Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yiddish Research: Ephemera and Images

Yiddish research guide covering general resources, article and books, folklore, genealogy, linguistics, literature, music and dance, oral history, theater, film, radio, translation and student resources.

Ephemera and Images

 

זילבערצווײַג,  זלמן. אַלבאָם פֿון איִדישן טעאַטער. ניו־יאָק,  1937

Zylbercweig, Zalmen, Albom fun Idishn teater. Nyu-york, 1937. [Album of the Yiddish theater]. This photographic collection by the famed Yiddish theater lexicographer has captions in Yiddish and English.

 

Blavatnik Archive Foundation - substantial collection of Judaica posters, ephemera, and archival materials, including more than 600 items from GOSET, the Moscow Yiddish Art Theater.

 

Centro de documentación e información sobre Judaísmo Argentino - "Mark Turkow"

Digital photographic archive of the Yiddish theater in Argentina.

 

Digital Europeana

Use keywords “Jidisz” and “Yiddish Theater” to find digitized posters and other items

 

Museum of the City of New York - Digital Gallery
Includes images and photographs from the Yiddish theater in New York.

 

Oysfarkoyft, localidades agotadas : afiches del teatro ídish en la Argentina = Sold out : Yiddish theater posters in Argentina / Silvia Hansman, Susana Skura, Gabriela Kogan ; [traducción, Jane Brodie].  Buenos Aires, Argentina : Del Nuevo Extremo : Fundación IWO, 2006.

Printed collection of Yiddish theater posters from Argentina.

 

A Tale of Two Museums : Esther Rachel Kamimska Theater Museum Collection (YIVO Institute for Jewish Research)

Audio-narrated exhibit on New York and Warsaw Yiddish theater.

 

Yiddish Posters - University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee Libraries

78 posters for performances in the 1920s-30s in Eastern Europe, especially Latvia.

 

Yiddish Theater Collection (New York Public Library Digital Collections)

Hundreds of Yiddish theater posters and placards, mostly from New York and Buenos Aires, and photographs of actors and productions. Search by keyword "yiddish theater" and/or the names of actors.