Linguistic Websites
- BJPA Reader's Guide: Jewish Languages. Berman Jewish Policy Archive at NYU WagnerReadings on Hebrew, Yiddish, and Jewish language and Jewish life.
- Corpus of Spoken Yiddish in EuropeA digital language archive sourced from Holocaust survivor testimonies
- Jewish Languages ProjectInformation on Jewish languages, including Yiddish.
- Language and Culture Archive of Ashkenazic Jewry Digital ArchiveSupplementary guide to the Digitized data for the Language and Culture Atlas of Ashkenazic Jewry, which makes available online the linguistic and ethnographic information about YIddish, gathered by the LCAAJ team.
- LeyenzalLectures in Yiddish, compiled by Isaac Bleaman. Includes links.
- Library of Congress Romanization (Transliteration) ChartMany libraries use this slight variant on YIVO transliteration, which is useful to know for searching library catalogs.
- Yiddishland: Countries, Cities, Towns, RiversThis is the first attempt to collect and publish all Yiddish place names of Central and Eastern Europe in one book.
- Yiddish Wit and WisdomCollection of Yiddish expressions and idioms in Yiddish and transliteration.
- YIVO TransliterationLearn how to use standardized transliteration.
Subscription Databases
- MLA International Bibliography
Indexes scholarship in world literature, including poetry, fiction, drama, film, linguistics, and folklore. Dates of Coverage: 1963-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Yiddish Dictionary Websites
- Comprehensive English-Yiddish Dictionary
Online version of the Comprehensive English-Yiddish Dictionary. - Comprehensive Yiddish-English Dictionary
Online version of Comprehensive Yiddish-English Dictionary. - Harkavy Yidish-English-Hebreisher Verterbukh (HebrewBooks.org)
Digitized version of Alexander Harkavy's Yidish-English-Hebreisher Verterbukh. - List of 100 Yiddish Dictionaries (YIVO Institute for Jewish Research)
Alphabetical list of 100+ Yiddish dictionaries in the YIVO library, including subject headings and languages covered. - Modern English-Yiddish, Yiddish-English dictionary (Internet Archive)
Digitized version of Modern English-Yiddish, Yiddish-English dictionary. - Stutshkovs Oytser fun der yidisher shprakh סטוטשקאָװס אוצר
Online version of Nahum Stutchkoff's Oytser fun der yidisher shprakh, searchable in transliteration. - Yiddish Cultural Dictionary (Dovid Katz)
Free online Yiddish cultural dictionary. Readers are invited to send in English words not yet included and/or point out other omissions and errors via the email: info@yiddishculturaldictionary.org