Electronic Journals
Subscription Databases
- America: History and Life with Full Text
Indexes the scholarly literature of the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals dating back nearly 60 years.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Ancestry Library Edition
Access billions of names in thousands of genealogical databases including Census and Vital Records, birth, marriage and death notices, the Social Security Death Index, Passenger lists and naturalizations, Military and Holocaust Records, City Directories, New York Emigrant Savings Bank records, and African American and Native American Records. Library version of Ancestry.com.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Encyclopedia Judaica
Full-text searchable database of the 22 volumes. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Index to Jewish Periodicals
Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Jewish Life in America c.1654-1954
A history of Jewish communities in America through essays, interactive maps, the American Jewish Year Book, biographies, and other primary source materials. Sources from the American Jewish Historical Society. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of JSTOR. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Periodicals Archive Online
An interdisciplinary digital archive of hundreds of full text journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Dates of Coverage: 1915-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Periodicals Index Online
A database of millions of citations for articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, across more than 300 years. Over 6,000 journals are included. Journals indexed span 37 key subject subject areas and multiple languages. Dates of Coverage: 1665-1995, but varies according to publication. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ProQuest Historical Jewish Newspapers
Simultaneous search of the The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), The American Israelite (1874-2000), Boston Advocate (1905-1909), The Israelite (1854-1874), The Jerusalem Post (1950-1988), the Jewish Advocate (1905-1990) and The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), and Palestine Post (1933-1950). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950
Correspondence, reports, and analysis of U.S-Vatican relations during World War II. An Archives Unbound platform of materials from the United States National Archives. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Websites
- American Jewish ArchivesMajor American Jewish archive, with catalog, finding aids, digital collections, and research resources.
- American Jewish Committee ArchivesMore than a million documents, and hundreds of movies and radio shows, from the New York-based American Jewish Committee Archives.
- American Jewish Committee Oral History Collection2,250 oral history interviews from the American Jewish Committee; 350 are online.
- Be'chol Lashon"Strengthens Jewish identity by raising awareness about the ethnic, racial and cultural diversity of Jewish people and experience around the globe".
- Celebrating African American JewsBlog post on African American Jewish authors and achievers in scholarship, literature, community work, arts, and culture.
General History
Ambivalent Embrace: Jewish upward mobility in postwar America by ISBN: 9781469635422Publication Date: 2017-11-06
American Jewish History by Publication Date: 2007- The fighting rabbis : Jewish military chaplains and American history by Publication Date: 1999
- Jews and booze : becoming American in the age of prohibition by Publication Date: 2012
- Jews and the Civil War : a reader by Publication Date: 2010
- The synagogue in America: a short history by Publication Date: 2011
Immigration and Identity
After They Closed the Gates: Jewish illegal immigration to the United States, 1921-1965 by ISBN: 9780226122458Publication Date: 2014-03-28
All Together Different: Yiddish Socialists, garment workers, and the Labor roots of multiculturalism by ISBN: 9780814748367Publication Date: 2011
Bread to Eat and Clothes to Wear: letters from Jewish migrants in the early twentieth century by ISBN: 9780814335192Publication Date: 2011
The Colors of Jews: racial politics and radical diasporism by ISBN: 9780253349026Publication Date: 2007-06-14
Dispersing the Ghetto: the relocation of Jewish immigrants across America by ISBN: 0801435226Publication Date: 1999
From the Shahs to Los Angeles" three generations of Iranian Jewish women between religion and culture by ISBN: 9781438443836Publication Date: 2012
JewAsian: race, religion, and identity for America's newest Jews by ISBN: 9780803285651Publication Date: 2016-07-01
The New Jewish Diaspora: Russian-speaking immigrants in the United States, Israel, and Germany by ISBN: 9780813576299Publication Date: 2016-07-27- Sephardi and Mizrahi Jews in America : the Jewish role in American lifePublication Date: 2015
Whiteness of a Different Color: European immigrants and the alchemy of race by ISBN: 0674063716Publication Date: 1998-09-30
American Judaism
American Post-Judaism: identity and renewal in a postethnic society by ISBN: 9780253008022Publication Date: 2013
Jews, God, and Videotape: Religion and Media in America by ISBN: 9780814740675Publication Date: 2009- Speaking of Jews: rabbis, intellectuals, and the creation of an American public identity by ISBN: 9780520256804Publication Date: 2009
- The synagogue in America: a short history by Publication Date: 2011
Who Rules the Synagogue? : religious authority and the formation of American Judaism by ISBN: 9780190490270Publication Date: 2016
