Digitized Jewish Newspapers
Image: Front page of the Forverts, March 29, 1911 NYPL Digital Collections psnypl_jwd_222
This page includes links to databases, websites, and digitized newspapers.
See also E Journals for a complete list of NYPL's current Jewish ejournals.
Not finding what you need here?
Try our guide to Reading Jewish Newspapers at the New York Public Library
Check the catalog to see the Library's complete holdings
Use your Library card to order free scans of articles.
Need help? Contact us at dorotjewish@nypl.org
Free Websites
- Alliance Israélite Universelle Digital LibraryDigitized publications and documents from the Alliance Israélite Universelle in Paris.
- Digital Archive of the Cleveland Jewish NewsThis site has digitized Jewish newspapers from Cleveland: Hebrew Observer, Jewish Independent, Jewish Review, Jewish Review and Observer, Idishe velt.
- Florida Jewish Newspaper ProjectDigitized Florida Jewish newspapers; part of the free Ethnic Newspapers from Florida database.
- Fulton SearchAlternative search interface for over 47,059,000 historical newspaper pages from the United States.
- Historical Jewish Press (JPress)A project of National Library of Israel and Tel Aviv University and a digital gateway to 230 historical Jewish newspapers in different languages,
- Indeḳs tsu der yidish periodiḳ = Index to Yiddish periodicals.A comprehensive bibliographical database that assists with articles' search in 800 Yiddish newspapers and journals.
- Jewish Digital Collections: Newspapers and MagazinesLinks to digitized Jewish newspapers and magazines, compiled by Diane Romm.
- Jewish Telegraphic Agency .Daily news site covering Jewish topics worldwide; includes searchable online archive dating back to 1923
- Pittsburgh Jewish Newspapers (Carnegie Mellon University)The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project brings together papers held by the Rodef Shalom Congregation, the Heinz History Center, and the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, dating from 1895 - 2010.
- RAMBI - Index of Articles on Jewish StudiesA selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel.
- The Trove: Australian Jewish NewspapersFree searchable database of Australian Jewish community newspapers, including 15 digitized titles spanning from 1871-2008.
- Union List of Digitized Jewish Historic Newspapers, Periodicals and e-JournalsComprehensive list of digitized Jewish press in various languages and locations, in Hebrew and Roman script.
- World Jewish Newspapers & Periodicals on MicrofilmList of microfilmed Jewish periodicals from around the world, held by The New York Public Library. Organized by title, language, decade, and place of publication.
Historical Jewish Newspapers - English
- AsmoneanThis set covers 1849-1948.
- B'nai B'rith MessengerThis set covers only the years 1936-1949.
- Carolina IsraeliteIncomplete set. 1944-1958 (total 44 issues(
- Jewish bulletin of Northern California1991-2018.
- Jewish Chronicle (Newark, N.J.)This set covers 1921-1943, 1080 issues.
- Jewish Exponent [Philadelphia]1887-2022, with gaps.
- Jewish Journal (Deerfield Beach, FL)1956-2020, with substantial gaps.
- Jewish Journal (New Brunswick, N.J.)This set covers 1956-1971, 361 issues.
- Jewish news of greater Phoenix (Phoenix, Ariz.)This set covers 1991-2019.
- Jewish News of Northern CaliforniaFree, full-text coverage from 1894-present.
- MetroWest Jewish News1995-1997.
- Reform Advocate (Chicago)This set covers 1893-1942, with some exceptions.
Historical Jewish Newspapers - Russian
- Novoe Russoe SlovoYears covered 1917-2010 (with some exceptions). One of the most important historical Russian language immigrant newspapers in the US with many articles pertaining to Jewish life in the US, Russia and Eastern and Central Europe.
Current Jewish Newspapers - Available Online with your Library card
Subscription Databases
- Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971
More than 50 searchable newspapers from the former Balch Institute of Ethnic Studies. More titles and languages to come. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of Readex/Newsbank. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Ethnic NewsWatch (1959-present)
Collection of ethnic, minority, and native newspapers, magazines, and journals published in America. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com is the largest online newspaper archive consisting of 300+ million pages of historical newspapers from 11,100+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond, with a special focus on full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers. The collection includes a broad range of dates, mostly covering the 19th and 20th centuries. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- New York Times (1851-2020) w/ Index This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and page images from The New York Times archive with the option to search by subject headings (index covers 1851-1993). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- New York Times (1851-2020) w/ Index This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and page images from The New York Times archive with the option to search by subject headings (index covers 1851-1993). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ProQuest Historical Jewish Newspapers
Simultaneous search of the The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), The American Israelite (1874-2000), Boston Advocate (1905-1909), The Israelite (1854-1874), The Jerusalem Post (1950-1988), the Jewish Advocate (1905-1990) and The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), and Palestine Post (1933-1950). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and page images of all ProQuest Historical Newspaper databases, which include titles related to New York, Chicago, Atlanta, Baltimore, Los Angeles, Washington, D.C., the American Jewish Newspaper Series, and the United Kingdom. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- PressReader
Provides access to current newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes nearly 7,000 U.S. and international titles. Registering as a user with the site is optional and allows for personalized, saved settings. Patrons should consult PressReader's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy before registering. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Historical Jewish Newspapers - Yiddish
- Der For-arbeṭer = Fur worker : ofitsyeler organ fun der Inṭerneshonal for-arbeṭer yunyon fun di Fareynigṭe shṭaṭn un Ḳanade (ongeshlosn on der Si-Ay-O)The electronic version covers 1916-1931. The set is incomplete.
- Der Morgen Zshurnal (The Jewish Morning Journal)This set is incomplete and covers 1910-1915, 1762 issues. The more complete set is available through JPress website: https://web.nli.org.il/sites/JPress/English/Pages/The-Jewish-Morning-Journal.aspx
- Der Morgen Zshurnal (The Jewish Morning Journal)Covers 1906-1951.
- Der Tog (The Day)Cover 1914-1971.
- Di Arbayter Tsaytung = Arbeiter Zeitung = Workman's paper (New York, N.Y.)This set covers 1890-1902, 644 issues.
- Fraye arbayter shtimeCovers 1890-1977.
- Yidishes tageblatt = The Jewish daily newsThis set covers 1916-1922 and includes total of 2007 issues. The more complete set is available through JPress website: https://web.nli.org.il/sites/JPress/English/Pages/YTB.aspx
- Yidishes tageblatt = The Jewish daily newsCovers 1906-1923.
Historical Jewish Newspapers - Ladino
- El Progresso, La Boz del Pueblo, La Époka de Nu York (New York)Years available: 1915-1920.
- La Amérika (New York)Years available: 1910-1925.
- La luz = The light (New York)This set covers issues for 1921. Another set is available through the Jewish Historical Press project.
Historical Jewish Newspapers - German
Current Jewish Periodicals (Print Format)
| Periodical | Call Number | Publication Info |
| A.B. : Samaritan news א. ב. : חדשות השומרונים |
*PFQ+ 77-1725 | Holon חולון |
| Alei sefer עלי ספר |
*PAA 76-5677 | רמת-גן : אוניברסיטת בר-אילן, 5791- Ramat-Gan : Universiṭat Bar-Ilan, 1975- |
| American free press | *PZE+ 01-234 | Washington, D.C. : National News Reporting Co., 2001- |
| American Israelite | *PBD (American Israelite) | Cincinnati, Ohio : Isaac M. Wise |
| Asya אסיא |
*PMP 82-2485 | Yerushalayim : ha-Makhon ʻa. sh. Dr. Falḳ Shlezinger zal le-hẹkẹr ha-refuʼah ʻal-pi ha-Torah ירושלים : המכון ע"ש ד"ר פלק שלזינגר ז"ל לחקר הרפואה על-פי התורה |
| Aufbau | *PBC 05-125 | New York, N.Y. : German-Jewish Club, 1934- |
| B B magazine : Bollettino della Comunità Ebraica di Milano |
*PXN 85-896 | Milano : [Comunità Ebraica di Milano], 1989- |
| Bet Miḳra בית מקרא |
*PD (Bet Miḳra) | [Yerushalayim] : ha-Ḥevrah, 1956- [ירושלים] : החברה, 1956- |
| Bulletin trimestriel de la Fondation Auschwitz Driemaandelijks tijdschrift van de Auschwitz Stichting |
*PXK 88-2227 | Bruxelles : La Fondation, 1984- |
| CCAR journal | *PYR (CCAR journal) | New York, N.Y. : Central Conference of American Rabbis, 1991- |
| Cleveland kol | *PWO 92-87 | Cleveland : Jewish Genealogy Society of Cleveland, 1986- |
| Commentary | *PBD (Commentary) | New York : American Jewish Committee |
| Common ground | *PZ (Common ground. [London]) | London |
| David | *PXT 89-2074 | Wien : David-Jüdischer Kulturverein, 1989- |
| Di tsaytung : Nayes berikhṭ די צייטונג : נייעס באריכט |
*PBB (Tsaytung : nayes barikht) | Brooklyn, N.Y. : Di Tsaytung, 1988- Brooklyn, N.Y. : די צייטונג, 1988- |
| Dorot דורות |
*PWO 91-1525 | New York, NY : The Society |
| Eretz magazine | *PXLB 91-623 | Jerusalem, Israel : Eretz Ha-Tzvi Inc., c1985- |
| Et-mol עת-מול |
*PXA 95-1384 | [Tel-Aviv : Hotsaʼat ha-sefarim shel Universiṭat Tel-Aviv] [תל-אביב : הוצאת הספרים של אוניברסיטת תל-אביב] |
| Galitzianer | *PWO 01-261 | Silver Spring, MD 20910 : Gesher Galicia, c/o Krupnak, 1711 Cowin Dr |
| Gemeinde | *PBC 00-85 | Wien : Israelitische Kultusgemeinde Wien |
| ha-Maʼor = Hamaor המאור |
*PH (Maor) | Brooklyn, N.Y.: Balshan ברוקלין : [חמו"ל] |
| ha-Umah האומה |
*PBA (ha-Umah) | ירושלים : פרסומי אשיות, 1954־ Yerushalayim : Pirsume ishiyut, 1954- |
| Ḥakirah : the Flatbush journal of Jewish law and thought | *PH 05-1740 | [Brooklyn, N.Y. : s.n., 2004- ] |
| Halapid | *PND 98-738 | Culver City, CA : Society for Crypto-Judaic Studies |
| Hamodia | *PBD 98-1106 | [Brooklyn, NY : Hamodia. |
| Hayoh hayah : bamah tseʻirah le-histọryah היה היה : במה צעירה להיסטוריה |
*PXA 03-810 | [Jerusalem] : Yotse la-or ʻal yede Kẹren Dan Maishar, 2002- [Jerusalem] : יוצא לאור על ידי קרן דן מישר, 2002- |
| Hisṭoryah : ketav ʻet shel ha-Ḥevrah ha-hisṭorit ha-Yiśreʼelit היסטוריה : כתב עת של ההברה ההיסטורית הישראלית |
*PXA 98-707 | Yerushalayim : ha-Ḥevrah, 1998- ירושלים : החברה, 1998- |
| Holocaust studies : a journal of culture and history | *PXK 05-251 | Edgware, Middlesex, Eng. : Vallentine Mitchell, 2005- |
| Humanistic Judaism | *PNG 73-424 | Birmingham, Mich. : Humanistic Judaism, Inc., 1967- |
| Illustrierte neue Welt | *PBC+ 01-3 | Wien : INW-Pressedienst |
| Images : a journal of Jewish art and visual culture | *PVP 07-303 | Leiden : Brill |
| Israel exploration journal | *PEA (Israel exploration journal) | Jerusalem : Israel Exploration Society, 1951- |
| Jerusalem Post [Weekly Overseas Ed.] |
*PBD (Jerusalem post [weekly overseas ed.]) | Jerusalem, Israel : Jerusalem Post Publications |
| Jerusalem Report | *PXLB 92-558 | Jerusalem, Israel : Jerusalem Report Publications Ltd., 1990- |
| Jewish action | *PNA 87-7300 | [New York] Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations of America |
| Jewish Bible quarterly | *PD 90-2902 | Jerusalem : World Jewish Bible Center, 1989- |
| Jewish Chronicle | *PBD (Jewish chronicle [London, England]) | [London, Jewish Chronicle Newspaper Ltd.] |
| Jewish Currents | *PBD (Jewish currents) | [New York, Jewish Currents] |
| Jewish Herald-Voice | *PBD (Jewish Herald voice) | Houston, Tex. : Jewish Voice, Inc. |
| Jewish history | *PXA 90-1234 | [Haifa] : Haifa University Press, 1986- |
| Jewish Press [Brooklyn] | *PBD (Jewish Press [Brooklyn]) | Brooklyn, N.Y. : Jewish Press, [1949]- |
| Jewish Renaissance | *PBD 03-1760 | London : Renaissance Publishing, 2001- |
| Jewish Review of Books | *PAA+ 11-1158 | New York, NY : Bee.Ideas, LLC, 2010- |
| Jewish socialist : magazine of the Jewish Socialists' Group | *PVW 95-1517 | London : The Group |
| Jewish studies quarterly : JSQ | *PNE 96-1194 | Tübingen : Mohr (Paul Siebeck), c1993- |
| Jewish Tribune [London] | *PBD (Jewish tribune [London]) | London : [s.n.], 1962- |
| Journal of Jewish studies | *PBE (Journal of Jewish studies) | Oxford, Eng. [etc.] The Oxford Centre for Postgraduate Hebrew Studies [etc.] |
| Jüdische Allgemeine : Wochenzeitung für Politik, Kultur, Religion und Jüdisches Leben | *PXS+++ 02-210 | Berlin : Jüdische Allgemeine, 2001- |
| Judisk Krönika | *PBH (Judisk Krönika) | Stockholm : S. Brick, 1932- |
| Ḳadmoniyot קדמוניות |
*PEA (Ḳadmoniyot) | Yerushalayim : ha-Ḥevrah la-ḥaḳirat Erets-Yiśraʼel ṿe-ʻatiḳoteha, 1968- ירושלים : החברה לחקירת ארץ-ישראל ועתיקותיה |
| Kan : metsiʼut Yiśreʼelit be-omanut כאן : מציאות ישראלית באמנות |
*PVP+ 08-1942 | Tel Aviv : I. Si. Yu. Irgun le-tarbut benleʼumi תל-אביב : אי. סי. יו. ארגון לתרבות בינלאומי |
| Kashrus | *PYG 92-541 | Brooklyn, NY : Yeshiva Birkas Reuven, 1985- |
| Ḳatedrah be-toldot Erets-Yiśrael ṿe-yishuvah קתדרה בתולדות ארץ-ישראל וישובה |
*PWC 81-2185 | Yerushalayim : Yad Yitsḥaḳ Ben-Tsevi, 1976- ירושלים: יד יצחק בן-צבי |
| Kwartalnik historii żydów = Jewish history quarterly | *PXV 01-831 | Warszawa : Instytut, 2001- |
| L'Arche | *PBF+ (Arche) | [Paris : L'Arche] |
| Leshonenu לשוננו |
*PCV (Leshonenu) | Yerushalayim : Ṿaʻad ha-lashon ha-ʻIvrit be-Erets Yiśraʼel, 5678 [1928]- ירושלים : ועד הלשון העברית בארץ־ישראל |
| Leshonenu la-ʻam לשוננו לעם |
*PCV (Vaad ha-lashon ha-ʻIvrit be-Erets Yisrael. Leshonenu la-ʻam) | Yerushalayim Ṿaʻad ha-lashon ha-ʻIvrit be-Erets-Yiśraʼel, 1945- ירושלים : ועד הלשון העברית בארץ-ישראל, 1945- |
| Lilith | *PYI 85-1272 | New York, NY 10019 : Lilith Publications, 250 West 57 St. |
| Madʻe ha-Yahadut מדעי היהדות |
*PBL 95-1383 | Yerushalayim : ha-Igud ha-ʻolami le-madaʻe ha-Yahadut, 1990- ירושלים : האיגוד העולמי למדעי היהדות ,1990 |
| Mahut מהות |
*PBA 95-1183 | לוד : מכון הברמן למחקרי ספרות 1989- Lod : Mekhon Haberman le-meḥḳere sifrut, 1989- |
| Menorah | *PBH 04-77 | Rio de Janeiro : Editora Menorah |
| Messianic times | *PGI++ 04-70 | Niagara Falls, NY : Times of the Messiah Ministries |
| Miasteczko Poznań | *PXV 04-7 | Poznań : Miriam Media, 2003- |
| Michigan Jewish history | *PXY 78-78 | Detroit, Jewish Historical Society of Michigan |
| Mishpokha = Mishpaḥah | *PXW 09-31 | Vitebsk : Belorusskoe obʺedinenie evreĭskikh obshchin i organiza︠t︡siĭ, Vitebskiĭ evreĭskiĭ kulʹturnyĭ ︠t︡sentr, 1995- |
| MISJPOGE | *PWO 99-551 | Noordwijk [Netherlands] : De Kring |
| Moznayim מאזנים |
*PBA (Moznayim [1933]) | תל-אביב : אגודת הסופרים העברים, 1933 Tel-Aviv : Agudat ha-Sofrim ha-ʻIvrim, 1933- |
| Múlt és jövő | *PXR 91-1673 | Budapest : Szimultán Rt., 1990- |
| Mundo Israelita | *PBH (Mundo Israelita) | Buenos Aires, Argentina : Editorial Mundo Israelita S.A |
| N.I.W : nieuw Israelitisch weekblad | *PBH+ 02-278 | Amsterdam : Joachimstahl's Bockhandel, 1953- |
| Oyfn shṿel אויפן שוועל |
*PZX+ (Oyfn shvel) | New York : Yidish-Lige, 1941- New York : יידיש-ליגע, 1941- |
| Pakn treger פאקן-טרעגער |
*PBL 96-102 | South Hadley, Mass. : National Yiddish Book Center, 1996- |
| Peʻamim פעמים |
*PXL 81-2184 | [Yerushalayim : ha-Mador la-hafatsat yedaʻ bi-Mekhon Ben-Tsevi le-ḥeḳer ḳehilot Yiśraʼel ba-Mizraḥ] [ירושלים : המדור להפצת ידע במכון בן-צבי לחקר קהילות ישראל במזרח] |
| Points East | *PXL 89-1052 | Palo Alto, Calif. : Sino-Judaic Institute, 1986- |
| Raíces | *PBH 93-1993 | Madrid : Sefarad Editores, 1986- |
| Revue d'histoire de la Shoah : le monde juif | *PBF 97-930 | Paris : Centre de documentation juive contemporaine, 1997- |
| Revue de Qumrân | *PFX (Revue de Qumran) | Paris, Letouzey et Ané |
| Revue des études juives | *PBF (Revue des études juives) | [Paris, Mouton [etc.] |
| Revue juive | *PBF 89-4464 | Zurich : Editions Manfred Marx SA, 1989- |
| Scribe | *PXY+ 92-399 | Vancouver : The Society, 1979- |
| Segulah סגולה |
*PXA 10-929 | Yerushalayim : Maḳor rishon, 2010- ירושלים : מקור ראשון, 2010- |
| Shekel | *PEE 85-1949 | New York : American Israel Numismatic Ass'n |
| Shemot | *PXQ 97-695 | London : The Society, c1992- |
| Shirim | *PSP 90-2661 | Los Angeles, Calif. : Shirim - Intermedia Productions, c1982- |
| Sidra סידרא |
*PH 96-103 | Ramat-Gan : Hotsaʼat Universiṭat Bar-Ilan, 1985- רמת-גן : הוצאת אוניברסיטת בר-אילן , 1985- |
| Tachles | *PBC 01-431 | Zürich : Verlag Manfred Marx AG |
| Tarbits תרביץ |
*PBA (Tarbits) | ירושלים : חברה להוצאת ספרים על-יד האוניברסיטה העברית Yerushalayim : Ḥevrah le-hotsaʼat sefarim ʻal-yad ha-Universiṭah ha-ʻIvrit, 1929- |
| Teʼoryah u-viḳoret תיאוריה וביקורת |
*PBA 93-1768 | ירושלים : מכון ון ליר בירושלים Yerushalayim : Mekhon Ṿan Lir bi-Yerushalayim |
| Tradition | *PN (Tradition) | [New York, Human Sciences Press, etc.] |
| Tribuna judaica | *PBH+ 02-715 | São Paulo, SP : Nimitz & Rechtman Editores, 1997- |
| Tsafon | *PBF 93-1136 | Lille : Tsafon |
| Yalkut moreshet [Eng. Edition] | *PXK 05-40 | Tel-Aviv : Moreshet, 2003- |
| Yalḳuṭ moreshet [Heb. Edition] ילקוט מורשת |
*PXK 77-1766 | Tel-Aviv : Sifriyat-poʻalim, 723- [1963- תל-אביב : ספריית פועלים, 723 [1963]- |
| Yated Ne'eman | *PBD (Yated ne'eman) | Bnei-Brak, Israel ; Spring Valley, NY : Yated Ne'eman, Inc. |
| Yid / Der Id / Der Yid דער איד |
*PBB (Yid) | New York, N.Y. : Der Yid Publication Assn., 1953- |
| Yidishe ṿorṭ דאס יידישע ווארט |
*PBB 97-185 | Warszawa : Towarzystwo Społeczno-Kulturalnego Żydów w Polsce |
| Zemanim זמנים |
*PXA 85-1999 | Tel-Aviv : Zemorah, Bitan, Modan, [1979- תל-אביב : זמורה, ביתן, מודן, -1979 |