The following are major archival collections of Jewish music, including sheet music, sound recordings, manuscripts, and books. For online collections, see Commercial Recordings, Field Recordings, and Sheet Music.
American Jewish Archives - Judaica library and archives including music collections
Robert and Molly Freedman Jewish Sound Archive, UPenn - Search 4,000+ Jewish recordings by author, title, keyword or the first line of the song.
Hebrew Union College -Substantial Judaica collection including sheet music. Some of this has been reproduced in Jane Peppler's American Yiddish penny songs by Morris Rund and others : the Hebrew Union College collection of Yiddish broadsides, 1895-1925.
Institut Européen des Musiques Juives (IEMJ)
Large historical and contemporary Jewish music archive in Paris, with some recordings available online.
Jewish Theological Seminary - Substantial collection of published and archival Jewish music.
Klezmer Archive (Klezmer Institute) - Emerging project to "create a universally accessible, useful resource for interaction, discovery, and research on all available information about klezmer music".
National Library of Israel - Substantial Jewish music collection including published and archival materials; includes the "Yiddish Song Index"
Dorot Jewish Division, Stephen A. Schwarzman Building
Sheet music, plus manuscripts, and song collections. Browse call numbers *PVO and **P (Sheet Music) in the catalog.
Music Division, Performing Arts Library
Extensive music collection, including the Benedict Stambler Memorial Archives of Recorded Jewish Sound.
Resources for Field Recordings (Yiddish Song of the Week Blog)
Information about significant collections of field recordings of Yiddish folksong.
YIVO Institute for Jewish Music - Library, Sound Archive and Music Archive - Substantial collection of recordings and printed materials, including huge archives; contact staff for help.