Yiddish Research: Yiddish Websites and Encyclopedias

"The collection comprises materials created and collected by Professor David Roskies during many years of teaching Yiddish and Holocaust literature.…

Yiddish research site of Professor Dov-Ber Kerler (Univ. of Indiana) with online texts, media and sources on history, literature, language and performing arts, and more. In Yiddish.

Scholarly consortium with articles on Yiddish theatre and dram

Yiddish-language news and culture with multimedia content. For historical research, see their guide on "How to Use the Forward Archive".

Scholarly online journal for Yiddish studies.

Links to Yiddish texts, dictionaries, and other resources.

Includes sections on Digital Collections, Yiddish Linguistic Scholarship, Yiddish Literature and Culture, Bibliographies of Imprints, Holocaust

Includes Rokhl's Golden City column by critic Rokhl Kafrissen, and other pieces on Yiddish Studies.

Shund.org is a database of Yiddish popular fiction, collecting and analyzing works of entertainment literature written in Yiddish and published as books and pamphlets and serialized in the Yiddish pres

How to make your computer Yiddish-capable

A small selection of modern Yiddish literature rendered in standard YIVO transliteration

Literary texts and audio (University of Haifa)

An animated site for learning Yiddish.

Yiddish Sources is a portal for anyone who is interested in Yiddish and Yiddish Studies. Note: site is no longer maintained.

Radio program site with archived programs and links to many Yiddish resources.

Yiddish research forum to promote research and scholarship on Yiddish topics, connect Yiddish researchers to scholarly resources and opportunities, and disseminate information on Yiddish research and study.

V. 1-5: General subjects; 7 subsequent "Yidn" volumes with bibliographies and indexes. In Yiddish.
Some volumes online on Internet Archive.

1904 encyclopedia with strong Yiddish coverage.

Includes many Yiddish figures, such as actors and writers.

International coverage of many Yiddish writers and actresses.

Ed. Symcha Petrushka,. 1949. Jewish popular encyclopedia, in Yiddish.

Comprehensive historical illustrated encyclopedia.