Databases
- Ancestry Library Edition
Access billions of names in thousands of genealogical databases including Census and Vital Records, birth, marriage and death notices, the Social Security Death Index, Passenger lists and naturalizations, Military and Holocaust Records, City Directories, New York Emigrant Savings Bank records, and African American and Native American Records. Library version of Ancestry.com.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Family Search This link opens in a new window
Operated by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS), this free website offers a variety of genealogical databases, access to unindexed images of genealogical records, the Social Security Death Index, wiki entries describing various types of genealogical research, and access to the Family History Library's catalog. Free access to the 1940 United States Federal Census.
- Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com is the largest online newspaper archive consisting of 300+ million pages of historical newspapers from 11,100+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond, with a special focus on full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers. The collection includes a broad range of dates, mostly covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of ProQuest and its partner Newspapers.com. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ProQuest Historical Jewish Newspapers
Simultaneous search of the The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), The American Israelite (1874-2000), Boston Advocate (1905-1909), The Israelite (1854-1874), The Jerusalem Post (1950-1988), the Jewish Advocate (1905-1990) and The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), and Palestine Post (1933-1950). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Websites
- Ackman & Ziff Family Genealogy InstituteProvides access to a wealth of genealogical resources through the Center for Jewish History’s partner collections and the Institute’s extensive reference collection, online databases, and research guides.
- Avotaynu - Jewish Genealogy"The leading publisher of products of interest to persons who are researching Jewish genealogy, Jewish family trees or Jewish roots".
- Genealogy (Yiddish Research) - NYPLWebsites and reference books for genealogy research about historically Yiddish speaking populations; guide to landsmanshaftn (hometown associations).
- Genealogy Essentials - Free Classes at NYPLOngoing schedule of free genealogy classes offered by NYPL.
- Genealogy: Getting Started at The New York Public LibraryA guide to getting started with genealogical research at The New York Public Library
Electronic Books
This Noble House: Jewish descendants of King David in the medieval Islamic East by ISBN: 9780812244090Publication Date: 2012
