Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Marketing Research And Planning For Your Business: THE PROMOTIONS

A guide introducing you to the basics of marketing and recommending which databases to use for effective research results.

HOW WILL CONSUMERS KNOW THAT YOUR PRODUCT OR SERVICE EXISTS?

Know what you can get for free and what will cost money.

  • word-of-mouth
  • advertising campaign
  • PR activity
  • campaign offering free gifts, samples or trading stamps
  • Store demonstrations or exhibitions
  • Price-off sale
  • E-mail or direct mail activities
  • Social media such as Twitter, FaceBook, YouTube

DATABASES

SRRestricted: This database is accessible at certain NYPL locations only. Please see description for details.DS  -- This database provides extensive information on media opportunities, rates, media rates and media usage numbers. Covers traditional media such as magazines, newspapers, television, and radio as well as alternative marketing opportunities such as online, out-of-home, and direct marketing. Catalogs more than 60,000 media properties in all. Also includes Nielsen Segmentation & Market Solutions, a feature that supports market research using Nielsen Claritas and PRIZM data.

 Accessible at all NYPL locations and outside the Library with your NYPL card EBSCOHost  -- Enter the search term "sales promotions" to get the latest articles and ideas on sales promotions activities and strategies.

Accessible at all NYPL locations and outside the Library with your NYPL card Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media  -- Contains listings for radio and television stations and cable companies. Print media entries provide address; phone, fax numbers, and e-mail addresses; key personnel, including feature editors; and much more. Broadcast media entries provide address; phone, fax, and e-mail addresses; key personnel; owner information; hours of operation; networks carried and more. Scope includes U.S., Canadian, and international media.

Accessible at all NYPL locations and outside the Library with your NYPL card  e-Marketer  Market research reports, data, charts, about anything "e":e-commerce, internet, social media, digital, technology use and adoption,online advertising, mobile, marketing, demographics and more. eMarketer aggregates and analyzes research from 1,700+ sources and produces analyst reports, statistics, and and charting features.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

NEW! DIGITAL MARKETING

WHAT IS IT?

Falling under the umbrella of Promotions in the marketing mix, Digital Marketing means the use of digital technologies to connect with your target market, and defined thus:

"Digital marketing is the marketing process of building awareness and promoting a brand or product online using all available digital channels.

The major components of digital marketing are:

Online Marketing Channels – Website marketingSEM (search engine marketing – includes SEO and Pay per click advertising), mobile marketing (i.e. Google Play, Apple Store), email marketing, online banner advertising, video marketing, and Social Media marketing.

Offline Digital Channels – Television, Radio, SMS, digital billboards (indoor and outdoor)"

Source: Digital Marketing Agency

DOES YOUR BUSINESS NEED IT?

Your answer to these questions can help you decide:

  • Is your competition using it?
  • Are you satisfied with the current number of customers you have?
  • Are you reaching your target market in the most efficient way possible?
  • Are you happy with your current business performance without the use of digital marketing?
  • Will you be competitive without digital marketing?
  • How much progress do you see for your business without digital marketing?

 

________===========_

E-BOOKS

Book JacketUnderstanding Digital Marketing : Marketing Strategies for Engaging the Digital Generation

Understanding Digital Marketing is a practical, no-nonsense guide to digital marketing, the rules of new media and understanding the behaviours of the new generation of digital consumers. Thoroughly revised, this fourth edition features more information, fresh examples and case studies, and in-depth insider accounts of the latest developments in the industry from internationally recognized brands and digital marketing campaigns.

Ryan D. Understanding Digital Marketing : Marketing Strategies for Engaging the Digital Generation. Vol Fourth edition. Kogan Page; 2017. Accessed August 27, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com.i.ezproxy.nypl.org/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000tna&AN=1406070&site=ehost-live

 

Book JacketDIGITAL MARKETING IN THE ZONE : The Ultimate System for Digital Marketing Success

In this age of marketing complexity, some marketers have risen above the fray and are accelerating the results of their digital marketing campaigns. They have a complete view of the market and their place in it, and have developed strategies and plans that work. Along with their professional frustrations, they experience negative emotions and are never totally happy with their work. Digital Marketing in the Zone breaks through the clutter and provides a clear blueprint to enable marketers to be confident and successful in Digital Marketing.

RESKE D. DIGITAL MARKETING IN THE ZONE : The Ultimate System for Digital Marketing Success; Morgan James Publishing; 2017. Accessed August 27, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com.i.ezproxy.nypl.org/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000tna&AN=1679258&site=ehost-live

 

Book JacketDigital Marketer

Digital marketing is now essential to making products and services a success and digital marketers are more and more in demand. This book is your guide to becoming an efficient and effective digital marketer, covering the expertise and array of skills you will need; how to stay current and future-proof your career; useful digital marketing tools, channels, frameworks and procedures; how to measure campaign success, and how to take the next steps to advance your digital marketing career.

Brown E, Aoki B. Digital Marketer. BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT; 2018. Accessed August 27, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com.i.ezproxy.nypl.org/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000tna&AN=1933571&site=ehost-live

 

 

APPEAL IS THE WORD!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

HOW WILL YOU REACH CONSUMERS TO TELL YOUR STORY?

 

undefined

 

 

 

 

 

 

REACHING CONSUMERS THE DIGITAL WAY

File:IMMERSION.001.jpg - Wikipedia

BUSINESS CENTER LIBRARY GUIDES

Advertising Planning for Your Business -- takes you through the efficient thought process of how to design an advertising plan, from background information to actual execution.

Digital Marketing Planning for Your Business -- This guide is designed to help business persons understand the concept and practice of digital marketing and steer them in the right direction when applying it to their business.