Books
"Verloschene Sterne" : Geschichte des jüdischen Theaters in Wien by ISBN: 9783854524205Publication Date: 1998
In Search of Milk and Honey: the theater of Soviet Jewish Statehood (1934-49) by ISBN: 9780893573478Publication Date: 2009
Memoirs of the Yiddish Stage by Publication Date: 1984
Yiddish Empire: the Vilna Troupe, Jewish theater, and the art of itinerancy by ISBN: 9780472130771Publication Date: 2018
Yiddish Proletarian Theatre: the art and politics of the Artef, 1925-1940 by ISBN: 0313290636Publication Date: 1998- לעקסיקאן פון יידישן טעאטער Leksikon fun Yidishn teater by Publication Date: 19231-1969
- יידישער טעאטער אין אייראפע צווישן ביידע וועלט-מלחמות Yidisher teater in Eyrope tsvishn beyde velt-milhomes by Publication Date: 1968-1971
- הונדערט יאר יידיש טעאטער אין רומעניע Hundert yor yidish teater in rumenye by Publication Date: 1976
Biographical Sources
זילבערצוייג, זלמן. לעקסיקאָן פֿון ייִדישן טעאַטער
Zylbercweig, Zalmen. Leksikon fun Yidishn Teater. Nyu York: Farlag "Elisheva", 1931-1969. (6 volumes).
Zylbercweig covers individuals, theatrical companies, movements, and unions in Yiddish theater.
Use the alphabetical index by Faith Jones on the New York Public Library's web site, then locate the entries in the book, which is available online and in print.
- אינדעס - לעקסיקאן פון יידישן טעאטער Index to Zylbercweig
Alphabetical index to the first six volumes of Zalmen Zylbercweig's Leksikon fun Yidishn teater. In Yiddish.
-
Volume 1-6 are online.
-
Volume 7 (unpublished galley) is online.
American Jewish Committee Oral History Collection. Dorot Jewish Division, New York Public Library
The collection consists of 2,500 oral history interviews (350 are digitized), including interviews with Yiddish theater personalities.
Read digitized transcripts online:
Listen to audio files and read print transcripts in person by contacting dorotjewish@nypl.org :
Websites
- Digital Yiddish Theatre ProjectScholarly website with articles on Yiddish theatre and drama, as well as the Plotting Yiddish Drama project (play synopses) and the unpublished seventh volume of Zalmen Zylbercweig's Leksikon fun Yidishn teater.
- Internet Broadway DatabaseIBDB provides a comprehensive database of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production. IBDB also offers historical information about theatres and various statistics and fun facts related to Broadway.
- Internet Movie DatabaseDatabase of movies with production information including director, cast, crew, plot synopsis, and biographies of individual film personalities.
- National Center for Jewish FilmThe National Center for Jewish Film is a unique, independent nonprofit motion picture archive, distributor, resource center and exhibitor. NCJF's ongoing mission is the collection, preservation and exhibition of films with artistic and educational value relevant to the Jewish experience and the dissemination of these materials to the widest possible audience.
- Yiddish Dances on Film (Karen Goodman)Devoted to remembering, teaching, and continuing Yiddish Dance, the folk dance of Yiddish-speaking Jews.
Subscription Databases
- International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text
Contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and more. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- International Index to Film Periodicals
Produced by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) as part of the International Film Archive database, this cumulative index contains almost 230,000 citations to articles from academic and popular film journals. Full bibliographic descriptions and comprehensive subject headings are provided. Dates of Coverage: 1972-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- New York Times (1851-2020) w/ Index This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and page images from The New York Times archive with the option to search by subject headings (index covers 1851-1993). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Oxford Bibliographies Online
A collection of research guides for a wide variety of subjects. Includes topic overviews and annotated bibliographies. **Patrons should read the Oxford Bibliographies Online Privacy Policy before searching.**
