Subscription Databases
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Contains 51 digitized archival collections exploring LGBTQ history and culture since 1940. Includes three collections held by NYPL: The Mattachine Society of New York Records, 1951-1976; Gay Activists Alliance, 1970-1983; and ACT UP: The AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power. Other collections originate from institutions like the Lesbian Herstory Archives and the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Historical Society. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- LGBT Life with Full Text
LGBT Life provides complete indexing and abstracting of content related to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender studies in over 230 journals, magazines, and newspapers. LGBT Life also provides full text from a number of important sources including monographs and publications such as The Advocate, New York Blade, and Out. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
American Jewish History
Ambivalent Embrace: Jewish upward mobility in postwar America by ISBN: 9781469635422Publication Date: 2017-11-06
Common Sense and a Little Fire, Second Edition : Women and Working-Class Politics in the United States, 1900-1965 by ISBN: 0807821993Publication Date: 2017
From the Shahs to Los Angeles: three generations of Iranian Jewish women between religion and culture by ISBN: 9781438443836Publication Date: 2012
A Jewish Feminine Mystique? : Jewish women in postwar America by ISBN: 9780813547916Publication Date: 2010
Memories of Migration : gender, ethnicity, and work in the lives of Jewish and Italian women in New York, 1870-1924 by ISBN: 0791427625Publication Date: 1996
Talking Back: images of Jewish women in American popular culture by ISBN: 0874518415Publication Date: 1998
Gender and World Jewish History
Gender and the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict : the politics of women's resistance by ISBN: 0815626436Publication Date: 1994
Marked in Your Flesh circumcision from ancient Judea to modern America by ISBN: 9780195176742Publication Date: 2005
Sexual Violence Against Jewish Women During the Holocaust by ISBN: 9781584659044Publication Date: 2010
Gender, Sexuality, and Judaism
Balancing on the mechitza : transgender in Jewish community by ISBN: 1583949712Publication Date: 2010
Hermeneutics of Holiness: ancient Jewish and Christian notions of sexuality and religious community by ISBN: 9780199736485Publication Date: 2010
The Meneket Rivkah : a manual of wisdom and piety for Jewish women by ISBN: 9780827608351Publication Date: 2009
Reading the women of the bible : a new interpretation of their stories by ISBN: 9780307490001Publication Date: 2014
Seyder Tkhines: the forgotten book of common prayer for Jewish women by ISBN: 0827607733Publication Date: 2004-08-11
Websites
- 'Unorthodox' Reading Companions: Going Off the Derech with Quarantine's Hottest Show (NYPL)Blog post on literature by and about those who have left religious Jewish communities.
- Celebrating Jewish LGBT Pride (NYPL)Blog post celebrating the achievements of LGBT Jews in history and in the Library’s collection.
- Celebrating Transgender Jews (NYPL)Blog post celebrating transgender Jews with inspiring stories and recommended reading.
- Honoring LGBT Jewish Holocaust Survivors (NYPL)Blog post with short biographies of several individuals, with links to related publications and online resources.
- In Other Words: Yiddish Women in Translation Month (NYPL, 2020)Overview of Yiddish writing by women published in English translation in the last three years.
- Jewish Women: Comprehensive Historical EncyclopediaOnline encyclopedia devoted to biographies and coverage of topics on Jewish women.
- My Jewish Learning: Gender and SexualityArticles on a variety of issues of gender and sexuality in Judaism.
- RAMBI: Index to Articles on Jewish StudiesA selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel.
- Women in Translation Month: Yiddish (NYPL, 2017)Overview of Yiddish writing by women in English translation up to 2017; includes poetry, fiction, memoirs, prayers, and cookbooks from the Library’s collection.
- The Nicki Newman Tanner Oral History Collection (Jewish Women's Archive)Hundreds of interviews with leaders, activists, and community members across the U.S., documenting their encounters with major events and movements of the 20th and 21st centuries and the many ways that gender, class, place, and religious and ethnic identities have shaped women’s lives.
Biography and Memoir
Becoming Eve : my journey from ultra-Orthodox rabbi to transgender woman by ISBN: 9781541619142Publication Date: 2019
A Dangerous Woman: the life, loves, and scandals of Adah Isaacs Menken, 1835-1868, America's original superstar by ISBN: 9781599216027Publication Date: 2011
The elusive embrace : desire and the riddle of identity by ISBN: 9780307809872Publication Date: 2000
Immigrant Girl, Radical Woman : a memoir from the early twentieth century by ISBN: 9781501712128Publication Date: 2017
The lady in gold : the extraordinary tale of Gustav Klimt's masterpiece, Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer by ISBN: 9780307957566Publication Date: 2012
My Life As a Radical Jewish Woman: memoirs of a Zionist feminist in Poland / Puah Rakovsky by ISBN: 9780253108579Publication Date: 2001
The Salome Ensemble: Rose Pastor Stokes, Anzia Yezierska, Sonya Levien, and Jetta Goudal by ISBN: 9780815634423Publication Date: 2016
LGBTQ Studies
- Balancing on the mechitza : transgender in Jewish community by ISBN: 1583949712Publication Date: 2010
- Becoming Eve : my journey from ultra-Orthodox rabbi to transgender woman by ISBN: 9781541619142Publication Date: 2019
- The elusive embrace : desire and the riddle of identity by ISBN: 9780307809872Publication Date: 2000
The Family Flamboyant : race politics, queer families, Jewish lives by ISBN: 9780791468937Publication Date: 2006
Sappho in the Holy Land: lesbian existence and dilemmas in contemporary Israel by ISBN: 0791463184Publication Date: 2004
Torah Queeries : weekly commentaries on the Hebrew Bible by ISBN: 9780814720127Publication Date: 2009
