Websites for Yiddish Articles and Periodicals
- Afn Shvel (League for Yiddish, Inc.) אויפֿן שוועלIndex from 1941 to the present; print volumes of Afn shvel are found in the Dorot Jewish Division.
- Forverts (1999-2017) פֿאָרווערטסArchived issues of the Forverts, covering 1999-2017, on the Forverts website.
- Forverts פֿאָרווערטס - current periodicalYiddish-language news and culture with multimedia content. For historical research, see their guide on "How to Use the Forward Archive".
- Forverts פֿאָרווערטס 1897-1979Digitized issues of the Forverts, covering 1897-1979, on the Historical Jewish Press website.
- Historical Jewish Press/National Library Newspaper Collection (Israel)Database of digitized Jewish newspapers from around the world, including many Yiddish titles.
- Index to Yiddish Periodicals אינדעקס צו דער ייִדישער פּעריאָדיקIndexes numerous European Yiddish periodicals. Search in Yiddish or English.
- Libraria: Ukrainian Online Periodicals ArchiveDigitized historical Yiddish periodicals from Ukraine.
- RAMBI Index to Articles in Jewish StudiesArticles from mainly scholarly sources, including book chapters.
- Union List of Digitized Jewish Historic Newspapers, Periodicals and e-JournalsComprehensive list of digitized Jewish periodicals, arranged by title and location, including dates covered and access options.
Subscription Databases
- E-Magnes Books Online This link opens in a new window
Digital library of books published by Magnes Press, the University Press of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in Israel.
**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.** - Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971
More than 50 searchable newspapers from the former Balch Institute of Ethnic Studies. More titles and languages to come. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of Readex/Newsbank. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Ethnic NewsWatch (1959-present)
Collection of ethnic, minority, and native newspapers, magazines, and journals published in America. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Index to Jewish Periodicals
Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of JSTOR. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- MLA International Bibliography
Indexes scholarship in world literature, including poetry, fiction, drama, film, linguistics, and folklore. Dates of Coverage: 1963-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Oxford Bibliographies Online
A collection of research guides for a wide variety of subjects. Includes topic overviews and annotated bibliographies. **Patrons should read the Oxford Bibliographies Online Privacy Policy before searching.**
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals and top quality book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ProQuest Historical Jewish Newspapers
Simultaneous search of the The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), The American Israelite (1874-2000), Boston Advocate (1905-1909), The Israelite (1854-1874), The Jerusalem Post (1950-1988), the Jewish Advocate (1905-1990) and The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), and Palestine Post (1933-1950). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Online Books
- Edward Blank YIVO Vilna Online CollectionsDigitized books and artifacts from YIVO's Vilna period.
- Google BooksSearch by keyword. Some books available online. Searchable in Yiddish.
- Hebrew Books.OrgIncludes some Yiddish books. Searchable in Yiddish.
- Herz Grosbard ProjectBiography and audio recordings of the "word concert" artist performing Yiddish literary works.
- Liderlikht: Candles of SongYiddish poems about mothers, presented by Sheva Zucker in memory of her mother, Miriam Pearlman Zucker. In Yiddish, transliteration and English translation.
- Literatura Jidisz (National Library of Poland)Yiddish literary works including plays, stories, and novels.
- Old Yiddish Literature (Goethe University)About 800 16th to early 20th century Yiddish books
- Poetry in Hell: Holocaust Poetry from the YiddishPoems in Yiddish, with English translation, from the Emanuel Ringelblum Warsaw Ghetto archive.
- refoyls yidish veb-bletlLinks to Yiddish texts, dictionaries, and other resources.
- Velt fun yidishText and audio of classic Yiddish literature and the Bible and Tanakh.
- Yiddish Book Center11,000 searchable Yiddish books; also audio recordings of Yiddish writers, oral histories, and translations.
- Yiddish PoetryYiddish poetry, with translations in English, French, Polish and Hebrew, edited by Andrew Firestone.
Booksellers
- Advanced Book ExchangeBest commercial site for Judaica, including Yiddish titles.
- CYCO BooksUsed and new Yiddish books for sale.
- Dan Wyman BooksRare Jewish, Holocaust, & Related Imprints in All Languages.
- EBayA surprising source for obscure Yiddish books, recordings and ephemera.
- Yiddish Book Center11,000 searchable Yiddish books; also audio recordings of Yiddish writers, oral histories, and translations.