Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yiddish Research: Oral History

Yiddish research guide covering general resources, article and books, folklore, genealogy, linguistics, literature, music and dance, oral history, theater, film, radio, translation and student resources.

Oral History Websites

Theo Bikel and Marian Marlowe

 

AHEYM: The Archives of Historical and Ethnographic Yiddish Memories

Archive of ethnographic interviews with elderly Jews in contemporary Eastern Europe. Includes online exhibits and videos, searchable by name, subject and place. 

 

 

Image: Photo of Theodore Bikel and Marian Marlowe in The Sound of Music, 1959. NYPL Digital Collections.

 

American Jewish Committee Oral History Collection (New York Public Library) Includes 350 digitized oral history transcripts online, include many Yiddish figures. In all, there are 2,250 oral histories (transcripts and audio) in the collection.

 

Holocaust Research, Education, and Remembrance Online: Survivors' Stories (New York Public Library)

Compilation of websites and collections of oral history interviews and testimony from Holocaust survivors.

 

Kaplan Centre Interviews (University of Cape Town Libraries)

483 interviews with of Jews of Lithuanian origin who settled in South Africa before and after the First World War. 

 

Wexner Oral History Project (Yiddish Book Center)
Interviews in Yiddish and English, from the Yiddish Book Center.

 

Yiddish Lives
Video interviews in Yiddish and English.

Need help?

Molly Picon and Sam Levene

 

Need help? Contact us at dorotjewish@nypl.org

דאַרפֿט איר הילף? פֿאַרבינדט זיך מיט אונדז

dorotjewish@nypl.org

 

Image: Photo of Molly Picon and Sam Levene in Paris is Out! 1970, NYPL Digital Collections.