WHAT IS YOUR PRODUCT OR SERVICE?
Know in-depth what is your product or service. Describe in detail, including both good and bad aspects. Answer some basic questions:
-
What is the product's/service's main reason for being in the market?
-
If a tangible product, consider its attributes, such as taste, feel, look, sound, and and/or function
-
If a service, consider consumer satisfaction, in terms of convenience, comfort, etc.
- What consumer need is it going to satisfy? (To the extent that you can, explore the various levels of needs that come to mind: physical, psychological, emotional.)
- What makes it stand out vs. competition
- To what industry does it belong?
- Who is your competition? How is your product the same as/different from/better or worse than competition’s?
DATABASES
- Business Insights: EssentialsBesides industry descriptions, you'll also find the most current articles related to your business.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowThe Business Source Complete database includes full text business journals and magazines, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
This database is perfect for doing an article search for additional up-to-date information regarding the multiple aspects of your product, service, or business. - IBISWorldIbisWorld is user-friendly and provides a rich collection of comprehensive industry reports in many small and major industries, featuring the following:
* comprehensive data and analysis that is easy to read and digest
* reports that cover industries in the US, Canada, Australia, Germany, UK and New Zealand
* copy & paste charts, graphs and images for use in presentations and decks
* individual reports that are 30-40 pages and all follow the same table of contents
* frequently updated reports - First ResearchFirst Research's knowledge tools (Industry Profiles, Call Prep Sheets, State & Province Profiles) are essential for effective understanding of your industry.
First Research delivers clear, consistent and timely Industry Intelligence via:
* dynamic fresh News & Social content and daily alerts
* nearly 500 Industry Profiles
* quarterly Industry Alerts to stay abreast of changes in the industries that are most important to you. - Plunkett Research OnlineIndustry trends,market research and trends organized in 32 industry research centers. Plunkett provides numerous valuable statistics, industry data, company contacts, organizations, market trends and more. Also, see the new research center for job seekers. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Hoover's
Directory for company & industry information for 43,000 private & public companies, & 600 industries. Please note: no downloading or emailing of records is enabled for this database. Only Print and View are enabled, and e-mailing records to view outside of the Library will not work. You must be in the Business Center to open any data. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
|
HOW MANY WAYS CAN YOU DESCRIBE YOUR PRODUCT OR SERVICE?
|
|
|
|
WHO ARE YOUR COMPETITORS?
|
BOOKS
The Product Manager's Survival Guide, Second Edition: Everything You Need to Know to Succeed As a Product Manager by ISBN: 1260135233Publication Date: 2019-07-01Advance in your product management career and create innovative products that customers love! Regardless of industry or sector, to compete in today's business world, product managers must understand how their customer's preferences change, how technology evolves, and how anticipate what competitors might do.
The Activation Imperative by ISBN: 1538114666Publication Date: 2018-01-26In The Activation Imperative, William Rosen and Laurence Minsky provide a straightforward guide for marketers to move beyond building brands to activating them--from simply projecting what a brand is to optimizing what it does--to move people closer to transaction.
