Research Guides: Marketing Research And Planning For Your Business: THE PEOPLE or Target Market or Target Consumer

WHO WILL WANT/NEED YOUR PRODUCT OR SERVICE?

Focus on a specific target consumer group, based on the following:

Consider age, gender, lifestyle, interest, geographic location, etc., value sets, education, employment, income level, ethnic identity, brand loyalty
Consider psychographics: emotional and psychological motivations in purchase decisions
Explore influencing factors in buying or using a product or service.
Is it price or location or brand loyalty or other reasons?
Who is using or buying competition?

DATABASES

Mintel
Mintel Restricted: This database is accessible at certain NYPL locations only. Please see description for details.
Mintel is the expert in what consumers want and why. As the world’s leading market intelligence agency, their analysis of consumers, markets, new products and competitive landscapes provides a unique perspective on global and local economies.
Mintel is the rich source of data regarding people's usage of and attitude towards various product and service categories.
SimplyAnalytics Restricted: This database is accessible at certain NYPL locations only. Please see description for details.
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application that makes it easy for anyone to create interactive maps, charts, and reports using 100,000+ data variables. Answering questions using premium demographic, business, health, and marketing data has never been easier.
This database is only accessible at the following NYPL locations: Thomas Yoseloff Business Center
Users will be asked to create a profile prior to proceeding to the reports. NYPL's subscription is for view only. No printing, no downloading, no copying, no reproduction by any digital device of Mintel content. Users are reminded that the Library expects and will enforce strict adherence to copyright regulations and to the conditions of access under which Mintel access is provided.
Reference Solutions
Check out the U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles to get an idea of who might be using products or services in your category. Reference USA can be localized by state, city, zip code, and county, and has other filters tailored to your search.
ProQuest Research Library
Contains a great number of articles on consumer behavior.
ProQuest Research Library contains articles from over 2600 newspapers and periodicals covering the arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences. Of those journals approximately 1700 are available with the full text and/or image.
Mergent Intellect
The demographic search results include the latest census data by zip code, MSA or Industry. Content includes income per household, average house value, population breakdown. A special feature is the PRIZM Premier, which classifies every U.S. household into one of 68 consumer segments based on the household's purchasing preferences. Also offers a complete set of ancillary databases and links to third-party data, allowing marketers to use data outside of their own customer files to pinpoint products and services that their best customers are most likely to use, as well as locate their best customers on the ground. PRIZM Premier enables marketers to create a complete portrait of their customers to understand, find and engage with their best clients and prospects.
SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics includes thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

S tatista -- Statista is the one-stop shop for valuable marketing information. Reports provide a range of statistics and facts about market, both local and global, which include market overview, international trade, and leading companies, as well as consumer preferences and industry revenues.

WHO WANTS ICE CREAM?

BOOKS

Listen Up! by Karen Mangia
ISBN: 9781119723851
Publication Date: 2020-10-20
Learn how to fully understand the number one source of your organization's prosperity, profits and productivity. These actionable insights will help you to better connect with your customers and gain an undeniable over your competition.
Consumer Behaviour and Analytics by Andrew Smith
ISBN: 9781138592650
Publication Date: 2019-08-27
Consumer Behaviour and Analytics provides a consumer behaviour textbook for the new marketing reality. In a world of Big Data, machine learning and AI, this key text reviews the issues, research and concepts essential for navigating this new terrain. It demonstrates how we can use data-driven insight and merge this with insight from extant research to inform knowledge-driven decision making.

SURVEY TOOLS

FOR REVIEWS ON FEE-BASED AND FREE SURVEYS