas and ongoing reference for anyone concerned with logo design for corporations, retail establishments, restaurants, entertainment venues, and organizations of all kinds.
Call Number: JBF 00-1701ISBN: 0688178901Publication Date: 2000-07-01
Pentagram Marks: 400 Symbols and Logotypes by
The four hundred marks reproduced in this book represent the diverse array of identity work produced by Pentagram's partners, past and present, since the company was founded in 1972. Over the past four decades, Pentagram has designed marks for large corporations and small businesses, government agencies and non-profit institutions, clubs and societies, and even individuals, all of whom were seeking a representative symbol to appear on letterhead and books, buildings and websites, and everywhere else imaginable.
Call Number: NC1002.L63 P46 2010gISBN: 9781856696685Publication Date: 2010-05-05
Branding
Big Brand Theory by
Big Brand Theory is a compilation featuring the highest-profile branding campaigns and providing an invaluable resource guide for those wishing to understand the key elements of a successful brand. Case studies for key players such as Adidas, Colette, Converse, Starbucks, H&M, Nike, Isse Miyake, Lacoste, Levi's, Thonik, UNIQLO, and many more illustrate the crucial design elements essential to crafting a dynamic corporate identity.
Call Number: JQF 12-623ISBN: 9781584234456Publication Date: 2011
Branding USA by
This work showcases the brand-building work of forty-five American design firms, from prestigious studios to contemporry start-up graphics firms.
Call Number: *R-SIBL NC998.5.A1.P43ISBN: 9781932026214Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Brand Management Strategies by
Brand Management Strategies presents the brand experience on a market continuum from mass market to luxury, using diverse examples from Burberry to BMW, Coca-Cola to Chanel, and Starbucks to Starwood. This book details the proven steps necessary to develop, build, and sustain a successful brand strategy and business.
Call Number: *R-SIBL HF5415.1255 .D37ISBN: 9781501306679Publication Date: 2016-09-22
Creating a Brand Identity:... by
Creating a Brand Identity goes behind the scenes to explore the creative processes involved in designing a successful brand identity. Case studies throughout the book are illustrated with brand identities from a diverse range of industries including digital media, fashion, advertising, product design, packaging, retail, and more.
Call Number: HF5415.1255 .S54 2016ISBN: 9781780675626Publication Date: 2016-01-26
The Definitive Book of Branding by
A compilation of branding experts addresses the needs of branding professionals across the world. The book walks the reader through the different ways in which brands drive the company's strategy, bring meaning to employees, instill passion in consumers, and maintain their appeal over time and across countries. It does not look only at the marketing aspect of brands but also at the organizational aspects of branding.
Call Number: JBE 18-341ISBN: 9788132117735Publication Date: 2014-08-06
Designing Brand Identity by
From researching the competition to translating the vision of the CEO, to designing and implementing an integrated brand identity programme, the meticulous development process of designing a brand identity is presented through a highly visible step-by-step approach in five phases.
Call Number: JBF 09-1294ISBN: 9780470401422Publication Date: 2009-08-31
Do You Matter?: How Great Design... by
1. Design Matters -- 2. Do You Matter? -- 3. How To Matter -- 4. Being Design Driven -- 5. Your Brand Is Not Your Logo -- 6. Products As Portals -- 7. Your Products and Services Are Talking to People -- 8. Building a Design-Driven Culture -- 9. Go Forth and Matt
Call Number: TS171 .B79 2009ISBN: 9780137142446Publication Date: 2008-08-12
Dynamic Identities by
The visual book looks into design systems for brand identities that produces identities that are alive, meaning that they can change, generate new versions based on external data. The books offers a systematic process of creating brand identities that are alive and gives the reader a wealth of examples of international identities that were built on the discussed systems.
Call Number: JQF 14-270ISBN: 9789063693398Publication Date: 2013-12-31
First Things First!... by
This book presents real examples from shop owners and mechanics, dentists and organic farmers--businesses discovering corporate design for the first time--as well as from traditionally creative companies like marketing agencies or restaurants, and hotels. With profiles and photographs, it explores their novel approaches to corporate design.
Call Number: JQF 17-62ISBN: 9783899556711Publication Date: 2016-11-25
Fully Visualized by
Telling a brand's story through good graphics is one of the most direct and effective ways to introduce a brand to its market. With more than 100 designs by 80 designers and agencies, along with insights into the businesses being represented and the connection between product and presentation, Fully Visualized is the ultimate inspiration guide for designers and business owners looking to turn heads and set themselves apart from the crowd.
Call Number: JQF 19-1369ISBN: 9781584237044Publication Date: 2019-05-22
How Design Makes Us Think by
How Design Makes Us Think collects hundreds of examples across graphic design, product design, industrial design, and architecture to illustrate how design can inspire, provoke, amuse, anger, or reassure us.
Call Number: JQF 22-983ISBN: 9781616899776Publication Date: 2021-02-23
Identity Design Sourcebook by
Identity Design Sourcebook is a vast collection of identity projects broken down into three sections: corporate identities, online identities, and identity redesign projects.
Call Number: JQF 04-1790ISBN: 9781592530298Publication Date: 2004-03-01
Marks of Excellence by
Marks of Excellence offers a rigorous exploration of the trademark: its history, development, style, classification, and relevance in today's world. The book includes an extensive discussion of its origins in heraldry, monograms, owner's marks, and certificates of origins, and also contains a comprehensive taxonomy of trademarks and an alphabetical index of trademark themes.
Call Number: *R-SIBL T325 .M65 2013ISBN: 9780714864747Publication Date: 2013-05-06
Monochrome: Black & White... by
Stylish, noteworthy, and elegant, black and white is the preferred formal attire of brands, logos, and typefaces. As a result, designers keep coming back to explore their nuances and create original compositions integrating type, illustration, photography, and more. 'Monochrome' explores this iconic combination's versatility across a wide range of identity work including advertising, graphic and promotional design.
Call Number: JQF 14-757ISBN: 9781584235422Publication Date: 2014-04-15
Signs of Life Why Brands Matter by
A majestic sweep across the history and culture of brands and branding. Illustrated with photographs and images from the heyday of advertising in the 50s and 60s through to 21st-century designs
Call Number: HD69.B7 B357 2017ISBN: 9781911422105Publication Date: 2017-12-21
Start Me Up!: New Branding... by
Little brand, big effect: in the age of startups and a new generation of entrepreneurs, corporate design is being redefined through distinctive visual creativity. Start Me Up! is a comprehensive compendium of innovative corporate design for a new generation.
Call Number: JQF 15-522ISBN: 9783899555561Publication Date: 2015-01-15
TM: the Untold Stories Behind... by
TM offers graphic designers and those interested in the history of design and branding a uniquely detailed look at a select group of the very best visual identities. The book takes 29 internationally recognized logos and explains their development, design, usage, and purpose.
Call Number: JQF 14-1058ISBN: 9781780671659Publication Date: 2014-09-23
