Genealogy Reference Books
A Dictionary of Jewish Surnames from the Kingdom of Poland by ISBN: 9780962637391Publication Date: 1996
A Dictionary of Jewish Surnames from the Russian Empire by ISBN: 9781886223387Publication Date: 2008
ספר הפרענומעראנטן Sefer ha-prenumerantn Hebrew Subscription Lists by ISBN: 9780870682827Publication Date: 1975
Where Once We Walked: a guide to the Jewish communities destroyed in the Holocaust by ISBN: 9781886223158Publication Date: 2002
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust by ISBN: 9780814793565Publication Date: 2001
Genealogy Research Resources - NYPL
- Genealogy: Getting Started at The New York Public LibraryA guide to getting started with genealogical research at The New York Public Library
- Genealogy Essentials (New York Public Library)Free online classes on genealogy, family history, ship passenger lists, census, naturalization, and other vital records.
- Holocaust Research, Education, and Remembrance OnlineOnline resources for Holocaust education and remembrance, including research, curriculum, and multimedia resources.
- Introduction to Polish GenealogyStrategies and resources to research your Polish family history.
- Yizkor BooksGuide to NYPL's collection of 700 yizkor (Holocaust memorial) books, digitized with the Yiddish Book Center.
Genealogy: Websites
- Ackman and Ziff Family Genealogy Institute (Center for Jewish History)Reference and genealogical resources for the Center’s comprehensive collections
- Ancestry Library EditionVital records database with 200+ Holocaust-related collections. Ancestry Library Edition is accessible with a Library card; the Holocaust-related collections and many others are also freely available at Ancestry.com
- Arolsen Archives: International Center on Nazi PersecutionOnline archive and international inquiry center for victims of Nazi persecution
- Bundesarchiv (Germany)Information on researching individuals in the German Federal Archives.
- Emanuel Ringelblum Jewish Historical InstituteResearch institute for Polish Jewry, specializing in genealogy.
- GenealogyIndexer.orgFree search engine for Central and Eastern European directories and yizkor books
- JewishGen.orgJewish genealogy site, with Holocaust database, yizkor book database and translations.
- Jewish Heritage Center of Western CanadaDevelops, interprets and disseminates information on the history and culture of western Canadian Jewry; develops awareness of the Holocaust and other human rights violations.
- Joint JDC Archives (American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee)Extensive archival collections including documents and media, partially searchable by database.
- Mapping the Lives (Tracing the Past)Interactive database with street maps of the persecuted in Europe 1933–1945.
- Poland Holocaust-Era DatabaseThe database has 400,000+ records, covering hundreds of towns and consisting of more than 300 separate projects focusing on Poland.
- Records and Research on Holocaust-era Assets (U.S. National ArchivesLinks to information about the vast quantity of records in the collection.
- Research Guide to Holocaust-related Holdings at Library and Archives CanadaComprehensive listing of archival materials, and a selection of published books in the collection.
- SephardicGen.orgComprehensive site for Sephardic genealogy, including databases by country.
- Sharit Ha-PlatahList of Holocaust Survivors in Displaced Persons Camps in Germany and Austria (1945).
- Testimonies of Roma and Sinti (Prague Forum for Romani Histories)Database of printed testimonies of Roma and Sinti from the Czech lands (today's Czech Republic) and Slovakia.
- Virtual Shtetl (POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews)Site for researching Jewish towns historically located in Polish lands.
- Wiener Holocaust Library: Genealogy Records and Resources by CountryLinks to genealogical resources, sorted alphabetically by country, including an International section.
- Yad Vashem - Central Database of Shoah Victims’ NamesNames and biographical details for Jews murdered by the Nazis and their accomplices
- Yizkor BooksGuide and links to 700 yizkor (Holocaust memorial) books digitized by The New York Public Library and the Yiddish Book Center.