About Databases
Research databases may include content like digitized articles, newspapers, and documents, as well as indexes. The New York Public Library subscribes to hundreds of databases, which can be accessed remotely with a free Library card and/or onsite at the Library.
Are you looking for a specific journal or newspaper?
See E Journals and Newspapers sections.
Are you researching a specific topic?
See E Resources by Topic for selected journals, databases, websites, and ebooks by topic.
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia Judaica
Full-text searchable database of the 22 volumes. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Archives and Primary Sources
- Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The Wests Response to Jewish Emigration
Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The Wests Response to Jewish Emigration contains correspondence, memoranda, reports, and government documents including meeting records and country, subject, and administration files concerning the efforts of 37 countries and the Committee to coordinate the emigration of Jewish and other refugees of war and Nazi persecution. Part of Archives Unbound. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Jewish Life in America c.1654-1954
A history of Jewish communities in America through essays, interactive maps, the American Jewish Year Book, biographies, and other primary source materials. Sources from the American Jewish Historical Society. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Testaments to the Holocaust: Documents and Rare Printed Materials from the Wiener Library
From Archives Unbound. The online archive of the Wiener Library, London. This archive is the first to collect evidence of the Holocaust and of the activities of the Nazi party. From 1889-1965. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950
Correspondence, reports, and analysis of U.S-Vatican relations during World War II. An Archives Unbound platform of materials from the United States National Archives. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Dissertations
- EBSCO Open DissertationsCreated from a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs, EBSCO Open Dissertations is a free electronic theses and dissertations database (ETD) offering access to more than 800,000 ETDs, including those previously available in American Doctoral Dissertations. It may be searched by author, title, subject and university.
- Gosudarstvennyĭ bibliograficheskiĭ ukazatelʹ Rossiĭskoĭ Federat︠s︡ii. Avtoreferaty dissertat︠s︡iĭDatabase provides access to the summaries of the doctoral dissertations defensed in the Russian Federation from 2015 till present.
- Open Access DissertationsOATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 5,165,286 theses and dissertations.
- Russian Digital Library Dissertations = Electronnaia biblioteka dissertatsiiElectronic dissertations from the Russian State Library (Rossiiskaia gosundarstvennaia biblioteka)
- Proquest Dissertations and Theses
Includes citations for dissertations from 1861 to those accepted as recently as last semester. Abstracts from 1980 - present. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities, from a diverse array of academic subjects including literature, languages, art history, music history, philosophy, history, mathematics, psychology, and science. A subset of these documents is publicly available using the website PQDT Open. **Patrons should read the Terms & Condition sand Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- YAIR - Yeshiva Academic Institutional Repository (Yeshiva University)Digital repository for research and scholarship from YU faculty, staff, and students.
Free Websites
- Alliance Israélite Universelle Digital LibraryDigitized publications and documents from the Alliance Israélite Universelle in Paris.
- Digital Archive of the Cleveland Jewish NewsThis site has digitized Jewish newspapers from Cleveland: Hebrew Observer, Jewish Independent, Jewish Review, Jewish Review and Observer, Idishe velt.
- Florida Jewish Newspaper ProjectDigitized Florida Jewish newspapers; part of the free Ethnic Newspapers from Florida database.
- Fulton SearchAlternative search interface for over 47,059,000 historical newspaper pages from the United States.
- Historical Jewish Press (JPress)A project of National Library of Israel and Tel Aviv University and a digital gateway to 230 historical Jewish newspapers in different languages,
- Indeḳs tsu der yidish periodiḳ = Index to Yiddish periodicals.A comprehensive bibliographical database that assists with articles' search in 800 Yiddish newspapers and journals.
- Jewish Digital Collections: Newspapers and MagazinesLinks to digitized Jewish newspapers and magazines, compiled by Diane Romm.
- Jewish Telegraphic Agency .Daily news site covering Jewish topics worldwide; includes searchable online archive dating back to 1923
- Pittsburgh Jewish Newspapers (Carnegie Mellon University)The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project brings together papers held by the Rodef Shalom Congregation, the Heinz History Center, and the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, dating from 1895 - 2010.
- RAMBI - Index of Articles on Jewish StudiesA selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel.
- The Trove: Australian Jewish NewspapersFree searchable database of Australian Jewish community newspapers, including 15 digitized titles spanning from 1871-2008.
- Union List of Digitized Jewish Historic Newspapers, Periodicals and e-JournalsComprehensive list of digitized Jewish press in various languages and locations, in Hebrew and Roman script.
- World Jewish Newspapers & Periodicals on MicrofilmList of microfilmed Jewish periodicals from around the world, held by The New York Public Library. Organized by title, language, decade, and place of publication.
Databases for Articles
- America: History and Life with Full Text
Indexes the scholarly literature of the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals dating back nearly 60 years.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Ancestry Library Edition
Access billions of names in thousands of genealogical databases including Census and Vital Records, birth, marriage and death notices, the Social Security Death Index, Passenger lists and naturalizations, Military and Holocaust Records, City Directories, New York Emigrant Savings Bank records, and African American and Native American Records. Library version of Ancestry.com.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials provides the full-text access to major religion and theology journals. ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials contains full-text journals in English and other major European languages, and covers all aspects of religion. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Index to Jewish Periodicals
Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of JSTOR. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Periodicals Archive Online
An interdisciplinary digital archive of hundreds of full text journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Dates of Coverage: 1915-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Periodicals Index Online
A database of millions of citations for articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, across more than 300 years. Over 6,000 journals are included. Journals indexed span 37 key subject subject areas and multiple languages. Dates of Coverage: 1665-1995, but varies according to publication. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- RAMBI - Index of Articles on Jewish StudiesA selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel.
- E-Magnes Books Online This link opens in a new window
Digital library of books published by Magnes Press, the University Press of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in Israel.
**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.** - Ethnic NewsWatch (1959-present)
Collection of ethnic, minority, and native newspapers, magazines, and journals published in America. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ProQuest Historical Jewish Newspapers
Simultaneous search of the The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), The American Israelite (1874-2000), Boston Advocate (1905-1909), The Israelite (1854-1874), The Jerusalem Post (1950-1988), the Jewish Advocate (1905-1990) and The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), and Palestine Post (1933-1950). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Bibliographies and Reference
- Bibliography of the Hebrew Book
Complete bibliography of Hebrew, Yiddish, and Ladino printed books, 1469-1960. The information is based on the catalog of the Jewish National and University Library in Jerusalem. Search by author, title, keyword, place of publication and year.
The privacy policy for this resource is located in the “License” link at the bottom of its home page.
- Brill Online Reference Works
Browse and search over 60 reference titles related to history, international relations, law, language and linguistics, religious and Jewish studies, and the study of Africa, Asia, the Middle East, and the classical world. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Credo Reference
Provides full-text online access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference book collections, including art, history, law, medicine, psychology, technology, bilingual dictionaries and encyclopedias. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Oxford Bibliographies Online
A collection of research guides for a wide variety of subjects. Includes topic overviews and annotated bibliographies. **Patrons should read the Oxford Bibliographies Online Privacy Policy before searching.**
- Very Short Introductions
The full text of the entire catalog of Oxford University Press's Very Short Introductions series. The books in this platform offer concise overviews to a range of academic subjects in the arts & humanities, law, medicine & health, science & mathematics, and social sciences. **Patrons should read Very Short Introduction's Privacy Policy before searching.**
- World History in Context
From antiquity to the present day, search a broad collection of scholarly analysis and full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents that cover the events, movements, and individuals that have shaped world history. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**