HOW MUCH WILL YOUR PRODUCT OR SERVICE COST?
Know basic cost of goods vs. price to consumer. What pricing strategy will you use?
- Consider the lifecycle stage of your business. Are you: just starting your business, in the growth and establishment phase, or trying to expand your business?
- Consider break-even point vs. profitability
-
Consider t he consumers’ perceptions of value vs. price
DATABASES TO TRY:
- IBISWorldThe "Key Statistics" feature in this database provides individual industry financial ratios taken from the RMA reports.
- Hoover's
NOTE: No Downloading or emailing of records is enabled for this database. Printing only or PDF profile of an individual company. Directory for company & industry information for 43,000 private & public companies, & 600 industries. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Reference Solutions
Reference Solutions, formerly known as Reference USA, provides addresses, sales information, executives, for over 16 million verified businesses, and now includes job listings. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- DINKYTOWN.NETDinkytown.net has a number of business and financial calculators which can help you estimate your profitability.
PRICE OF A CONE VS. PRICE OF A SMILE?
MORE DATABASES TO TRY
- Key Business Ratios on the WebKey Business Ratios on the Web (KBR) provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data. This powerful tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B®’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.
- Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new windowType "pricing strategy" in the search box for a list of pricing strategy options.
- Gale eBooksUnder the "PRODUCT MENU," choose, "E-BOOKS,." Type "Pricing" in the search box and a number of topics that include the word "PRICING" will appear. Choose the topic that will best answer your question on pricing.
BOOKS
Mathematics for Retail Buying by ISBN: 9781501315664Publication Date: 2016-03-10Mathematics for Retail Buying, 8th Edition, introduces merchandising and retailing students to the most important concepts in retail math through step-by-step examples with practice problems and solutions. Coverage begins with the skeletal profit and loss statement, and moves through retail pricing and repricing of merchandise, markups, markdowns, the retail method of inventory, six-month, and assortment planning.
