For Online Listening
Dartmouth Jewish Sound Archive
Apply for a free research login to hear commercial and non-commercial recordings dating to the early 20th century.
Harry Orvomaa Collection of Jewish Recordings (Europeana)
200 digitized recordings of mostly Yiddish music from the U.S., Poland and France collected by a Finnish record producer.
Institut Européen des Musiques Juives (IEMJ)
Large historical and contemporary Jewish music archive in Paris, with some recordings available online.
Mayrent Collection of Yiddish Recordings, University of Wisconsin-Madison
9,000 digitized 78-rpm discs of Yiddish music from around the world.
National Jukebox Collection, Library of Congress
Early 20th century commercial audio recordings from the U.S.
National Library of Israel (Ha-Sifriyah ha-Olamit)
Comprehensive, international Jewish music collection, with some online content.
Recorded Sound Archive, Florida Atlantic University
Apply for a "Research Station" login for increased access to this substantial collection strong in Yiddish content.
Russian Records (Yuri Bernikov)
Historical recordings from Russia, including Yiddish vocal and instrumental music.
Search for recordings and printed music for songs, including by the first line of the song.
Ethnic music on records : a discography of ethnic recordings produced in the United States, 1893 to 1942 / Richard K. Spottswood ; with a foreword by James H. Billington. Urbana : University of Illinois Press, c1990. Extensive bibliography including American recordings.
Milken Archive of Jewish Music
Read biographies and articles on Yiddish musicians. The site's audio content, for free and for purchase, includes newer renditions of historical tunes.